Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Paul Castaldi (22)


  • Marina Review for Dockside Marina

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Sep 2, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    A very active harbor that can accommodate a lot of boats in slips or moorings. Slips are affordable and in good condition. You dock against a sea wall with a ladder for low tide and pilings to keep you in place.
    The habit is very active and can get loud at night (particularly when the bars close). The town has worked very hard to keep this in check and are responsive to any complaints. The town island the famous campground are 2 minutes walk from the marina. And have plenty to see and do. A public buss makes frequent runs to Edgartown and Vineyard Haven at a low fare. Heart place to spend the night or a week.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Cuttyhunk Marina

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Sep 2, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    The marina is in good condition and the harbormaster is extremely accommodating. You can cancel a reservation within 24 hours for a full refund. Plenty of 30 and 50 amp outlets. Water is available for every slip. If you have never been to Cuttyhunk, it is a great experience if you like a small very quiet island. Raw bar and lobster delivered to your boat. A limited restaurant and a small grocery store for essentials.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Galveston Yacht Basin

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    Facilities are in poor condition, fuel dock is hard to access and staff not very helpful. I would not stay here for more than a stop on the way to someplace else.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Shell Morgan Landing Inc.

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    There are not many fuel stops in the area and as such this is the only game in town. That facilities are not impressive, but the docks are adequate and have available shore power and water. As others have said, the town does not have much to offer. All that aside, the staff are very nice, the fuel prices are outstanding, and there aren’t a lot of businesses that are willing to cater to pleasure boaters around here. They have limited space but work very hard to accommodate all comers. Given the area, it is the best you will find if you are not a canal tug boat, and for that reason deserves 4 stars.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Downtown Marina of Houma

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    Would only stop there if I had no other alternative. The facilities are limited. When I tried to call the harbormaster to reserve a space he accused me of being a crank caller and hung up. I could not get him to answer the phone after this. I got to the marina and tied up to an available space. About an hour later the harbor master showed up - he pounded on the cabin of the boat until I came out, demanded $40 for the night. We gave him $40 and never saw him again. The people of Houma are very nice and proud of their town but it really didn’t have much to offer. We were relieved to leave the next day.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Barber Marina

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    The marina and fuel dock are wonderful. Staff are helpful. What keeps me from rating this marina higher is that it is not near anything. Without a car or a fast dinghy you cannot get across the bridge to where all the restaurants and other amenities are available.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Panama City Marina - Closed

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    The staff are wonderful to deal with and very helpful. Facilities are good and nicely located near downtown Panama City, which Is charming. I wish I had a few days to visit and enjoy the area. The fuel dock is near the entrance and easy to access.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Moorings of Carrabelle

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    The fuel dock is nice - easy access and helpful waterfront staff. The overnight space is adequate but could stand a little refreshing. The office staff are very nice and though the marina needs to be updated, I did not see the others as any better. I did not find the town of Carrabelle as very nice and would have been frustrated if I had to wait a few days for the weather to change.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Galati Yacht Basin

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This marina has excellent fuel dock and facilities. Staff are very friendly. It’s only drawback is that there is not much else nearby. Good if you need a place for the night on the way to someplace else but other marinas might be better if you want to stay for a few days and see the local sights.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for City of Fort Myers Yacht Basin

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great marina, helpful staff and centrally located near the downtown. Fuel dock is on the outside of the marina and easy to access. I would come back to Ft Meyers and this marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Sebastian River Marina & Boatyard

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Though I read a few reviews where people complained about the marina owner, I found him a very nice person to deal with. He recommended a nice restaurant, drove us there personally, and gave us the phone number of a local transport service that could drive us back to the marina. They did not have fuel when we were there and the fall hurricanes had left it in some need of repair, but generally speaking it was a nice facility.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Glen Cove Yacht Yard

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Very nice marina with excellent fuel dock. Staff are extremely helpful. Good stop whether for fuel (easy on and off) or to spend the night. The only reason that it does not get 5 stars is that the person answering the phone (I assume the manager). was a real pain to deal with. I almost did not come here because I so disliked dealing with him.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Farley State Marina at Golden Nugget Casino & Hotel

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Facilities are adequate but prices are good. The Golden Nugget is adjacent and has a deck that overlooks the marina. The nightly entertainment at the Golden Nugget may keep you up at night if you are a light sleeper or are allergic to really bad music. The facilities are a little worn out but functional. Staff are helpful and fuel is available on the outer dock. It had a strong feel of ‘Jersey Shore’. I would not go back there unless there were no other options.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Mears Marina

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    The waterfront staff are wonderful to deal with and very helpful. Fuel is available on the opposite shore. Docks are wonderful as are the shoreside facilities. Very close to picturesque downtown Annapolis. Rates are a little high but not bad for the area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Ocean Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Marina staff are helpful and rates are reasonable. The marina has a lot of live-aboards. It’s location is not great - it is next to the jail and police station and gauging by the people that hang out there, it is a good location for a jail. That said, the marina itself seems secure, but I would not venture beyond it at night.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Grace Harbor at River Dunes

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Exvellent marina. Great condition, helpful staff and well protected from all winds. On grounds restaurant is good as are the few shops there. I am told they have a car you can borrow as they are pretty far from most things. Very picturesque marina

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Harbour Town Yacht Basin

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on Jun 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Wonderful Marina. Good service at the fuel dock and very helpful getting slip. They give a complimentary bottle of red or white wine (your choice). The facilities are in great condition and well protected from all winds. Prices are reasonable for the Hilton Head area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Midway Marina & Motel

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on May 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Be advised, the marina now has limited services. It has been for sale for a year. The restaurant is closed and they have limited access to dockside water. The docks are in need of upgrade but are serviceable and there are plenty 30/50 amp pedestals. They are very friendly and helpful. Dock prices are very reasonable and I would go back there again if in the area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on May 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 1

    We called ahead to tell them we needed fuel and a slip. He said to come in for fuel and he would figure out the accommodations while fueling. When coming into the dock, the dock hands were not helpful did a poor job tying it up in a strong wind. They handed me the fuel pump and were not seen again. After I bought $500 worth of diesel he told me they were full but he could hang me off the end of the dock. Given the wind and chop, this did not seem very secure. I understand the restaurant is ‘famous’ for their prime rib - be advised if you want it you must reserve it in advance. I realize that most praise this marina but I will never go back here there again unless I am desperate.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Georgetown Landing Marina

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on May 2, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    The manager of the marina is very nice, the facilities are marginal (especially considering the cost). Transients tie up on the outer dock which is exposed to the outer current which runs pretty strong. On the day we were there, the two dock hands were very poor. They were not at all helpful on the landing, and while getting fuel one of the dock hands sat on a trash barrel and engaged the other in endless conversation. He ultimately crushed the trash can and seemed unconcerned. I would only go back here if I had no other choice.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Seapath Yacht Club & Transient Dock

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on May 2, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Seapath Marina is a large clean and well maintained marina. Gas and diesel are available on their outer dock. The staff are very helpful and friendly. A very short walk to two good restraints and a modest department store. West marine is a mile away and they will loan you the marina minivan for around town trips. Easy access from the ICW (1/4 mile east of the ICW) and less than 2 miles from the Masonboro Inlet.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on SC Inlet Caution: Winyah Bay Entrance

    Comment by: Paul Castaldi on May 1, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Entering or leaving with easterly winds (particularly northeasterly) is very tricky on a falling tide. I buried the bow into several waves and would have turned around if alternate entrance was nearby. The run to the nearest marina is about 15 nm which is not ideal if stopping for the night and running outside.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer