Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Steve STICH (15)


  • Anchorage Review for Old Bight

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH, Jus Dreaming, on Feb 25, 2020
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Shore Access:
    5
    Pet Friendly:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5

    This anchorage is right next to Rollezz Resort and it's wonderful. The resort is very welcoming to cruisers, wonderful breakfast, lunch and dinner. They want you to come in and enjoy the resort. My wife said that when she envisioned going to the Bahamas this is what she thought that she would find. Off the charts great place!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Old Point Comfort Marina

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH , Jus Dreaming, on Nov 4, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Rating: 5

    Best deal in the Newport Hampton Roads area you will find. We stayed for a month. Food Lion grocery store not far away. But the best part is being able to hang out at Fort Monroe. Walking around and exploring this historic fort was a total blast. We will always stop here on our way North.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH , Jus Dreaming, on Aug 26, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Rating: 5

    We were taking on water from a shaft seal and we had a Cutlass bearing that was making noise on the starboard side of our catamaran,,, so they pulled us out fixed everything put us back in the water in one day. Fantastic service, highly recommend this company.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for West 79th Street Boat Basin

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH, Jus Dreaming, on Aug 8, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    1
    Wake Protection:
    1
    Scenic Beauty:
    1
    Ease of Shopping:
    3
    Shore Access:
    4
    Cell Service:
    5

    They anchorage is north of the mooring balls. That means it's over a mile north of the marina. The marina charges $26 a day to park your dinghy. Good Subway access on 72nd and Broadway. Grocery store on 74th Street and Broadway. Fairly easy walk to both

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Cape May Harbor East

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH, Jus Dreaming, on Jul 29, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    2
    Wake Protection:
    2
    Scenic Beauty:
    1
    Ease of Shopping:
    4
    Shore Access:
    4
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    1

    The anchorage has plenty of depth. Shore access can be accomplished by contacting Utsch's Marina. They will let you park your dinghy by their fuel dock for a few hours. During the summer there is Jitney free shuttle service around town. You can download their app. The downtown mall area is awesome, very unique.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Wharf Marina-DC

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH , Jus Dreaming, on Jul 10, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Rating: 5

    Great place, enjoyed our time there. The dinghy dock service is superb with two locations, one very close to the fish market. We were on the moorings. Very pleasant.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Canoe Neck Creek

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH, Jus Dreaming, on Jul 9, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Pet Friendly:
    1
    Cell Service:
    2
    WiFi:
    1

    Very well protected anchorage from wind in any direction. Very nice neighborhood with beautiful homes. If you're looking for a quiet night this is the place. Also good water depths getting in and out pay attention to your charts.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Colton Point Public Dock

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH, Jus Dreaming, on Jul 9, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    1
    Current Flow:
    1
    Wake Protection:
    1
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    5
    Cell Service:
    4
    WiFi:
    3

    Look for a gray building with a red stripe. There is a large dock in front of it. You are allowed to park on that dock for up to two hours for free during the day. There is also a dock on St Clement's Island and you may park on it overnight. No camping on St Clements island is allowed. The anchorage is very exposed in front of the museum. The museum is very nice and well worth your time to explore. The museum is in the gray building with the red stripe just to be clear.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Goose Bay Marina Inc.

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH , Jus Dreaming, on Jul 8, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Rating: 4

    Good price on fuel $3.05 a gallon for diesel. Fuel dock is easy to pull up to. Pump is slow so it's easy to control especially when filling and Jerry cans. Don't expect help when docking at this marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Goose Bay Marina Inc.

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH , Jus Dreaming, on Jul 8, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Rating: 4

    Good price on fuel, $3.05 a gallon for diesel. Fuel dock is easy to pull up to. Pump is slow so it's easy to control especially when filling Jerry cans. Don't expect help when docking at this marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Rosier Bluff R90

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH, Jus Dreaming, on Jul 7, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Overall Rating:
    1
    Holding:
    1
    Wind Protection:
    1
    Current Flow:
    1
    Wake Protection:
    1
    Scenic Beauty:
    1
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Pet Friendly:
    1
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    1

    This cannot be the location of and Anchorage. There are underwater snags everywhere. I saw some people cream their monohull sailboats almost directly across the river on the west side of the river from this Anchorage. I went over there it seemed a little shallow. I went back to Mile Marker 84 and anchored just east of the marker about a thousand feet that worked out very well.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Goose Bay Marina Inc.

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH , Jus Dreaming, on Jun 23, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Rating: 3

    They are under new management I hope they can improve. The pool is nice but hard to get to for boaters. The store has some stuff it would only be luck if they had what you need. The bathrooms and shower are not good.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on MD: Smith Point, CAUTION, possible shoaling

    Comment by: Steve STICH, Jus Dreaming, on Jun 23, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    We went in on an outgoing tide with our Catamaran. Very shallow many areas 4 to 5 feet Red marker outside the inlet in 3' of water its a bit better if you come in from the north west angle its a bit better.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for St. Clements Island

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH, Jus Dreaming, on Jun 20, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    2
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    2
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    5
    Pet Friendly:
    5
    Cell Service:
    3
    WiFi:
    2

    Except for the weekends you can use the big dock. It is in very nice condition. We anchored off in 12 ft of water it was a bit rolly with 15 knot winds all night. The grounds on the island are immaculate and well worth your time for a visit

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Free Dock Review for Leonardtown Wharf

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH, Jus Dreaming, on Jun 18, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Rating: 4

    It's a concrete wharf, not a dock. The condition is excellent. The town is beyond cute. Well worth a stop. The only problem is that it's not very deep. At the dock or should I say wharf at low tide our starboard hull was on the ground. Still you could anchor out and dinghy in. The town is well worth a visit if you like touristy quaint places.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer