Reviews: Half Moon Bay Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Jeff Reimer on Jul 28, 2022
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Steve and his staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed our stay and had a great meal at a restaurant on the extensive list they provided. The shower and bathroom could use some updating but were clean and functional.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Dean , Clare, on Jul 24, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    As always a great stop. Easy access for groceries. Steve is always available for help as needed.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Kenny Quinn on Jul 8, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Phenomenal town and excellent marina close to many great restaurants, pubs, ice cream eateries, gourmet markets and two supermarkets all within 1/4 to 1/2 mi. Pumpout is powerful and very deep water all over the approach as well as inside the marina's seawall. Marina manager and his staff were helpful both in communicating before my arrival and in handling lines as we docked. Great service is definitely a priority to Steve, the harbor master. Piers are in good shape and the head and showers are always clean and in good condition. One real benefit of this marina is the close proximity to the grocery store next to a CVS and liquor store, and salon. The Metro North train station is an easy walk for trips to NYC or north to visit the Culinary Institute. You can grab a rental car for a discount from Enterprise next door to the marina as well. I'll be back in the fall for sure.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Leslie Hackworth on Jul 7, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 31'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Hands down my favorite marina on the Great Loop. Friendly, helpful staff. The slips are extra wide with floating docks. There is a seawall, wind break that makes that makes docking easy, even in a stiff wind. The bathrooms are very clean. The marina is tucked away in a cove. The approach is accurately charted and plenty deep for everyone small than a super-yacht. The town of Croton on Hudson is charming: several excellent restaurants and stores in easy walking distance. There are also designated walking trails adjacent to the marina. I plan on returning to summer here after I finish Great Loop, it's that good.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Adam Mosher , Saltwater Express II, on Jul 7, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Steve met us at the dock to help with tie-up. E-mailed a welcome packet with all the info visitors need. Groceries delivered to boat from local Shop-Rite. Close to train station and rental car center.1/2 mile walk to restaurants (we had Greek-delicious)

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob Taylor on Jul 6, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 53'
    Draft: 7.0'

    Rating: 5

    Very nice protected marina for all sizes of boats. Docks are very stable, well built, and full length fnger docks with wide beam berths. Walking distance to Enterprise car rental, unlimited, great restaurants. All within 1/4 mile or so, flat and easy walk. Ocean house seafood is the best! Easy entrance from Hudson for transient boaters, with lots to do. Staff emails a thorough welcome pdf with endless ideas/ places to visit nearby and in town such as the famous Croton Dam and waterfalls. Lots to see such as West Point, Culinary Institute (make reservations or just walm the , FDR museum and Rockefeller estates. Steve is THE most responsive mgr and works nonstop. Internet is awesome and fast. Can easily spend 5 days exploring from here. A favorite for many boaters! Highly recommended!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: John Benson on Jul 4, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 1

    I don't like giving bad reviews but I have to write this. My wife and I stayed 1 night and the bulk of the reviews could not be more inaccurate. The water is not what they advertise. I arrived at low tide and my readings were scary. The guy in charge, Steve, is very talkative but what he says is hollow. He hypes up a place that on a good day is mediocre at best. There are no mechanics or repair facilities on site. I needed my boat hauled and they have no lift. The pool is off limits unless you pay and the condo residents are appalling. They don't want you around if you're a boater and make you feel like you're beneath them. Horrible place and there are many other marinas in the area that would better suit your needs.

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina Response:
    Truly sorry you felt this way. We do have great independent mechanics here on site daily. True we do not have a haul out right here- the haulout marinas are hard to come by.
    Low tide shouldn't get under 7 ft at lowest, and the pool is available for seasonal tenants, for a fee. Again, sorry you had a bad experience.

    Steve Plotkin

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Michael Ellington on Jun 27, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Been renting a slip here for 3 years, and have noticed that the marina has spent all winter and spring building brand new docks. Wasn't around this weekend, but there is always 2 well experienced dockhands roaming the docks, and Steve is a constant presence at the marina. We also have 2 large dogs, and have never experienced anything awkward. In fact, the dog walking paths have been expanded upon so much, that we've noticed more and more of the townhouse owners walking dogs now. I personally stream movies all the time at the marina, and would recommend the marina to anyone looking for a very relaxing getaway. Never have to watch the tide as we did in most other marinas on the Hudson. Half moon is a very deep marina as is their approach.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Graham Lindfield on Jun 26, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 3

    Half Moon Bay Marina
    Sorry to say Half Moon has waned, and is ready to set ..
    Despite being a Looper favorite, I cannot believe how this marina has fallen into disrepair since our last visit in 2019.
    - No dockhands … Ok it was a Sunday ..
    - Pilings ready to fall over propped up by 2x4 with screws sticking out 2 inches (Yes I have photos)
    - Wooden docks very deteriorated, some boards having been replaced with plain lumber (not even pressure treated)
    - WIFI 5 stations ,,,, none work
    - Local Condo owners hate the Marina, would not even tell my wife where the facilities where located, and cussed about us walking our dogs
    Lady Morgana

    Business Response:
    We are sorry you experienced some aberrations and are horrified that a homeowner would have any issues with dogs, especially now that 95 percent of the homeowners have dogs and I haven't seen any animosity from homeowners towards marina folks in decades. The piles have 2x4's attached as wear boards. After this recent hurricane last week I see that 3 of the screws backed out. Also after we just spoke now, we both realized you inadvertently left out a # in the password. Apogize that our usual weekend crew of 3 dockhands were all out for several hours when you arrived. As for the docks, everything is pressure treated lumber and we have built many new docks. I take great pride in making the marina better and better with each passing year and am sorry for all the issues you experienced yesterday. Steve Plotkin -Marina Mgr.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Patricia And Steven Stanley , Calypso , on Jun 21, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Half Moon Bay Marina is a beautiful harbor which was originally created for the local condominium owners. It is now owned by a wonderful Harbormaster named Steve. Steve is very hospitable and friendly. His staff were out sick so new Looper friends helped us with the lines. The marina has bathrooms (2 stalls) and a single shower per gender. They have a beautiful pool which was filled with happy children. Unfortunately, they do not have laundry. This is the 3rd marina in a row without laundry machines so we are running out of clean clothes (!). Steve offered to drop off and pick up our laundry but we declined. In hindsight, we should have taken him up on that offer (the next marina didn't have laundry facilities either).

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina Response:

    "Thank you for your kind words. For anyone wondering, we have a very prompt, and quite inexpensive laundry service that comes to pick up and then redeliver boater's laundry several times a day. There is also a nice do it yourself laundromat within an easy, short walk from the marina. Hope to see you guys again soon.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: James Gentile , Our Magic, on Jun 14, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This was our second time visiting Steve and this marina. He is just excellent dock master. We are on our second Loop and imo a stop here is a must. We made a dockwa rez and even before receiving a notification from Dockwa he is calling us to confirm. Wifi great. Convenience of the train great. Restaurants in town great. The dam great visual. Did I say Steve great? After we departed a package arrived for us, did he turn it away? Not Steve. He picked up the phone called us to find out where to ship it. Great place and great crew.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Linda Cook , Sunshine State of Mind, on Jun 13, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Excellent stop just north of New York City. Excellent WIFI. Shoprite is up the road for groceries. The sunsets can't be beat! Simply beautiful! Train station is close by. A must see is the Croton Dam. WOW! LOVED The Blue Pig ice cream. Try the "Berry Crumb" YUM! Steve was there to catch our lines. Our finger dock was wobbly but the main dock was GREAT! He sent us a google doc when we arrived with ALL kinds of information. Where to go.... what to do... bathroom codes... etc. There are LOTS of trails to walk around. A nice stop over on our way to the Erie Canal.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Mary Baker on Jun 8, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 51'
    Draft: 6.5'

    Rating: 5

    One of the nicest and most convenient towns to walk into than anywhere we have visited on the Hudson River! Staff gave us an excellent map showing a terrific Greek restaurant, suberb seafood restaurant, and 25 others- all well within a flat super short 1/4 mile to almost 1/2 mile walk at the most. Even the fabulous Croton Colonial Diner isn't a half mile. Docks are the sturdiest docks we have seen anywhere. Not sure why last review said what they said. We loved it here. Sea wall worked great in a wind storm, and the WiFi is very strong. Close walk to very clean and nice restroom facilities. Would definitely highly recommend! Thank you Steve and staff!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Brian Wicks , YOLO, on Jun 8, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 27'
    Draft: 2.0'

    Rating: 4

    Not the 5 stars that everyone else seems to give. Docks not great and facilities ok. Not great walking to restaurants and groceries. Beautiful Harbor location however.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Jerald Jones , Titan, on Jun 3, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    I had a wonderful tonight stay at Half Moon Bay Marina, Steve was very informative and helpful, nice facilities, good access to the small town of Croton. Doug the dockhand was very helpful, he went out of his way to help me out. I will definitely stay here again!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Doug Bolton on May 24, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 62'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    By far the most beautiful marina with a view you won't find anywhere in NY, not even in Fire Island. Price was just right as well as the lowest in the area. Half Moon Bay is extremely clean and docks are very stable. Great WiFi, and terrific array of restaurants to walk to. We loved the Piano Greek restaurant and the Ocean House for Seafood and steak. Steve emailed us an amazing and very helpful email, containing hyperlinks to endless restaurants that we could walk to. Apple Farm and Shop Rite supermarkets in town are superb for provisions.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Gary Miller on May 23, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 76'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Facility has seen better days, docks are floating, good restaurants in town and easy to get to NYC. Pricing is high. Water depth on approach from channel is 9-10'. Steve, dockmaster GM, is very helpful.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Dawn Tecklenberg on Jan 24, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    The safest and most protective marina on the Hudson by far! Most honest too!
    Half Moon Bay Marina has been the summer home for our boat for the past three seasons. We couldn't be more pleased with how protective the entire marina is from storms as well as every aspect from security to overall blissful management. We stayed with our smaller boat at several other marinas on the Hudson before discovering Half Moon Bay Marina. Hands down the most honest, with top notch very honorable and inexpensive mehcanics and Deep water which is impossible to find anywhere these days!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Lee Baker , SURPRISE, on Oct 14, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Steve is terrific. His welcome packet was wonderful. There's a rental car agency 3 blocks away so we could get a car to explore the area. Beautiful area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Thomas O. on Oct 5, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 56'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Deepest marina on the Hudson, and the most friendly management, staff, and neighboring boaters at any marina we have visited anywhere in our 32 years of boating. Steve, the manager and harbormaster is such a good guy and someone you can trust - a rarity in management on the Hudson River. He will email you a virtual welcome packet containing endless tasty and inexpensive places to eat and drink within an easy quarter to half mile walk. Very stunning and scenic views from the marina and it's riverwalks. Take a walk to the incredible waterfalls at the Croton Dam. This has been the most memorable marina in years!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Debra Falk on Oct 5, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Rating: 5

    This marina is a darling find...quaint, peaceful, within walking distance to delicious restaurants and Croton Park. Dockmaster Steve makes you feel like a welcomed house guest and is an enthusiastic ambassador for the area. He is proud of his marina and can't do enough for you. This will not be the fanciest marina you will ever stay at, but certainly the friendliest and memorable. Looking forward to many happy returns here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Ryan Pearson , Moor Often Than Knot, on Oct 4, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 74'
    Draft: 8.0'

    Rating: 5

    Sailors haven with deep water! Get your bicycles off the boat ( or walk) at Croton Landing Park for a paved trail along the shore of the river. You'll find a 9/11 memorial and be able to easily walk to many restaurants like the Ocean House for Seafood and the Tavern at Croton Landing. For wonderful Greek food, don't miss Piato. Don't miss out on this marina. No other deep water marinas around.

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina Response:
    Thank you very much, Pleasure meeting you all! I hope you have a great time sailing down to Florida.
    Steve Plotkin

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Glen Kaufman , Yada Yachta, on Sep 20, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 72'
    Draft: 7.5'

    Rating: 5

    Beautiful marina with better views than you can find anywhere in NY state, or even out in Fire Island. A very easy short, and flat 1/2 mile walk to a terrific grocery/ supermarket called Apple Farm. They have a little of everything. Great variety of fresh produce and hot foods too. Steve and his outstanding staff provide outstanding customer service. Wifi is powerful enough to stream movies. This marina is in excellent condition and superbly maintained with 8.5 feet of water at low tide. Piato Greek restaurant and Ocean House Seafood restaurants were our favorites. Our buddy boat had a great time eating at the Tavern and we are looking forward to our return trip in October.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Ron Schulze , First Sight, on Sep 12, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 72'
    Draft: 7.0'

    Rating: 5

    Best marina we have been to in 3000 miles of cruising. Stayed during Hurricane Ida and the marina's water was calm as glass due to being located inside a very protective cove. Friends of our suggested we come to Half Moon Bay for the peace of mind. We were delighted to meet Steve, and his assistant Aly who are both incredibly knowledgeable, very available and attentive, and provided an outstanding digital email as well as paper map, showing endless things to see and do in and around that beautiful area of the Hudson Valley. Don't miss out on checking out the breathtaking Croton Dam and waterfalls very close by the marina. We discovered over 20 restaurants within a very short walking distance.
    Check out the Ocean House for seafood, the greek restaurant, Piato, and the pizza from Cappriccio II We will definitely return!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Ross Wiltse on Aug 28, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 2.9'

    Rating: 4

    A convenient stop heading up the Hudson River. Floating docks. Within a short bike ride to groceries. Take the trail south and you avoid some big hills to the grocery. Good spot to take a train back into NYC, drops you off at Grand Central where you can catch a subway to where you need to go within NYC.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Donna on Jul 30, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Not enough good things to say about Steve! He makes you feel like you're home!! Everything was so easy. Train access, local restaurants can't be beat and the Falls are quite lovely. Definitely a do again stop!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Tej Singh on Jul 23, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is one of the best marinas we've been to. Steve, the dock master, is always so responsive and helpful. We went last year and are already booked for this year again. It's a great way to see the city and go up the Hudson River. The people at the dock are great and the local park is such a nice place to bicycle or picnic, etc.

    This will be a regular thing for us every year!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Michael Powers on Jul 16, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 76'
    Draft: 8.0'

    Rating: 5

    This marina offers everything any boater could want...protected, clean, safe dockage with all amenities. Easy, short walking distance to shops and restaurants, beautiful setting, nearby parks, lots of local events, and much more. Lovely respite on the Hudson! Managing team led by Steve, and Ally, and Blake are exceptionally available and responsive. Quiet waters, tucked in a lovely Bay well off the main channel made for easy docking along the Hudson. Wide floating docks, beautiful vistas and sunsets, multiple excellent restaurants within walking distance, easy access via Metro North train to both Manhattan and points north. We took the Metro North train to Culinary Institute for a fabulous dinner, while others in our group enjoyed a day trip to the gorgeous dam nearby. Can't wait for our return trip!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Michael Powers on Jul 16, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 76'
    Draft: 8.0'

    Rating: 5

    Beautiful and lovely respite on the Hudson! Easy, short walk to the restaurants. Quiet waters, tucked in a lovely Bay well off the main channel made for easy docking along the Hudson. Wide floating docks, beautiful vistas and sunsets, multiple excellent restaurants within walking distance, easy access via Metro North train to both Manhattan and points north. Took train to the Culinary Institute for a fabulous dinner, while others in our group enjoyed a day trip to the gorgeous dam nearby. The marina offers everything any boater could want - protected, clean, safe dockage with all amenities nearby parks and lots of local events. Steve and his assistants Blake and Ally, provide customer service that's a cut above the rest. Will return in the fall!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Bill Mcmahon on Jul 15, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 3

    Called Steve the day before because I made a mistake on the dates I put into Dockwa. He corrected the dates no problem. He was very accommodating on the phone.

    When we arrived he was not available, so we had to find the slip and dock on our own. He described the slip where to put into, but also said it was ok to take the first open one. There were several open slips. We took the one we thought he described, but it turned out to be the wrong one. He said we should move and we would be there in an hour to help us with lines. After an hour we decided to move ourselves. I never actually met Steve until later than night. He is a nice enough guy, but way over extended

    The marina itself is OK, but not great. It is not as close to town as advertised, because it requires a circuitous route to get over some railroad tracks.

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina Response:

    I am sorry that you experienced problems with docking. It is approx a 1/4 mile to the plaza where the Greek restaurant, Piatro is, and most others are under a half mile, easy walk that doesn't require crossing the railroad. The walk to the Ocean House, which is an award winning restaurant, and winner of top Zagat awards, is a quick walk along the RiverWalk pathway. Additionally, the welcome packet we provided does in fact include accurate distances from the marina to listed locations, verified through Google Maps, however if walking it can certainly feel longer than it is. We are continually updating the packet to make it as user friendly and as up to date as possible, and welcome your feedback. We would love the opportunity to have you back and show you a better experience than the one you had previously.

    Thanks!
    Steve Plotkin

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Danny Bender on Jul 11, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 20'
    Draft: 1.8'

    Rating: 5

    Steve is a great dock master. He is incredibly friendly and helpful. The Marina is beautiful. Great location and clean amenities I will surely be back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Mary Mckinney , FRIDA CAT, on Jul 11, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Wonderful marina. Easy to dock, great view, friendly dock master. Steve was very helpful and informative. Easy access to NYC.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Mary Mckinney , FRIDA CAT, on Jul 10, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Steve was very good at communicating with us from the time of making our reservation, to docking, and following through on everything. It truly is a beautiful marina and area. Highly recommend Half Moon Bay Marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Philippe Douville on Jul 7, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Very helpful
    Great marina
    Thanks

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Jeff Harris on Jul 5, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.6'

    Rating: 5

    Our experience at half moon bay marina was great from start to finish.
    I spoke to Steve when inquiring about the marina and he was extremely helpful.
    Ipon arrival we were helped into the slip and Steve provided us with endless information about the marina and the local area.
    It is a tranquil setting and we enjoyed our stay and will be back

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Bill Beattie on Jul 4, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 25'
    Draft: 2.0'

    Rating: 5

    Over past few years we have made several trips up the Hudson from the Navesink River in NJ. We ALWAYS make sure that we spend at least 1 night at Half Moon Bay Marina. The marina offers everything any boater could want...protected, clean, safe dockage with all amenities; walking distance to shops and restaurants; beautiful setting; nearby parks; lots of local events; and much more! However, what makes HMB marina so special is dockmaster Steve who makes you feel like family. He is helpful, courteous, will do anything to make your stay enjoyable, takes incredible pride in maintaining the marina, and always makes our stay fun. We have sent several of our NJ boating friends to HMB and they all came back with rave reviews. We can't wait to head back to HMB in the coming weeks!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Mark & Beth Kreinbihl , My Way Too, on Jul 3, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 48'
    Draft: 5.3'

    Rating: 4

    Pretty sure that no one works harder or aims to please more than Steve, the dockmaster, at Half Moon Bay Marina!!! He seems totally attentive to the boaters' needs and wants, and helps to make your experience at the marina and surrounding area to be the best possible! The primary reason for not giving a five star is the lack of laundry room on the premises, and the lack of accessibility for transients to the beautiful pool! (Unfortunately, it is available only for the condo owners and their guests.) Overall, a great stop along the Hudson!!!

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina Response:
    Thank you for your kind words, Beth and Mark- we were happy to host you! In regard to the shoreside amenities, although we can't offer pool access to visiting boaters, * there is a beautiful public beach adjacent to our marina, which is great for swimming, fishing, and more than you can do at any pool! (It's an easy walk from the marina to the swimming beach and park.)
    Also, as far as laundry, while we unfortunately do not have laundering services on site, we do have a dry cleaner/laundromat that offers free pickup and delivery several times a day. Additionally, we have a local coin operated laundromat if you prefer to do it yourself. We do however apologize for the confusion, and hope to make it more clear to fellow boaters like yourself what we do have available.
    Best,
    Half Moon Bay Marina MGMT

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: John Boulos on Jun 28, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great location. One of the most beautiful marinas I have visited. The Hudson is gorgeous. Showers, bathrooms, etc are all super clean. There are many great little local restaurants and grocery stores and the access to Manhattan via metro north is amazing. Check out the Croton Dam! A site to be seen. The team at the marina are always there and always super helpful. Don't miss staying here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: William Jungblom on Jun 28, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    While doing the Great Loop we stopped at this marina. The Dock Master, Steve was VERY HELPFUL! We had a great stay. Visited the Dam, toured the town, took a train ride along the Hudson, and ate some excellent food. Highly recommend this as a stop along the way.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Joseph & Alyssa , Willing, on Jun 27, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 47'
    Draft: 4.8'

    Rating: 5

    We docked Willing at Half Moon Bay for 10 days in May on our Great Loop trip. Steve, the dockmaster is a legend of hospitality and he did everything to make our stay comfortable, fun and safe. The seasonal boaters we met were very friendly too . We left Willing and traveled the short train ride back to New York City. We spent three days and two nights in the city and really could have spent a month and not seen it all. We then rented a car from the nearby Enterprise and visited West Point and hiked up to the top of Bear Mountain on the Appalachian Trail. The AT crosses the Hudson on the Bear Mountain Bridge which is the only place the GL crosses the AT. Croton is a great town extending in both directions along the River. There are lots of restaurants shops and stores within walking distance of HMB. The Apple Barn looks like a small store from the outside but they had most of the provisions a boater needs. This facilities, location and Steve's hospitality combined to make this stop a highlight of our Great Loop adventure.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Mark Gray on Jun 27, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 4.2'

    Rating: 5

    Great dockmaster, great location, easy in and out, great sunsets! What more could you ask for?

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Chris Boyd , Destined Nomad, on Jun 25, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 27'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great marina with everything you need close at hand. The dock master Steve will do anything he can to make your stay a good one. The only issue I had was that the internet was intermittent, but he was trying to fix it every day. Lots of trails and parks nearby to explore.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Michael Hosie , Serenity Now, on Jun 23, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 33'
    Draft: 2.9'

    Rating: 5

    This marina is TERRIFIC! Steve was amazingly accommodating and helpful. The facilities are clean and readily available in a deep-water marina. Wi-Fi, water, power, etc. Top tip--eat a meal at Piato Greek Kitchen just up the road in cute Croton.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Larry A Bailey on Jun 21, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Exactly as advertised with additional features. The local town is a very neat place to visit, especially if you don't mind a little exercise. We walked everywhere including the scenic trail to the damn. The restaurants and bars were excellent. We highly recommend Tapsmith (where you can get the local scoop from the owner Tracy Shea). We stayed at Half Moon Bay for 2 weeks while we took a side trip out west. We felt very comfortable leaving the boat with Steve who was very gracious in delivering the many Amazon packages we had arranged. Great marina and great town with lots of friendly folks.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Wade Griffith on Jun 17, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Pros: Good docks, water, and power. Manager Steve. Good breakwater (a rarity on the Hudson). Often full of fellow Loopers. Price is right. OK access to town.
    Cons: Almost no shoreside amenities. The pool in the photos goes with the condos, not the marina. No laundry.
    Steve is SO helpful and accomodating you want to give more stars, but..........

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina Response:

    Thank you for your kind words, Wade, we were happy to host you! In regard to the shoreside amenities, although we don't offer pool access, there is a beautiful public beach not far from the marina, which is great for swimming, fishing, and more than you can do at any pool! Also, as far as laundry, while we unfortunately do not have laundering services on site, we do have a dry cleaner/laundromat that offers free pickup and delivery several times a day. Additionally, we have a local coin operated laundromat if you prefer to do it yourself. We do however apologize for the confusion, and hope to make it more clear to fellow Loopers like yourself what we do have available.
    Best,
    Half Moon Bay Marina MGMT

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Mark & Denise Gillespie , Island Office, on Jun 16, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    We have stayed at Half Moon Bay 3 times in the last 6 years and have found this marina to be one of the best in the area. Steve is very customer service-oriented and will work hard to accommodate requests from his customers. Yes there are some limitations to this marina (no washing machines) but this is fully disclosed in the listings and laundry is close by. All marinas can have a bad day (or two), the key is how is it handled by the management. Steve works hard to get issues resolved so his customers are satisfied. On this trip he gave me a quick lift to the store (he was running another errand) and was super helpful with WIFI information. The marina is located in a very nice area with good walking/running paths and a short walk to many amenities (Apple Farm is like whole-foods only smaller). I always feel safe here and that is most important.

    The only reason this is not 5 stars is because he doesn't deliver donuts (like at Thunderbolt) or blueberry muffins (like Dolphin marina) to his guests every morning (tee-hee). Good work Steve. Thanks for another enjoyable stay.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Larry , Double Time, on Jun 15, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 65'
    Draft: 8.5'

    Rating: 5

    Intended to stay two nights but had so much fun in the area we added another night. Very clean, well maintained docks and restrooms.
    The Wifi at the docks is impressive and you can stream movies without any interruptions in signal.
    After turning in our Enterprise rental car, we ended up taking the Metro North train from the marina to head up to the Culinary Institute in Hyde Park. Steve and his assistant Ally, are two of the most helpful people we have encountered running a marina anywhere. From helping catch our lines like seasoned pros, to providing us with literally hundreds of great excursions to do in the area, the staff as well as the whole vibe at Half Moon Bay is just super friendly and very relaxed. The Croton Dam and it's waterfalls are a must-see. Highly recommend marina as anything you could want is at your fingertips!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Marlene Sanchez on Jun 15, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 28'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    I love this Marina! Always has friendly and very helpful neighbors to assist in docking. I’ve never seen any garbage lying around and having used the restrooms numerous times, I’ve always found them clean and stocked. Also the Manager Steve has always been available for any questions and was wonderful getting us off to a great start when relatively new to boating.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Vicky Vicky Carr on Jun 15, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 41'
    Draft: 3.3'

    Rating: 5

    Lovely respite on the Hudson! Dockmaster Steve is exceptionally available and responsive. Quiet waters, tucked in a lovely Bay well off the main channel made for easy docking along the Hudson. Wide floating docks, beautiful vistas and sunsets, multiple excellent restaurants within walking distance, easy access via Metro North traib to both Manhattan and points north. Took train to Culinary Institute for a fabulous dinner, while others in our group enjoyed a day trip to the gorgeous dam nearby.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Larry , Double Time, on Jun 15, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 65'
    Draft: 8.5'

    Rating: 5

    Intended to stay two nights but had so much fun in the area we added another night. Very clean, well maintained docks and restrooms.
    After turning in our Enterprise rental car, we ended up taking the Metro North train there up to the Culinary Institute in Hyde Park. Steve and his assistant Ally, are two of the most helpful people we have encountered running a marina anywhere. They are always available all day/ eve. Handy Enterprise Rentals, Uber, Metro North train and taxi service. Croton Dam is a must-see. Highly recommend marina as anything you could want is at your fingertips.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Laura Briggs , Simpatico, on Jun 14, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    While I agree with other reviewers that Harbormaster Steve is super friendly and helpful, our experience was less than stellar. The finger pier on which we docked was covered in duck and goose excrement. So much so it was not possible to place one’s foot flat on the dock without “stepping in it.” Hence, the dock lines all became covered in “it” (we washed the dock down, of course). The walk to the restroom/shower was treacherous (to say the least) at night. And the women’s restroom was the worst I’ve experienced in terms of cleanliness (and we’ve traveled from Florida). Updated, but large balls of wet hair at numerous places in the restroom and shower area. What the place has going for it is a fun “Looper” vibe.

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina response:

    That Monday night you came in was an aberration in that the large, annual once a year, summer kick-off pool party had been going on, and with all the women in and out of the restroom, l am very sorry you had that experience. ***We have spoken w our staff and have updated our cleaning frequency and regimen as it's cleaned every few hours. As for the dock I feel terrible i didn't notice the duck droppings on that slip. I pride myself on making sure the docks are always in tip top shape and super clean. We've also just installed new lights to illuminate the pathway to the office. We hope you're return soon and give us a chance to show you our huge improvements. Have a wonderful and safe summer! - Steve

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Sam Fisher on Jun 14, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.8'

    Rating: 5

    This marina is really a gem!…Best views on the Hudson, great vibe..facilities (bathrooms, shower) always maintained and a great dock master who is very accessible!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Tom Wille on Jun 12, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 41'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    Steve (dockmaster) spends time with everyone, you are welcomed to his “home”. The docks are “good” the restrooms are clean and nice. Taxi cab to local sites, train to sleepy Hollow, New York City. Lots of history and great restaurants within a reasonable walk. GREAT sunsets!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Geoff , Black Pearl, on Jun 3, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 65'
    Draft: 7.0'

    Rating: 5

    Half Moon Bay Marina is a solid 5 Star marina. The docks at Half Moon are the nicest, widest, and most stable docks we've seen in NY. Strong wifi, and the manager /dockmaster, Steve, is just awesome. While most dock managers are stand-offish, Steve is the most attentive one we've ever had the pleasure of meeting. Great town that's an easy quarter mile walk to the Zagat rated Ocean House seafood house or Tavern, or Greek restaurant Piatro. Took the metro north train to Grand Central to visit downtown Manhattan. The views and sunsets from Half Moon Bay are stunning. Highly recommend staying here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: On A Boat Sailing , Dragonfly, on Jun 3, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Clean, secure place and a great location for visiting NYC, just a twenty minute walk to the train station through a park. Easy stop on our way up the Hudson and plenty of water getting in. Nice town with great restaurants. Steve was very accommodating and helped us out in any way he could.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Bruce Stewart , Escape, on May 31, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 3

    Breakwater was OK, Docks were worn (but servicable), bathrooms need updating badly, no marina services (laundry, ship store, or dock help).

    The WG listing needs to be updated to reflect current conditions/amenities.

    Steve did check-in with us daily, but concerns were not addressed in a timely manner (like no TP in the bathrooms for 2 days)

    Feel the marina was listed as 5 stars when it was really a solid 3

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina Response:
    Thank you for your review. Our restrooms were being remodeled and were stripped down during your stay, which I truly apologize for. We have a very low priced and free laundry service that visits the marina 6 times a day to pick-up/ deliver clothes to our boaters. There's several cleaners as well as a do it yourself laundromat that's a short walk from the marina. Agreed that your finger pier was a little worn, and we have replaced a good 35 percent of the docks with all new piers, and are currently in the process of re-decking all of the marina with new surface boards. The understructures are by far in superb condition as we are constantly revamping them weekly. As of June 1st we do have 3 dockhands as well as an office staff. We do hope you can visit again and give us a chance to show you a five star experience. Have a great summer!
    - Marina Mgmt

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Jeff , Chasing 60, on May 25, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 51'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    We've been staying at Half Moon Bay for the past 6 nights and there was a very odd wind storm that occurred Sunday afternoon and early evening, but in our slip we weren't jostled around and I feel their sea wall is superb. We watched a 50 foot boat about 400 yards outside of the marina trying to approach the marina so he could enter it, for shelter, but the winds had him terribly blowing around. Never seen a storm like that micro burst on the Hudson River in my 35 years of cruising. Agreed on Steve being a 10 star host and dockmaster. The marina, its restrooms and all facilities are top notch and the wifi is powerful and fast. We didn't have any issues with walking our dog and found the riverwalk that led to the Ocean House SeaFood restaurant to be one of the prettiest walks along water we've taken in quite a while. If you stay here, be sure to check out a new terrific Greek restaurant, Piatro.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob Dare , Liberty Call , on May 24, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 3

    Steve is a clear 10 star. He checked on us several times every day to ensure we were happy and to see if we needed anything. He always had an idea for us to go explore or a great place to eat. The marina is very nice and in lovely condo community. The break wall did not do a very good job. Between winds and jet skis we rocked constantly. The last day with 10 knot winds my wife couldn’t get off the boat. There are some nice places to walk a dog but the condo area and the area just outside the condos have no dogs signs posted.

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina Response:
    Sorry about the wind Rob. The wind storm gusts during the last day of your stay was stronger than any storms I have experienced during the spring or summer and it was quite an aberration. Even though the sea wall attenuates over 85 to 90% of it, I and the marina board have decided to immediately start revamping ( with much stronger attenuation structures)- that section of wall to offset any future issues with wind there.
    *Apologies for not removing the old dog signs down as well. Dogs are welcome and can be walked freely immediately out of the condo gates. I loved meeting you and your wife and feel awful that a few young kids on jet skis docked on your north dock were riding too close to the sea wall. I've already notified their parents and that shouldn't happen again. I appreciate all your feedback, both in person, and on here, and truly hope you will give us a call to stay again in the future. Would love for you to see the great changes we'll have... Have a great summer! - Steve

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Gary Miller on May 15, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 76'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    10' of water from channel to Marina, entrance is at 41.11.787N 073.53.413 W. Docks and electric ok, basin has 8-9' at low tide. Water is city water and drinkable, Steve will work hard to please.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Boyd , Marjorie Morse , on Aug 14, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 5

    We enjoyed two days here in calm conditions. Dockmaster Steve is very welcoming, attentive, and helpful. He recommended visiting the New Croton Dam, which was well worth it and the kind of activity that makes the trip memorable. Convenient town with wide selection of restaurants. Amtrak and Metro North station close by. Our chart indicated 7 feet on the approach but we found always more than 10.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: MALCOLM FARREL on Jul 28, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 23'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Half Moon Bay is an extremely well run marina. Steve, the dock master, is a wonderful, welcoming host and a font of useful information about the area. He does everything in his power to make one's visit a good experience. The marina is well protected by a wave wall. Power is good. Highly recommended.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Mark , Hard-A-Tack, on Apr 10, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Our 4th trip here this past October was stellar. Not only is Half Moon Bay a great marina, we truly feel it's one of the nicest on the Eastern seaboard! Welcoming, friendly staff, great for transient boaters and tenants alike. Clean bathrooms, large discounts on gas and diesel). The water is calm and boats don't get rocked around by wakes or waves. All the boat traffic and shipping lane is 3 miles west of the marina, all the way towards the opposite bank of the Hudson there. Last but not least, you will never find a dockmaster/ mgr as classy, and knowledgeable as Steve. Steve and his staff are the most dependable crew you'll find.
    Can't wait to return this upcoming fall. Thank you guys!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Jayne , Together Again, on Mar 28, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 55'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Wish there were a way to give Steve AND this marina two more stars!
    Having stayed at Half Moon Bay Marina for our 4th time this past fall, I cannot say enough nice things about Steve and how well he not only looked after our boat, but how amazing the staff as well as the super nice folks who were seasonal boaters there. This marina has it all. Easy access to the Enterprise Rental Car agency next door to make trips to West Point and the Culinary Institute, the Vandelbilt mansions, Rockefeller Estates and on and on. The Croton Dam is almost walkable ( easy taxi ride) and is just a must see for sure. Just a magnificent site to behold and walk for miles around. Same with Croton Point Park next door. Deep water and very sheltered by an impressive sea wall. Thanks again Steve!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Berms on Oct 10, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 55'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    We found Half Moon Bay Marina to be very sheltered and had excellent protection from a NW direction wind storm last week. Superb wifi and spotless restrooms as well as very well maintained docks- super clean. Ocean House seafood restaurant is phenomenal and is an easy 1/4 mile walk from the marina. Apple Farm produce store is very close walk and has very low prices on everything. Looking forward to returning in the spring!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Lee , Destiny, on Aug 16, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Very resort-like marina, and lots of choices in restaurants to walk to. We found the marina to be extremely clean and with no signs of bird droppings. Very nice docks too. All the eateries and restaurants are a block or two away so it made for an easy walk. The Ocean House for seafood or the Tavern bar and pub next door are our favorite so far. Love the the new produce market place that opened next door called Apple Farm. WiFi is very strong here. Clean restrooms and nice, wide, full finger docks. Half Moon Bay Marina also got us a half off Enterprise Rental Car to tour West Point and the Culinary Institute. Thank you Steve & staff!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Louise Anderson , Then Again, on Aug 7, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 3

    There could not be a better marina manager than Steve. If we could rate him separately from the facility itself, he would get a 10. Steve knows everything about the area, as others have mentioned. The facility itself needs some work; we were on the dock just inside the breakwater and were constantly rocking from all the wakes, especially from people outside the breakwater water skiing or running their jet skis. Our pier was also a little shaky, even without the wakes. You need to be careful walking around the docks because Steve is fighting a losing battle with goose and duck crap. He really tries, but they out number him! I would stay there again if I could get a berth further in from the breakwater.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Jonathan Walsdorf , M/V Golfinho, on Jul 19, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    From my initial contact throughout our stay, the manager, Steve, was helpful and accommodating above and beyond many places we’ve stayed. The facilities were not new, but more than adequate. The location is perfect for visiting area places like West Point (by rental car) and New York City, by train. Half Moon Bay Marina completely met our expectations and I will stop here again on my next trip through the area. Very nice place!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: John F on Jun 20, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Very convenient to metro north train to NYC and awesome shelter from the storm. Great selection of restaurants offered free delivery. Walk to town is only a block or two. Be sure to check out the Ocean House for extraordinary seafood.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: John F on Jun 20, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 49'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Very protected harbor with impressive sea wall and wave attenuator dock. We weren't moving at all during a major windstorm. Easy quarter mile walk to CVS , Italian marketplace, pizzeria, and brand new apple farm market is out of this world! Terrific produce and great prices! Raga Indian food delivered right to our boat as did Cappriccios II ( italian restaurant). Metro North train station was an easy walk and we took it to the Yankee Stadium stop to catch a game. Looking forward to our return trip this fall. Thanks Steve!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Nicole on Jun 17, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Half Moon Bay has excellent wind protection. We first stayed here during Hurricane Sandy, and the water was as still as glass, especially since any winds out of the East or NE or SE gets completely blocked by the land and condos there. We stayed last week during the severe wind storms and it were only slightly moving. We love the laundry service. Len provides an outstanding turn around laundry pick up and return within an hours time for $1.15 per lb. Hard to beat. Our friends also used the do it yourself place that's a block out of the entrance driveway. Don't miss the excellent Croton Dam. It's a true man made marvel and is only a $5. dollar cab ride away.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Donna on Jun 16, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Half Moon Bay Marina has been our home for the past few days. It is a good place to base exploration of NYC by the Metro, or the Hyde Park and surrounding areas by rental car.

    A new feature has been added two blocks from the entrance road - Apple Farms. It is a produce market/deli/seafood shop with some groceries and specialty items. The produce was beautiful. They have a wide variety of fruits and vegetables. Prices were the best we have seen this year - limes 5/$1, fresh corn 3/$1, XL eggs 79 cents as a few examples. We went to pick up a few items and left with many filled bags. Take your biggest boat bags with you.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Peg Fabio on Jun 15, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    We I really hate to leave unhappy reviews but I would not return. First on the waterway guide it states there is a pool. Well there is one on site but you can't use it. We picked Half Moon because we had are 10 year old granddaughter staying with us and she loves to swim. It states there is a laundry but it is a laundry service not a laundry. Steve is helpful if you need something. We were over charged for our dockage and had to ask for a credit. We got charged again the correct price but still haven't seen the credit. The winds kicked up bad and we got rocked here worse than in any other marina on the loop. It is not a calm marina in any kind of wind. The enterprise rental was close and convenient. Also, some restaurants were available by foot. The Shoprite grocery was a great place to provision. We had a great place in NYC to stay and by the time we rented a car to provision and do laundry we could have just stayed in the city and had a calm harbor for less with great restaurants. We were very disappointed with this marina and I feel the waterway guide needs to be updated to reflect the true services available at the marina.

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina response:
    Very sorry for the misunderstandings- The pool that is next door to the marina is owned by the condominium association, and only sells a very limited amount of passes to seasonal boaters. Under normal wind conditions, the sea wall does work well, but we unfortunately had severe windstorms during your stay. We have a very inexpensive and reliable laundry service that picks up and re-delivers your laundry (usually in less than an hour and a half) for only $1.10 per lb.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Capt. George on Sep 4, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 48'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    My wife, Pat, and I have been to Half Moon Bay Marina on several occasions on our 48’ motor yacht, Reflection, and our most recent visit was in July of 2018. We have always found the marina to be an excellent place to stop and the marina manager, Steve Plotkin, to be extremely helpful in any way he can.

    Half Moon Bay is a very safe and well - protected marina with floating docks and an excellent view of the Hudson River. It lies on the eastern shore of the River in Haverstraw Bay over 3 miles away from the main ship channel, thus eliminating the rolling from wakes that can be experienced at many of the marinas in the New York City area. Some of its other features are:

    It is in close proximity of the Croton-Harmon Metro North train station where you can take a very scenic 45-minute train ride to Grand Central Terminal in New York City.

    Car rentals are in walking distance of the marina for those boaters who may want to visit West Point, the Culinary Institute of America, or other historical homes on the Hudson. Those boaters who enjoy hiking can also visit the nearby Croton Gorge Park at the base of the New Croton Dam, Falls, and Fountain.

    There are many restaurants also within walking distance of the marina.

    It has well-maintained wide floating docks with long finger piers.

    The manager has a list of independent mechanics that are available, in case your boat requires repairs.

    We highly recommend Half Moon Bay Marina as a wonderful stop on the Hudson River.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Dennis Carpenter on Aug 28, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great marina. Stayed here in June on our way to Erie and again in late August on our way south. Both times Steve was there to help us and give us the lay of the land. Close to wine shop, drug store, ice cream, etc. also close to rail station for easy access to NYC.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Charles on Aug 14, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 22'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Excellent.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Sue on Jul 15, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    We had a great stay at Half Moon Bay. Steve, harbormaster was extremely helpful with docking, touring information, local map with phone numbers to the local businesses. Steve also was wonderful in getting us our delivered package as soon as it arrived. A great location to visit Hyde Park, West Point. Enterprise a short walk and the town has everything you need to re-provision.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Eddy Johnsen , Spiritus, on Jun 14, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    For Loopers, this is the marina you want to stay at to take in the sights of New York! Within walking distance to the train station for a quick trip to Grand Central Station in NY City. Enterprise is also a stone's throw away if you choose to rent a car to visit Hyde Park, the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, or the Culinary Institute of America. It is one of the more protected marinas on the Hudson River and has very reasonable dock fees.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Natalie Sorensen on Jun 10, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 3.8'

    Rating: 5

    Great stay with this marina. Very knowledgeable harbormaster. Made our stay so nice with information about this area. We appreciate his sincere effort in making our stay a very pleasant one.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Terrance Godbold on Jun 6, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    O.K. Captain Crusty's $0.02. Albeit the docks were a little, well, kinda reminded me of Kilkenny, GA. The dockmaster Steve was the greatest. He was the most attentive dockmaster we have encountered in the last 15 months. As we have a "hot spot" we did not use the WIFI but I understand it was not one of the better. Oh, well. Lastly it is a short 15 to 20 minute walk to "the Diner." GREAT place to eat. All in all, we would stay here again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Tom Hale on May 30, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    We had a great stay at this marina. Convenient to the city. Several good restaurants within walking distance.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Capt. T. , Jet Stream II, on Feb 27, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 55'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Loved our stay at Half Moon Bay Marina last October. New sea wall in place makes it very sheltered. The mgmt is terrific, and we finally were able to see West Point and the Culinary Institute. Both are absolutely must see excursions if you're up in the area.
    Steve secured anot enterprise car for 55 percent off. Wifi was excellent during our 4 day stay. Highly recommend Half Moon Bay to anyone visiting the beautiful Hudson Valley.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Capt. T. , Jet Stream II, on Feb 22, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 55'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Loved our stay at Half Moon Bay Marina last October.

    WG Editor Comment:
    Need second sentence completed.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Chris , First Date, on Feb 5, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 55'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Half Moon Bay Marina was one of our favorite, if not THE favorite spot to visit this past Sept. Finally catching up on our long overdue review, and cannot say enough great our time in the town. Must visit the gorgeous Croton Dam, which isn't more than a 2.5 mile (super quick cab ride $6.) Steve Plotkin, the manager, and his very helpful staff will give you maps and all the local info in a terrific packet. We were able to visit West Point military academy's impressive campus, as well as the Culinary Institute utilizing a fantastic 50% off Enterprise Rental from the Enterprise next door to HMB. We've been to the CIA before, but it was very convenient to visit from Croton on Hudson. We did note that many of the docks had been replaced and the wifi was perfect during our entire week's stay. Thank you guys for a great time and for your excellent hospitality.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Brian on Aug 9, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 88'
    Draft: 8.5'

    Rating: 5

    We spent 2 nights at Half Moon Bay, coming in Friday Aug 4 night staying until Sunday afternoon. Half Moon Bay is an absolutely gorgeous marina, with unparalleled views of the Hudson. We were impressed at how new it looked. They seemed to have just finished a MAJOR renovation on most of their docks. WiFi worked flawlessly, which is a welcome change to the NYC marinas we've stayed at this year.
    Also, we initially arrived very late and the dockmaster, Steve Plotkin arranged for his live aboard assistant, Ricky Bates to help and assist us tying up. Ricky is a PRO with handling boats and received us so well, it was a pleasure.
    First thing the next morning, when a part we had being shipped arrived, another dock assistant from the marina office walked it out to our boat and delivered it. All of the people working at the HMBay were incredibly friendly. Facilities are super nice. Laundry is very inexpensive (we didn't use it but talked to several others who did there's or even had it picked up and delivered for free for $1. per lb). There is not a courtesy car, however, multiple times we were offered free rides into town from the staff as well as other super friendly boaters. The local taxi's are also easy to obtain for $6. anywhere in town you'd like to go... Town is a quick one or two block walk from the marina w/ a staggering array of phenomenal places to eat, that are all incredibly inexpensive. Don't miss the Ocean House, seafood place. View from the riverwalk there will make your jaw drop.
    - We chose this over the NYC marinas since we grew sick of the ferries in NYC violently disturbing our boat no matter which NYC marina we stayed at. Thank you Steve and staff for a wonderful stay. Can't wait to return in late October.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Ron Kohn on Aug 8, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 48'
    Draft: 4.6'

    Rating: 2

    Place sounded nice on paper, not impressed when we arrived. Old and run down.
    Talked to a few unhappy people there.
    We will stay else where on return trip.

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina Management Response: We're sorry you had a bad experience. We were under construction at that time. Our WiFi was poor, but has been upgraded since then. We strive to exceed everyone expectations which is why we made major improvements based on people's feedback. We appreciate your comments.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 5, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    The town is very nice; a 20 minute walk from the marina. There are several restaurants--we at the diner--it was great.

    However.....

    The wifi at the marina was poor to non-existent. The docks were covered with duck droppings until I hosed them off in the morning.

    WG Editor Comment:
    Marina Response:
    AUG. 6, 2017 Half Moon Bay now has a completely new, UPGRADED WiFi system that works wonderfully. ( reviewer stayed one week prior to our upgrade) We are very sorry our dockhands hadn't swept up after the birds before you pulled in at 7am. **We now have extra staff that will clean docks perfectly clean before 7am each morning.

    Half Moon Bay Marina Management

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Larry Moynihan on Jun 19, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    As I type this, we are at Half Moon Bay Marina. Been here 3 days; will leave boat here to drive home for a week. Steve has been accommodating beyond expectations. "Seawall" quite effective. Granted, have not been here for W or NW blow. But docks are oriented to put bow toward potential swell. Easy walk to an excellent Italian or BBQ restaurant. Couple of good ice cream shops, and delis. Good diner. Will rent a car at Enterprise. I'll report back on the car discount rate available to marina customers upon our return. As of now, would not hesitate to return. Took the train into the city. Easy ride. More peaceful here than 79th Street. $14/person round trip, off peak. No need to comment on Hudson River Valley view!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Sarah on Oct 3, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 71'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Outstanding is the best word to sum up our stay at the gorgeous Half Moon Bay Marina. Steve Plotkin makes this watery oasis the gem that it is with lots of attention to detail. Not only to the facilities but especially to the visitingredients boaters. We biked on some incredibly scenic blacktop trails all around the marina with views we couldn't take enough pics of. Also took a half priced Enterprise rental car (next door to marina) and visited West Point military Academy. Will have to check out the Culinary institute from here on our way back.
    Found it incredibly easy to catch a train ride on metro north into NYC too. Was a 10 minute walk to station using riverwalk

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Jeff on Sep 28, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 47'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Nice town with lots of different restaurants to choose from. Outstanding grocery store two blocks from marina driveway.
    Had a very pleasant night despite the stormy waters outside the marina. Sea wall there is very impressive and attenuated almost all of the wave action. We were on the T head of A dock and highly recommend that slip as well as visiting Half Moon Bay Marina. Easily walked to train station and visited 9-11 memorial. Plan on returning to Half Moon next spring to tour the Culinary institute and West Pt. by Enterprise rental car. Marina has a deal with Enterprise to get almost half off rates.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Erik on Sep 3, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    We have docked at Half Moon Bay Marina many times and twice in the past few months. We found that most of the docks have been replaced by new ones, not to mention the power isn't exposed anywhere. Quite the facility with top notch dock master. The town has really great restaurants that are all easy to walk to. Their sea wall is award winning and takes out a good 75% of the waves. Sure, in a real bad NW storm there's a little swell in the marina, but during most average windy days, the wall is amazing at protecting the docks. We originally found the marina due to them winning several national awards for favorite marina. We haven't ever experienced any duck or goose poop there either. Steve runs a very clean operation there and we're looking forward to returning in the fall to see the fall foliage.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: G. Russell on Sep 2, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 2

    We went into Half Moon Bay on 15-16 August based on glowing reports, but found it very different. Their charge was $2.65/foot. The marina leaves a great deal to be desired. The docks are loaded with duck poop, the power connections are exposed, there is a “wave wall” that does not really do any good in a westerly wind - very rocky plus the old dock rock and roll as well. If you have a dog, you are put by the “wave wall” as the condos do not permit dogs on the property. There is a pool, but it is also off limits. The bathrooms are OK, but not great. The dock master is Steve. He has been there for 24 years and is quite friendly. We left early on the second day as the boat was rocking severely and continued our journey up the Hudson.

    We decided not to stay at Half Moon Bay on our way back down river and went into Haverstraw Bay Marina across the river.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Donna on Sep 2, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Stayed at Half Moon Bay numerous times, including during Hurricane Sandy. By far the safest marina in a hurricane. Not a single boat damaged and water was as calm as a lake. Land mass there blocks any winds with an eastern component.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Dale on Sep 1, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 3

    Nice location. Within walking distance of real good restaurants and an Enterprise car rental office which provides a good discount based on the harbor. Services were very limited, but adequate. Nice pool on site which you cannot use. Confirm your slip fees in writing. If you don't you'll find the harbormaster very creative. He will ultimately come out to a price that matches his expectations, not yours.

    WG Editor Comment:
    Management response from Half Moon Bay Marina:
    We appreciate everyone's feedback. Our pricing is very competitive with our neighboring marinas & we regret that someone felt the price was higher than expected. Please do make sure to confirm prices in advance.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Sam on Sep 1, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Very well sheltered with outstanding breakwater and lovely town within a short 1/4 mile walk. Seawall goes from bottom of river upwards to about 25 feet or more out of the water. Not sure what agenda of the last reviewer was, but we had a much better time than we were expecting to during a windy week at Half Moon Bay Marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Ron on Sep 1, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 3

    Nice Marina but --- there is no protection from west winds and the floating "breakwater" does very little. We were pounded here for three days in May 2015 and finally had to get off the boat. Even walking down the dock was tricky. I wouldn't go there again if the west wind is blowing more than 10 mph. Other amenities are not as convenient as advertised.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Erik on Aug 27, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Definitely worth staying at Half Moon Bay. Outstanding customer service and beautiful surroundings. Deep water and very protected.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer