Reviews: Monroe Harbour Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Monroe Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Waterway Wanderers , New Bearings, on Apr 18, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    We thoroughly enjoyed this stop at the end of our St Johns River cruise. What a beautiful riverfront town. They have taken full advantage of the waterfront with a bulkheaded walk way that extends for miles with pubic bathrooms along the way. Just a couple blocks up from the marina the main street has nice shops and restaurants. There are 2 restaurants right at the Marina.
    There is a free trolley that goes all the way to the Sunrail Station if you want to take the train to Orlando super cheap. The Amtrak Auto Train leaves from Sanford and goes all the way to Washington DC if you want to transport you car to and from FL.
    There were several places to walk the dogs and a couple places were off leash safe for a good run.
    We got the feeling they didn't have many transients. We ended up in a slip with only 30 amp service and had to run the generator a little each day. But, a $1/foot we didn't care. This is worth the trip.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Monroe Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Ronald A Widman , HIGH COTTON, on Oct 27, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 28'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 4

    We stayed here recently for the third time. This is the end of the line for the St. Johns River.

    The docks are floating concrete in decent shape. We didn't see a lot of the staff this time because of Covid, but in the past they have been friendly and helpful.

    As someone mentioned, the shower and head arrangement is a bit less than ideal because they are in a separate building outside of the fenced in docks and once you walk there, you may find that someone is in the facility and has locked the door. Maintenance in the head area could be a bit better.

    Sanford is a very nice town and the downtown area has been restored and is vibrant and full of life. There is an excellent German Restaurant that is almost worth the trip up river. There is also a small grocery store within walking distance.

    I should also say, dockage is very inexpensive and a lot of people store their boats there so be sure and call to make sure they have room.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Monroe Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim Morgan on Jul 9, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 31'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 4

    Really nice marina within walking distance of Sanford with restaurants at the marina. The docks were excellent and well protected. Staff is professional and helpful. Showers and restrooms were limited and too few for the size of the marina. I highly recommend staying here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Monroe Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Warren Hayes on Dec 11, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great marina. Well maintained and constantly updated. Boaters have been friendly and helpful.
    Showers are older but clean and well maintained. As mentioned before Sanford has many activities through the year - an easy walk from the marina. Lots of depth (8 feet at this writing) for our 4.5 ft draft. Wifi can be weak but is useable. Highly recommended as a destination.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Monroe Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Technomadia on Jun 21, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 47'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    We came for a week in late fall, and ended up staying 4 months for winter we loved it so much.

    The facilities and docks are on the 'just fine' scale - a little bit in disrepair and on the old side, but quite manageable. But the rates are awesome.

    The draw here is the access to downtown historic Sanford - which is one of the most charming places we've found in over 13 years of full time travels. So much to do with non-stop festivals, great dining, live music, two local theaters, bars, breweries and more.

    And the amazing liveaboard community.

    Just be aware of the midge flies - which can be quite severe when swarming. And the spiders that come out after them. And the birds that eat them and then poop on your decks. It can be a real problem.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Monroe Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Tom Hale on Dec 8, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    The docks and utilities are fine. The fAcilities are old. Very short walk into town with several restaurants and about 6-8 brew pubs. Sanford is very active with festivals and events designed to draw in people from the surrounding area. There is always something going on. The historic district is lovely and makes for an nice walk from the marina. It is about 1.5 miles to Winn Dixie. It is about 3 miles to the Sun Rail station which takes you directly to Orlando. Willow Tree Cafe, the German restaurant draws the dining crowd from Orlando. On weekends a dinner reservation must be made 6 weeks in advance. Great oompah band Thursday through Sunday.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Monroe Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Capt. Sterling , Sterling Lady, on Mar 26, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Nice floating docks, does not monitor VHF 16, inexpensive transient and montly dock rates.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Monroe Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Sterling Kennedy , Sterling Lady, on Sep 30, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Good floating docks, close to down town, lots to do there, good rates.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer