Reviews: Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: Sherry Langford on Jan 12, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 16.0'

    Rating: 5

    AMAZING! PLEASANT! BEAUTIFUL! This marina as been one of my favorites to stay. We ended our 2020 travels at Morningstar and I don’t regret it for a second! All employees are very mindful of the way our world is today by sanitizing, masks on every time I saw an employee from the office to the docks! Covid did NOT stop this marina from shining bright! From being the most kind, helpful and just all around great employees . Worth every dollar spent! Keep it up lads!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: Nancy Hankins on Dec 23, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Very well managed, professional and courteous staff, beautiful location, clean new docks. Our overall experience is very positive.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: Sammy Duely on Aug 27, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Outstanding services. Morgan was very helpful and patient with us as we couldn’t decide if we were going to stay or continue to head north. We decided to stay and I’m sure glad we did!!!!! The dock masters were very helpful and pleasant. Very easy going to get into the marina with no issues. Beautiful nice and clean docks. We will be coming back every chance we can and I highly recommend this marina if you are in St. Simons Island area !!!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: Daniel on Jun 2, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 5

    I am in shock at how amazing the staff is here at Morningstar! The dock masters are such gentlemen and helped out tremendously even when I didn’t ask! The staff in the office were very sweet ladies & patient with me and my wife! Such a pleasant place!! I WILL be back soon! Chris you have one heck of a group working for you! Thanks y’all!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: Paul Smyers , SV Nova, on Apr 17, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    We discovered this marina during an impromptu plumping maintenance session on board when we'd rather have been underway.

    They accommodated us immediately, were very friendly and helpful, and provided fresh muffins first thing in the morning!

    We returned about a year later and had another good stay. Consistency is key.

    The airport is a short Uber ride away, but otherwise you're stuck with the few services at the marina area (which do include restaurants, salons, and real estate).

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: Herbert L Mackey on Apr 1, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 25'
    Draft: 4.3'

    Rating: 2

    The first time I stayed for three days and staff was very helpful but when I came back up the ICW I was told that all transient docks were shut down. There are strong winds with gale force predicted. When I motored up to look for a place to anchor I noticed several spaces open and what looked like even more in the place where I had docked originally. I called three times trying to convince them that all I needed was a few cleats to tie up, I would be gone very early in the AM but they just said no, no and NO. I put in a request for the manager to call me back but then felt I had to leave for the other side of the bridge where I am still bouncing around like crazy on anchor and hoping that it holds through the night!

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Marina response:

      Captain:

      I can assure you if we had space we would have been more than happy to have you with us. As I stated, we are finishing the final 1/3 of a $6M rebuild with the final 1/3 encompassing my 1100’ transient dock, dock office, fuel system, A-dock which yields a total of 40 slips and all associated electric to these areas which should have been evidenced by the large piling barge sitting on my transient dock. The rest of my marina if 100% full and unfortunately was unable to have you tie up in a construction zone where deck boards are missing, dock access panels have been removed etc. At the same time, there is no power to this area and in turn is extremely dark on the docks so having a transient boater on docks with no lighting, deck boards and access panels missing would not have been a good decision.

      My electricians are working diligently in an effort to bring power to A dock which may be powered up as early as April 2nd. If you are still in the area and need a transient berth, we may be able to assist once the dock is powered up, boards are screwed down by any potential slip and access panels put back in place but as stated when we spoke, we are 100% full until the aforementioned areas come online which is currently an active construction zone. I apologize if this created an inconvenience for you but customer safety on our property is #1 priority.

      Chris Ferguson, CMM
      General Manager
      Morningstar Marinas at Golden Isles
      206 Marina Drive
      St. Simons Island, GA 31522
      912-634-1128 phone
      912-634-1786 fax

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: Timothy P on Sep 25, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 68'
    Draft: 2.6'

    Rating: 5

    This place is amazing! It all started with the call to make my reservation! This very sweet and extremely helpful girl named Jordan answered the phone with such a happy voice as if she was excited to hear from me, right then i already felt like I had been with this company for years! She explained in detail about the things they provide as well as made a few funny jokes with me, all around amazing! Once we pulled up, our friend Otus hailed us on 16 to prepare us for dockage! He was smiling and happy to help! This company makes you feel like family, as if youve been here for years! love it! I will recommend this place to anyone and everyone if i could!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 11, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Positive: help with lines when staff is there, muffins and paper in the morning. negative: Current is tough for docking at max flood and ebb. Other: Some of the decking was in bad shape, and had a patch installed over the bad spot. (This was at the gas dock) We were told the decking was scheduled for replacement.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: Elena&Meg on Feb 2, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Well kept, efficiently run, clean, maintained facility. Helpful and friendly staff. Marina courtesy car available for one hour errands. Strong current requires timing for safe access to slips. Really IS in the middle of nowhere, good thing there is a marina SUV available and gassed up for transients. Dive shop and divers available on site, along with other light marine services. BG and N band WiFi (excellent wireless LAN) but suspect their backbone to the net is a choke point. Cellular broadband was an issue for us (like a black hole, for T-Mobile, AT&T was so-so). Otherwise, we highly recommend Morningstar Marinas at Golden Isles.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: Paul Tunnicliffe on Nov 19, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 4

    Stopped here traveling North. The facility is in good condition with no visible damage from Irma. Didn’t get to use the restaurant etc. on site but it was busy with folks from the local community. Strong current but managable and no worse than most in this area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: Whitley Courtenay on Nov 18, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 61'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Nice marina that needs some repair. Nice restaurant on site, but little else. Dockmaster very helpful and nice. Strong title flow, but very convenient to the inlet

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer