Reviews: Calvert Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Sue Johnson , First Forty, on Jul 25, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    We come to Calvert at least once a year going North or South. Matt and his Staff are terrific. The transient docks are very nice for side tie. Easy to get fuel and pump out. I would give 5 stars if bathrooms and laundry room were updated. The restaurant on-site is very good, terrific selection and reasonable prices.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Dave Skolnick , AuspiciousWorks, on Jul 19, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Short fuel stop on delivery yesterday 7/18/20 reminded me why I like Calvert Marina so much. Very easy in and out (watch for shoal upstream of fuel dock). Extremely kind and responsive staff. We called from Drum Point and someone met us at the fuel dock. Very good VHF practices - responded right away.

    On a previous visit they let us touch-and-go for a crew change. A yet earlier winter time fuel stop they ran hundreds of yards of hose so we could get water...in February.

    "No" is not in their vocabulary.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Bob Kovach on Oct 7, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    2 Nights 9-20 & 9-21-19 at Calvert. “NATASHA “ in office is great to work with and always covers our docking details perfectly. South side of South Concrete Dock.
    Capt Helen drove the legendary “ Mercedes Benz “ to grocery store. Their onsite restaurant has to die for chicken livers. The restaurant is small & friendly and has character. I would give 5 stars for upgraded rest rooms.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob Long , Dauntless, on Aug 13, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 41'
    Draft: 4.2'

    Rating: 5

    This is a very large protected marina. The transient docks are excellent floating concrete structures. There are multiple bath houses which are dated, however work just fine. Laundry is available for $1.50 per load for washer and $1.50 dryer. The swimming pool is enormous and has an attendant at all times, plus it is kept immaculately clean. There is a small restaurant on site with slips available for water access. The service was a little slow, however they were extremely busy. The food was wonderful. They do have a courtesy car, not in the best of shape, but got us to town for groceries. Boat US is honored and their prices are good. The best thing going for them is their employees. They were all so nice and helpful. I would highly recommend a stop here when visiting Solomon’s Island.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim Snyder on May 22, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 8.0'

    Rating: 3

    Good basic marina. Restrooms need some renovation and the main office has some pet odor issues. These things did not bother us because we were there for just one night, and would probably stay there again. Nice folks!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 5, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Well, easy to get into, power worked, nice floating dock. A short walk to off site eats. Wifi let me upload all my app updates, chart updates and stream Netflix. Ospreys everywhere, and the price was right. Great transient spot. If you want to get to town use the money you save on dockage to get an Uber.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Richard Feffer on Nov 4, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Planned a 1 night stay. Wound up staying 9 days due to mechanical issues. Great place! Staff was very accommodating. Had use of loaner car to get to town. Also - as noted in other reviews it's a short dinghy ride across the bay to town. Short walk to beautiful art/sculpture museum. And, you can't beat the price .

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Thomson C on Nov 2, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 3

    The dock hand was very helpful as no floating docks were available. We docked in between pilings in 40 knots of wind. I recommend arriving before 4:30 pm to get assistance, and be prepared to lasso your lines over pilings. Very short and skinny finger docks if there is no space on floating docks. The marina and area is pretty, rural with a nice quiet setting. For the readers in the group they have a HUGE book exchange library. Staff very helpful and friendly. The price is right; $1.00/ft with Boat US discount. So far enjoying our 2 night stop waiting for a weather window.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Eddy Johnsen , Spiritus, on Jun 3, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This marina is literally "across the creek" from most of the restaurants and attractions in Solomons, so a short dinghy ride is required to visit them. The up-side of this is that you're away from the hubbub of the crowds and revelry of the partiers.
    A short walk will take you to the only waterfront eatery on their side of the creek. All the marina's facilities are more than adequate, floating transient docks are in very good shape, and dockage fees are the least expensive in the area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Aqua Bob on Jul 23, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 58'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great floating docks for transients, good power. Your gonna want to drop your dingy and use that to run around with. There is a little cafe just a short walk away that does breakfast Saturday and Sunday mornings.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 19, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Floating transient docks are new with good power. However, the wifi there is awful. Also, the courtesy car was not available, and from other boater comments, hasn't been in service for some time. This is a major defect for a facility that is 'out of the way'.

    If you want to be elbow to elbow with lots of tourists, then this is not the place for you. But it is just a five minugte dinghy ride from here to 'the action'.

    We enjoyed this marina, but really hope get their courtesy car back and fix their wifi.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Timothy Noll , Gypsy Soul, on Oct 10, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 5

    Floating docks are great. Office personnel are wonderful. Car available. Restaurant on site......

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer