Reviews: Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Rob Irvine on Nov 7, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great Location. Clean restrooms. Very helpful staff. Quick refuel and pump out. The prime rib at the restaurant was ok, a good portion but, not what I expected after the reviews. Wifi is good.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Frank Libby on Oct 23, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.7'

    Rating: 5

    I came, I saw, I ate the prime rib. The owners purchased the marina on the west side of the ditch, which is where I was moored. Dock handlers were great. Rey ran a shuttle boat to the other side. The prime rib exceeded my every expectation. The only quibble I have is the bathroom on my side of the ICW was pretty dirty. I understand they just recently purchased the second marina, but it needs a facelift sooner rather than later. If given the choice, take a spot on the west side. We were not packed in line like the eastern side was. Overall, great staff, great meal, and. Great review.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Robin A on Oct 20, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 4

    We are here twice a year and I truly only have one complaint. We are full time cruisers on our way south. The laundry facilities are completely inadequate. It’s a rainy day so some of us are trying to do laundry. Only 2 washers and 2 dryers, no room to fold clothes and if you drop anything it falls on a filthy floor. They seriously need to put the laundry in a room with space to move.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Kathy , Sea Trek, on Sep 28, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 3

    Easy in and out with a pleasant staff to help you get set up when you dock. We came here for three primary reasons: 1) fill up water tanks; 2) update our smartphones via wifi; and 3) have a great prime rib dinner at the restaurant. Sorry to say we weren't able to accomplish our goals. First, the water tested at 700+ parts per million. EPA says anything over 500 is not potable. We usually have only put water in out tanks up to a reading of 300; 2) could never connect to the WIFI signal (we were at the end of the dock though); and 3) restaurant was OK but was expecting more given its reputation. It just did not live up to the hype.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: DOUGLAS WAY on Aug 11, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great place and helpful dock hands. Prime rib is fantastic, they do it vie sous vide, very tender and full of flavor. will stop again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Capt. T on Jul 30, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    A great stop between Tidewater and points south. The other marinas next door have all closed so this is your only option..... But it's a good one. Nice, clean, great food and people.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: C Shae on Apr 28, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 52'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 2

    Not sure what was going on in the dockmaster's life our one and only time there but we nearly drove off because he was so rude & unwelcoming. As we pulled the vessel to the dock he abruptly said, "Excuse me, what is your reason for coming here, what do you want?!" We said, "we'd like to get some food from the restaurant and a bulb from your marine store". Well, how long are you gonna be here?!" We told him "long enough to get burgers to go and a bulb for our nav light". He reluctantly said, “well, I guess that's okay, pull forward close to that other boat". Then rather tying springlines he promptly tied our bow line so tight we lost maneuverability and slammed into the post, and he walked off.
    Burgers were good, waitstaff nice.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Bob423 on Oct 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Excellent marina but be prepared to be tightly packed in bow to stern and during busy times, you may be asked to let a boat tie up alongside. On the other hand, we had no problems. Our dinghy was under the bow of the boat behind us. On the other hand, we had no problems and the dockhands tied us off well. Of course, you have to try the famous rib steaks at the restaurant but be sure to make reservations in advance. There is nothing else nearby. The WiFi is fine. The dockhands tied us off well. Of course, you have to try the famous rib steaks at the restaurant but be sure to make reservations in advance. There is nothing else nearby. The WiFi is fine.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Bob423 on Jun 26, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Excellent marina but be prepared to be tightly packed in bow to stern. Our dinghy was under the bow of the boat behind us. On the other hand, we had no problems and the dockhands tied us off well. Of course, you have to try the famous rib steaks at the restaurant but be sure to make reservations in advance. There is nothing else nearby. The WiFi is fine.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: mark 10 on Jun 1, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This place is surreal. From nowhere all of a sudden mega yachts, prime rib. Overrated, but if your running the intracoastal you have to stop here , just so you can say you did!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Paul Castaldi on May 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 1

    We called ahead to tell them we needed fuel and a slip. He said to come in for fuel and he would figure out the accommodations while fueling. When coming into the dock, the dock hands were not helpful did a poor job tying it up in a strong wind. They handed me the fuel pump and were not seen again. After I bought $500 worth of diesel he told me they were full but he could hang me off the end of the dock. Given the wind and chop, this did not seem very secure. I understand the restaurant is ‘famous’ for their prime rib - be advised if you want it you must reserve it in advance. I realize that most praise this marina but I will never go back here there again unless I am desperate.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Robert Alexander on Dec 8, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 65'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Always a first rate experience at the Marina and the Restaurant!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Don M on Aug 18, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Stopped while delivering boat from Oriental to Portsmouth. We were literally 5 minutes ahead of major thunderstorm activity. They got us tied up, hooked up and fueled up quickly. We made it to the restaurant as the downpours started. Excellent as usual.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Bill L on May 24, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Really wonderful folks who run this place and great staff on the dock. They packed us in as Dismal Swamp is closed, but with just enough room to skip out the next morning. Great food at the restaurant. Dock is in really good shape

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Captain BullDog on Mar 29, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    I love this place and the people who run it. They know how to handle boats of all sizes. Always being improved and updated. If you want something and they don't have it, you didn't need it.
    Great great restaurant open year round.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Nov 18, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 3

    The folks here are very friendly and helpful. Docks in great shape and easy to access. Bath/Shower cleanliness okay. No tidal range here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Ed on Sep 15, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Like everyone else says in the reviews, Coinjock is well managed, clean and squared away. From fishing boats to megayachts, everyone stops here. Call ahead, especially in the prime seasons. Strong currents in the channel so be prepared to ask for preferred tie-up.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Harold Hutchins on Sep 13, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 2.5'

    Rating: 5

    Obviously very convenient stop. Good food, nice staff. Had stocked store. Good stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Captain BullDog , Carpe Diem, on Jul 18, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    One of my favorites. Owner Louie Davis aka "Wild Thing" from his Chippendale days keeps a tight rein on everything. Great restaurant (always call ahead and reserve the big prime rib), great crew and always ready to help out – but call and make a reservation. They fill up fast.
    Great fuel prices too.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer