Reviews from Keith (6)


  • Marina Review for Yacht Basin Co.

    Reviewed by: Keith on Oct 19, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    First time docking at Annapolis. Annapolis Yacht Basin staff are very professional from the first interaction on the phone to reserve a slip to arrival to handling the fuel dock. The day before we were scheduled, we contacted the marina to ensure that we could arrive early due to the weather forecast. The weather was beginning to deteriorate as we arrived; the dockhand was skilled and ensured that we were adequately secured prior to moving onto the next arrival.

    The assigned slip had a 50amp connection, which was not a problem since we carry adapters. The staff offered an extra power cord if necessary. The office has general information about Annapolis, and provides the bath house keys. If leaving before the office opens, there is an expectation that the keys be placed in a drop box near the office wrapped in a paper to identifying the boat; this could be replaced by numbering the swipe cards with a sharpie. The bath house was simple, small, and clean.

    Docks are fixed and with the fall water levels, could be a challenge depending on the boat.

    The marina is within walking distance to many restaurants, shopping (CVS, small shops, and spirits/wine/beer) and the Naval Academy (sorry go Air Force and go Army). A true grocery would require a ride.

    If visiting Annapolis in the future, this would be our first choice to seek a slip.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Chestertown Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Keith on Oct 16, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    As this was our first trip by boat to Chestertown; the newly renovated A and B docks at Chestertown Marina helped make a pleasant stay. The power pedestal was for a single 50, requiring use of an adapter for our single 30. We provided our adapter, not sure if the Dockmaster had any for loan.

    The marina is currently closed on Mondays, so the Dockmaster staff sent our slip assignment on Sunday. Docking without assistance was not difficult thanks to the floating docks, but awareness of the wind and current is essential. As the docks are on the river, do not be surprised at what floats by, including wood planks. Depending on the slip assignment, there is a great view of the river and periodically row teams could be seen.

    The bath house, while simple, was clean and warm. It is located a short walk from the docks.

    Located at the bulkhead is 98Cannon. From what we could tell, this is one of two restaurants within walking distance of the marina. The food is average to good, but the view of the deck is nice. The other restaurant, The Kitchen is also good. There are also a number of small caf├ęs within walking distance for breakfast, lunch or coffee.

    Our hats are off to the Dockmaster, Samantha Branham.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Gratitude Marina

    Reviewed by: Keith on Oct 15, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Stopped for diesel and pumpout. Arrived just prior to 9am opening finding attendant putting fuel price sign up on creek side of dock, indicating diesel at $2.91. There was a boat already docked in the middle of the fuel dock, but no one with the boat and the attendant was not sure why it was there. Was able to maneuver to the Swan Creek end of the dock and secure to refuel and pumpout. Attendant was professional and offered a BoatUS discount. Downside, it appears that the price sign posted was not accurate; reviewing receipt reflected price of $2.99 which was less than $2 difference due to the small amount of fuel needed. When I called the office to point out the difference (not asking for a refund of the difference or any compensation) the response received less then caring. Lesson learned, double check the pump itself prior to fueling.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Osprey Point

    Reviewed by: Keith on Oct 14, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Arrived on 13 Oct and asked if the pumpout was available 24/7, which the dock hand confirmed. What was not conveyed until we were docked early the next morning at the pumpout was the need to obtain a token for $5 from the office. As we were also looking to fuel-up, we passed on using the pumpout.

    Otherwise we always enjoy staying at Osprey. Our first was with a rendezvous in June 2016 (we also took delivery of our boat here in December 2014). The dockhand was very help with securing the boat and hooking-up power. The docks and facilities are maintained in good shape. The only down side at times is the bird poop on the docks (a pain when jumping on and off the boat during docking, and attaching power and water), which we would have cleaned-off once secured and got our hose connected. The marina offers a BoatUS discount for transients and the welcome packet provides adequate details on the facility and Rock Hall, which is a very walk-able town (or a tram is available for $1 per person until October or November). Onspot provides the wifi for the marina. We have eaten dinner at the restaurant and have always been happy. We highly recommend the scallops!! We look forward to another stay in the future.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Haven Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Keith on Sep 19, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Haven Harbor fuel dock had the best price for diesel along our cruise course with a volume discount. Access to the dock from the creek is through a fairly narrow fairway, so slower is better when approaching and coming along side of the dock. If another boat is already at the dock, better to wait in Swan Creek and be called in by the staff. Location is great with minimal potential for rocking from wakes.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum

    Reviewed by: Keith on Sep 18, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Docking at the museum is well worth the membership. We have been members for five years, and using the docking privilege provides us access to the museum and it is a short stroll to the main street and restaurants. The Dock Master is very knowledgeable and all the staff is helpful

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer