Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from T Paul (21)


  • Marina Review for Delaware City Marina

    Reviewed by: T Paul on Jun 22, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    We have just spent a couple of days at Delaware City and will be back in the fall. Firstly the boat handling crew know what they are doing. Listen and there are no pissues. They have done this for years and many thousands of boats. Secondly there are great walks / bike rides to be had along the old canal and the C& D if you want exercise. The marina store is comprehensive and they can get most parts the next day if you don’t have them. The town is small but has character. Lastly, and to me most impressive, is the brief Tim gives daily to the boats traversing the Delaware River and Bay. He explains the usual route, the wind forecast, current forecast and most importantly how they interact. He walks you through the forecast models and shares the online links that should be used including body data, wave size calculator etc. Very, very comprehensive and complete briefs with plan B and C options.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Morehead City Yacht Basin

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Dec 26, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 5

    We were met and guided in for our first time to this marina by the dock master. Very helpful and knowledgeable. Will stop again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for South Jersey Marina

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Jul 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 3

    The marina is unique in my experience. They are sold out almost all the time due to their location to down town Cape May. They make it very clear to you that that is the case. I was left with the feeling on several occasions that if I don’t like it , fine then move on. We were moved on two occasions in our 3 night stay to accommodate other vessels. No internet. So so showers (they were nice once but now are getting tatty, don’t drain properly etc.) The docks are floating however a lot of loose planks. The young dock hand crew are excellent, know their business and are eager to help. Power and water are fine. Difficult to see how this is an over a $3.00 per foot (with power) marina without internet and warrants a 5 star rating. Falls short of 5 stars by quite a bit. The take it or leave attitude towards the end of our stay will sadly be our lasting memory of the facility.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Reedy Island

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Jul 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    2
    Wake Protection:
    3
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    2
    Shore Access:
    4
    Pet Friendly:
    4
    Cell Service:
    4
    WiFi:
    1

    Good anchorage although wind over tide can make it bouncy for the tender running the dogs ashore. Got marginal very quickly!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Log Pond Marina

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Jul 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    We enjoyed the town and marina and would definitely stop again. Fortunate to experience the towns first Friday which was very well done. The marina is run as a satellite operation from another unit, however it works well and all the services worked.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Annapolis City Dock Mooring Field

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Jul 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    4
    Wake Protection:
    3
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    4
    Shore Access:
    4
    Pet Friendly:
    4
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    1

    The facility works! Despite the afternoon evening rocking and rolling caused by traffic, the moorings work and calm down after dark. We had a great view of the 4th July fireworks. Rented from Enterprise for a day to run some errands. Water taxi service is very prompt and cheap. We had a pump out from the pump out boat (channel 17). The dockmaster office accepts deliveries from Amazon etc. Would stay again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Fishing Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Jun 15, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    We really enjoyed our stay at this location. The owners and staff are very easy to work with. The place is dog friendly and the dockage is in good condition, well maintained and easy in and out. The pool is great too.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Cape Charles Town Harbor

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Jun 11, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    New marina in good condition. There is a swell that works into the bay that makes the marina work a little but nothing too bad. WiFi is weak. The town is a great feature of the stay and we were told gets busy. The marina is adjacent to a bar and grill and on our stay (Friday night) was noisy and rowdy until closinfg after 12:00.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Grace Harbor at River Dunes

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on May 28, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    An up market destination marina with very good facilities. Very sheltered and very quiet but limited WiFi on the docks. The facilities there are excellent but you need to use them to get the value for the cost per foot. Would stay again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dowry Creek Marina

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on May 28, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    We were very pleased at the welcome and help we got staying here. The fuel pricing is very competitive and the docks are in good condition. The family running the marina are really working on improvements and you can see there efforts in the attention to details. Would get 5* but the WiFi was weak and the AT&T signal not there ( not the marinas issue admittedly). Will stop again to see the ongoing upgrades.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Manteo Waterfront Marina

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on May 28, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    The stay was shorter than we had hoped due to the place being very popular on weekends and holidays. The town is neat and tourist oriented with pleasure boat trips running from the marina. Some wake / ground swell was working its way in during our stay. Would go again for sure

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Albemarle Plantation Marina

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on May 28, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 5

    We stayed here two nights and would have stayed longer if the weather window would have allowed us to travel later. The facility is in a large golf and boating gated community. All the facilities are either top notch or being overhauled to that standard. There was a professional golf tournament going on whilst we were there which says a lot about golf (not my strong suite). The fuel pump pricing is very competitive. This is certainly a must stop when doing the Albermarie Loop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Leland Oil Company

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Feb 8, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    We enjoyed our one night stay and will return again. Dog friendly.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Spooners Creek Marina-PRIVATE

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Feb 6, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    An excellent facility. We stayed at the fuel dock but had power and water. Fuel prices are competitive. $2.00 per foot per night. Great washroom facilities. Easy walk to major stores, Walmart, Lowe’s, West Marine, Starbucks and other essentials ???? Only gripe was the Wi-Fi didn’t work after dark.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Bridge Tender Marina

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Feb 5, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 1

    The good: the beach is a mile one way and West Marine a mile the other.
    The rest: there are no showers, the toilets are a part of the marina restaurant and close when it does. The restaurant was closed...
    The cost is high. The bridge adjacent creates a lot of road noise due to the metal pavement.
    I am tolerant of many things but combining high price and no facilities is poor for long term customer retention. I guess they don’t care and that comes across loud and clear. No one around when we left to share the feedback with. Will be unlikely to return.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for St. James Marina

    Reviewed by: T Paul on Feb 3, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    A great marina in an upmarket estate. The rates are reasonable, services on site are great, internet is good but unfortunately a long way from shops for re provisioning. Will stay again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Myrtle Beach Yacht Club

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Feb 2, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    We were able to stay alongside the fuel dock for one night. Shopping for food etc. is an Uber away. Very helpful staff.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for St. Johns Yacht Harbor

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Jan 29, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    Great facility, but remote. There is a courtesy car which is great for errands. Would get 5* if the internet was functional, but it really is marginal.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Jan 26, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    We enjoyed our one night stay at the marina. They have a courtesy car which can be used during office hours only so plan to use it early. Pump out is by a pump out boat. Dog friendly and easy in / out. If traveling north be aware of the bridge opening hours if air draft is 28’ or more.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Hilton Head Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Jan 25, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    A very quiet and pretty location but with limited resources. The marina has nice facilities and a pool, laundromat, exercise room etc and there are nice beach walks for dogs. Dog friendly. Fuel available but no pump out. Very friendly staff.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: T Paul, Ursa Major, on Nov 19, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    Stopped here traveling North. The facility is in good condition with no visible damage from Irma. Didn’t get to use the restaurant etc. on site but it was busy with folks from the local community. Strong current but managable and no worse than most in this area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer