Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Duane & Sonja Finch (8)


  • Marina Review for Port Charles Harbor

    Reviewed by: Duane & Sonja Finch on Oct 5, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This marina and service center has the capability and staff to make any repairs or updates to your boat. Six days ago we were in the Mel Price lock when we struck a submerged log, HARD. Our starboard engine stalled, and we were taking on a bit of water. We called the Alton Marina as we had just been there and fueled up for the next leg of our journey south. They were unable to help us themselves but did refer us to the Port Charles Harbor Marina. We called, they immediately sent a towboat to come the 18 miles downstream, then tow us back upstream, against the strong Mississippi current. The marina staff were there waiting for us with their lift ready to take us out of the water when we arrived, (This was 4:30 in the afternoon, on a Sunday)! They made sure we were secure, inspected the damage and allowed us to stay on our boat while they made all the necessary repairs. We had a few days to kill so we went about various chores and cleaning up our boat. The marina staff were very helpful with this too, as they offered their wisdom, extension cords, ladders, etc. We borrowed the marina's courtesy car twice to go into St. Charles for supplies. We highly recommend making use of this marina, you'll understand why once you have.

    We wish it were possible to choose more than five stars..

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for St. Johnsville Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Duane & Sonja Finch on Jul 4, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Worked well as a place to spend the night. Water, 30 & 50 amp electric. Gas & Diesel. Unlike the guide says: the pump out was not free even though we did fill up with diesel. Wall is becoming quite deteriorated and needs some attention. Being careful of where to place fenders helped as there are some pretty rough surfaces on the wall. Nice showers, close to amenities, friendly staff.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Schenectady Yacht Club

    Reviewed by: Duane & Sonja Finch on Jun 22, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    We were diverted into this marina due to flooding on the canal system that had shut down locks to the west. At first glance the docks could use some work but the staff and facilities make up for that. The flooding is providing a strong current but the docks are easy to get into and the dockhands made our arrival a pleasure. Additional amenities nearby make this place a great destination for anything you could possibly need. We feel lucky to have been "forced" to stay here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Anchor Bay East Marina

    Reviewed by: Duane & Sonja Finch on Jun 9, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    We spent two days & nights here. We really enjoyed the stay. Great restaurant right at the marina. Well stocked marine store. Clean showers, restrooms, and laundry. Easy listening live music played each evening. Will stop back if in the area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Summit North Marina

    Reviewed by: Duane & Sonja Finch on Jun 6, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    They no longer give a discount for BoatUS or any other affiliation. The dock hands were great. Newly renovated shower and restrooms.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Savannah Bend Marina

    Reviewed by: Duane & Sonja Finch on Apr 17, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    The folks here are pleasant and the facilities are fine. Waterway Guide has their slip rate at $1.50 per foot, but were charged $2.00 per foot. The area was hit hard by last season's hurricane. Repairs to slips have already been made.

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Marinas have the option to update their listings directly or send the information to us for entry. We will check on this discrepancy.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Fort Matanzas

    Reviewed by: Duane & Sonja Finch on Apr 9, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    2
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    4
    Pet Friendly:
    4
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    1

    Very fast tidal currents. Dropped anchor at center of waterway, We held through the night. 35' chain, 75' rode. Anchor came up clean so we cannot say what is on the bottom. Dinghied over to the Fort, be careful of the fast current.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Myakka River

    Reviewed by: Duane & Sonja Finch on Mar 26, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    1
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Shore Access:
    2
    Pet Friendly:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5

    Fair wind coverage to the north and west. Never moved throughout the two nights we stayed.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer