Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Docford (10)


  • Marina Review for Osprey Marina

    Reviewed by: Docford , Last Dance, on Jul 24, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    The staff here are some of the nicest most helpful folks you will find anywhere. They make it a joy to be at this marina. This is our kind of Myrtle Beach - located in the cypress swamp of the Waccamaw River, the call of ospreys flying overhead, turtles swimming by the boat, birds singing, making for a peaceful setting.
    The facilities are top-notch and always cleaned and maintained. The fuel price is always within a penny or two of the best price along the east coast. Save yourself the research time and just plan to top off the fuel tanks here. We have always enjoyed our stays here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Harborwalk Marina, Georgetown SC

    Reviewed by: Docford , Last Dance, on Jul 24, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    This is the place to dock if you wish to visit Georgetown - it is an interesting stop. The marina docks are new, the staff knowledgeable and helpful, the downtown is alive and filled with restaurants, two museums, and to the right leaving the marina is Independent Seafood and some of the most beautiful old homes (one built in 1737) under stately moss-covered oaks. In fact, the champion live oak in South Carolina is only a block from the marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Belhaven Town Docks At Wynne's Gut

    Reviewed by: Docford , Last Dance, on Jul 15, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 3

    This could be a great place to visit the tiny, quaint town of Belhaven. The wharf is sturdy and nicely decked. There are 3 pairs of 30A outlets. Town is only a few steps away. When you arrive, call the Harbormaster, Greg, who is also the dockmaster at Belhaven Marina. He will come to the dock to register you and collect the fees.

    The Chamber of Commerce has built a nice boaters' lounge, restrooms and showers (we are told). We never got to check them out or use them because we visited on a Monday when the Chamber is closed. The facilities are only open when the Chamber is open and they are closed Saturday, Sunday, and Monday. The city has hired a Harbormaster to collect the fees, but they do not give him the ability to allow paying customers to use the restrooms. Tuesday is not the best day to visit since the outstanding restaurant, Spoon River, is closed that day. So, plan your visit on Wednesday, Thursday, or Friday.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Docford , Last Dance, on Jul 15, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Have to agree with the many positive comments about Alligator River Marina. Great people. The dockmaster actually knew how to use a spring line to pull the boat sideways to the dock. Did so without being asked. It is well protected. There is a huge grassy area right next to the dock for dock walking with grass that would make any homeowner proud. Interesting restaurant. Nice individual bathrooms.

    The only drawbacks - not really criticism - is the high sulfur and iron content well water and the fact that they close at 6 pm on Sunday and 7 pm on all other days. Who closes a restaurant and gas station at 6 pm? Just plan dinner early and fill your water tanks elsewhere. Enjoyable stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Docford , Last Dance, on Jul 15, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 2

    "We are really not a marina," commented the dockmaster in response to my question about available facilities during the registration process. Have to agree with him.

    You would think that a place that puts up slick ads with beautiful photos about their boatyard would also have a beautiful marina. Not so. Not very picky, but I would never take a shower in their facility. The docks are rough with large gaps between boards. Our dog's leg fell through. There is an area that could be grassy for a dog walk, but it is mostly mud. Atlantic may be a great boatyard, but it is a marginal marina for transients.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Chesapeake Boat Works & Stingray Point Boat Works

    Reviewed by: Docford , Last Dance, on Jul 11, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Our experience here was in 2013, before Waterway Guide Explorer existed. But, our experience was so good, that we must take the opportunity to share it with you.

    We arrived in the spring when boatyards are busy. A well-known one in the area said they would have no time to assist us. We contacted Chesapeake Boat Works and they sent a mechanic to our boat, in a marina on Broad Creek, to see if our diagnosis was correct. It was - a bad damper plate. They suggest that we move the boat to their docks the next afternoon so the engine room would be cool the following morning. Knowing that we were traveling, they began the work the next morning and were finished just after lunch. The work was well done and the price much less than we expected.

    These are good guys, with knowledge and experience, who treat all of their customers fairly. We can recommend Chesapeake Boat Works with full confidence.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Stingray Point Boat Works & Chesapeake Boat Works

    Reviewed by: Docford , Last Dance, on Jul 11, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    They came to our boat in a Broad Creek marina, diagnosed the issue quickly and correctly, made repairs, and told us to call the office to pay the bill. The technician was a great guy anyone would enjoy having aboard and he was most knowledgeable. The repair was affected quickly and the bill was much less than expected. We would bring any issue on our boat to Stingray with the confidence that it would be fixed correctly at a fair price.

    We have many horror stories of work we have asked boat yards to accomplish for us. It is wonderful to know that there are a few knowledgeable, quality service, and fairly priced boat yards still in existence. We can, with confidence, recommend Stingray Point Boat Works.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Wright's Marina Limited

    Reviewed by: Docford , Last Dance, on Jul 4, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    This is a must-stop for boaters. It is a great place to hide from bad weather before heading out on Georgian Bay toward the Bustards and Collins Inlet. But, more so, it is just a great place to be. Wright's is family operated, with a most welcoming environment. The grounds are beautiful and the people helpful.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Ess-Kay Yards Inc.

    Reviewed by: Docford on May 30, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.4'

    Rating: 5

    We are sitting on the boat enjoying the quiet surroundings. The dock surfaces are all new or recent, the grounds green, and the staff most hospitable. We always enjoy our stays at Ess-Kay. This marina is a long-time family enterprise with attention to treating every customer like family. Best stocked ships store along the Erie with a wide assortment of charts and guides. Tell Kim where you are headed and she will give you the best options. And, it always helps that they seem to have the best prices on fuel anywhere. If you have a mechanical issue, this is the best place to find help. Do yourself a favor and plan a couple of days to stay at Ess-Kay.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Meldrum Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Docford , Rubber Duckie, on Sep 1, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    This is one of our favorite stops along the southern shore of the North Channel. This year the marina has a new dockmaster with a great attitude. No, the marina is not the best, but it is adequate. While there are only two businesses in town, they are both worth a visit. The liitle Old Country Store is cute, has some interesting merchandise, and now has an LCBO. The Meldrum Bay Inn has the best food anywhere in the North Channel and the owners and staff treat you like long lost friends. For boaters entering Canada and the North Channel from Michigan, there is a Canadian Customs Office at the marina. It only has a phone, but that is all you need to check in.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer