Reviews: Safe Harbor Beaufort

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: Rob Irvine on Jan 9, 2020
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 0.5'

    Rating: 3

    Great location for walking the seaside town of Beaufort. The staff was very accommodating. Good wifi. Head facilities were just ok and not located within the marina. If you are heading south and need the bridge open you must get to the bridge before 1500 or else you'll wait until 1800 and the marina will be then closed.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: S/V Reliant on Dec 4, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 33'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Friendly folks, nice docks, WiFi was so so, but this is marina WiFi it seems. Walking distance to tons of stuff. Showers were stalls with curtains., but OK (guys at least), Free parking if you need a rental car or something.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: FloridaVic on May 18, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Very accomodating, knowledgeable dockmaster, friendly staff. TERRIBLE WiFi. Quaint, old southern town. Lots of good restaurants, lots of history. 2nd time here, one of our favorite AICW stops.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    A mixed review. When I called ahead they asked if I was sail or power, had a single or twin screw. That mean's they are paying attention to where they can put you and are thinking about the boat capabilities.+1.

    When I came in, the dock guy could not understand the concept of making a spring line fast to the dock (important as the current is strong and the spring line makes docking simple.) -1.

    The main dock is worn out. -1.

    Downtown Beaufort. +2.

    Heminway's Bistro. It's a dive bar with the best lunch in town. Just a few steps away. +1.

    The wifi. I could walk a message faster. -1.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: Bob423 on Jul 1, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great location to explore downtown, Beaufort. The only drawback is the current. They prefer smaller boats (under 45') to be on the inside of the facedock. The current swirls a bit on the inside and we almost came to grief (the previous boat almost did too) when I tried to back out against the current. If you're on the outside of the facedock, it's not a problem.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: MALCOLM FARREL on Jun 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 4

    Beaufort is a nice place to visit. Dock staff competent, helpful and friendly. Be aware and plan for the strong currents. Passing smaller boats don't slow, so face dock can be a bit bouncy, particularly when the wind is up.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Apr 16, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is the second time we have stayed at this premiere marina on our second time around the loop. For loopers, it is a must stop. Great facilities, great town.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: Eddy Johnsen , Spiritus, on Apr 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    There's no denying that the city Beaufort is a fabulous place to visit! Waterway Cruising Guide thoroughly, and accurately, sings her praises! The most helpful piece of advice I was given: Before getting there, take the time to look at a tide schedule and develop a docking strategy not only for your arrival, but your departure as well. Other than the peak slack period, the current really rips through this marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: Dena Hankins , Nomad, on Feb 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Both the dock staff and those in the office/store were very helpful. We ended up staying an extra day to provision and warm up.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: Paul Tunnicliffe on Jan 26, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 4

    We enjoyed our one night stay at the marina. They have a courtesy car which can be used during office hours only so plan to use it early. Pump out is by a pump out boat. Dog friendly and easy in / out. If traveling north be aware of the bridge opening hours if air draft is 28’ or more.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: Alyse Caldwell on May 14, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    A few unpublished notes. Mooring field downstream of marina, $20 night includes dinghy dock & showers. Tie up to the bulkhead upstream of marina 50 cents foot, no power or water. Beware high tide range of 7 feet making dock lines tricky. Use downriver half of bulkhead for deeper water. Sometimes a cruise ship will overnight here proving deep water.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer