Reviews from John Ney (10)


  • Marina Review for Pirates Cove Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: John Ney on Jul 26, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 1

    Friends recommended this place but I wasn't impressed! Dumpy hole in the wall and dock was horrible. Food was okay at best. Only choice on your burger is loaded or plain! They were very blunt about it, like they were in a hurry so make a decision so they could get to next person!! Way overrated!!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Homeport Marina

    Reviewed by: John Ney on Jul 26, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Very Nice Marina. We hadn't planned to stay but they accommodated us. Our A/C was on fritz so we got a room within walking distance. Ate at Lulu's food was good with live music. Each time we filled up they were very helpful docking & fueling then pumping boat out. We stayed here 2 nights going & 1 night on return trip. Quiet marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Marina at Pontchartrain Landing

    Reviewed by: John Ney on Jul 26, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    First of all fabulous people!! I called telling them my A/C broke and asked if they had a cabin/room! Had slip reservation so they said yes but 2 night minimum but since you are having difficulties we can oblige. Park boat door free we will just charge you to rent a room. Don’t end here. Show up guy helps me dock. I tell him A/C clogged with calcium need CLR where is Walmart. No problem sir I have some in office. Little while later he shows up with CLR! Can I give you tip or pay you for it? No Sir!! Hope you get it fixed! Return trip we got stuck 2 days at this marina due to locks were broke then R&R Bridge broke. Has pool to hang out at as well as restaurant. Staff is super nice.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Downtown Marina of Houma

    Reviewed by: John Ney on Jul 26, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Really nice downtown marina/Park. We were traveling during Covid so the electrical & water were open for use NO CHARGE. We stayed coming & going on our trip. Great place to stay. Lots of locals walking the park. My wife walks every morning so they have a pedestrian walking area around marina/park & downtown. Nice restaurants within walking distance. Note: Free Pumpout pump didn't work.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Shell Morgan Landing Inc.

    Reviewed by: John Ney on Jul 26, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great fuel Prices. 5 cents discount for cash! Staff very nice. They have power & place to tie up but we didn't stay.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on LA: GIWW, Bayou Bouef Lock, daily closure for repair - UPDATE

    Comment by: John Ney on Jun 20, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Closure begins September 9, 2019 thru October 26, 2020. But they are open Friday-Sunday for normal operations. Just closed Monday thru Thursday from 0700 -1830.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Olmstead Shipyard

    Reviewed by: John Ney on Jun 15, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great place. They pulled my boat out so I could change props.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Bord du Lac Marina - Closed due to hurricane damage

    Reviewed by: John Ney on Jun 15, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great Facility!! Walking distance to restaurants downtown. Need code to get thru gate. Plan ahead. Membership for year $200 or you can pay by the night. $20.00/night with utilities. $10.00/night without utilities.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for L'Auberge Casino Resort - Temporarily closed due to hurricane damage

    Reviewed by: John Ney on Jun 15, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 4

    Casino with dock is nice as we live close by and day trip over to eat & enjoy the casino. Never have stayed on boat overnight. Normally have a room & just park boat for free.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Peggy's Place (Formely Peggy's on the Bayou)

    Reviewed by: John Ney on Jun 15, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 4

    Food is Great!! Dock needs a little work but people were great.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer