Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Robert Magee (7)


  • Marina Review for The Wharf Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Magee , The 4th Quarter, on Mar 24, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 49'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Truly a destination area. Great venue with shops, restaurants and entertainment. However, basic grocery and pharmacy services are a few miles away. West Marine also, but a car is needed, as there is no courtesy car available. Showers and washer/dryers are spotless. AGLCA, Waterway Guide and other discounts are not applicable during prime season. Pump out was close, not dockside, but broken. Diesel prices are high, no discounts. All thing considered, this place is a great place to spend some time, especially for us during the quarantine of spring 2020.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dauphin Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Magee , The 4th Quarter, on Mar 24, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 49'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Harbor master was very helpful in helping us navigate the partly marked channel coming in from the west and also leaving the next day headed to Mobile Bay. If you have never been here before, I wouldn’t try to enter from the west without local help. The best advice leaving was to hug the shore line markers and don’t get outside of the markers. We stayed on the fuel dock which was quiet. We wish we had planned on staying longer as the island shut down for coronavirus concerns a few day later.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Point Cadet Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Magee , The 4th Quarter, on Mar 24, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 49'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    City owned Marina. Staff was very helpful as we came in from waters and channel new to us. They helped us tie up. This is at the back door of Golden Nugget casino, if that important to you. We arrived during early stages of coronavirus shut down, so very few other people around. It was a one night in and out stop and would choose it again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Bay St. Louis Municipal Harbor

    Reviewed by: Robert Magee , The 4th Quarter, on Mar 24, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 49'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Fixed docks, great staff. Plenty of room between docks. No washer/dryers and restroom were to far from our slip to be practical. Great access to this rebuilt town. Hurricane museum at Waveland is worth seeing.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Salty's Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Magee , The 4th Quarter , on Dec 19, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Only covered slips in this area, with floating docks. Owner David is very helpful, but transient slips are few. No pump out or fuel. Close to town. 40 ft slips are 16 ft wide, a little tight for us. Very clean and well kept.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Free Dock Review for Madisonville Wall

    Reviewed by: Robert Magee, The 4th Quarter , on Dec 19, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Water and electricity available. 30 and 50 amp. Pay $10 in drop box at city hall a block away. Since this is a no wake zone and boats have to slow down for the swing bridge, rocking is minimal. Restaurants close by. Tie up to mooring posts, fender boards are helpful. Lots of townsfolk will stop by to chat.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on LA: Atchafalaya River, dredge operation

    Comment by: Robert Magee, The 4th Quarter , on Dec 13, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    We just left the Morgan City dock wall on Dec 11, 2019. VTS guided us in and water was skinny. This is a great place to stay, but the dredging may impact one’s ability to access and berth here. Call first.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer