Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Len Barton (40)


  • Bridge comment on Norfolk Southern #7 RR Bridge

    Comment by: Len Barton on Mar 13, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    If this bridge is down, good luck getting an opening. The phone doesn’t answer and the tender keeps telling you it’s going to open in a few minutes. Plan on waiting and waiting.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Mar 11, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    It’s still being remodeled but is quiet, friendly and affordable. It’s also a gas station and convenience store. They serve meals too and the chicken dinner is fantastic. The 8 piece meal will serve two.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dowry Creek Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Mar 11, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    This place is still being remodeled. It’s nearly finished and they are doing an incredible job. Friendly, helpful, courtesy car and much more. This is a must visit marina

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Indigo Plantation & Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Mar 7, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 1

    Call ahead for a transient slip but on arrival was told that the marina was closed due to storm damage. Turns out the person answering the phone was at Deep Point marina a mile up the Cape Fear River. Read my review of that marina

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Marina is open. Waterway Guide spoke with the Marina Manager earlier this week. Both locations are managed by the same crew. Indigo Plantation is for boaters looking for a longer stay (a month or more) while Deep Point is for short term transients. Indigo Plantation is unmanned. Crew is sent there from Deep Point to assist with docking etc. when necessary. All calls for both locations go to Deep Point. There was poor communication between the boater and marina management when the boater was making a reservation.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Deep Point Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Mar 7, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 3

    Don’t count on getting any rest here. This is a ferry terminal and they arrive on the hour, wake the marina and blast their horn.
    On the other hand, the marina is nice and the staff very helpful and friendly.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Harbourgate Resort & Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Mar 7, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great place. Susie’s father built the place back in 1964.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Stono River

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Feb 24, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    3
    Scenic Beauty:
    2
    Cell Service:
    4

    Stopped one night when northbound. Was a quiet night with no wind. Depth was more along 14 feet. No wakes.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Crescent River ICW MM 644

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Feb 21, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    3
    Pet Friendly:
    3
    Cell Service:
    4

    Spent one night here while a cold front moved through. Winds of 20-25, anchor held well and is was pretty quiet. Only boat here

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Halifax Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Feb 15, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    I totally agree with the other reviews. One of the best places we’ve seen in many years. Can’t say enough about it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Capt'n Butchers Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Feb 15, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 2

    Had TowBoat US take me here when I had electrical problems. Was a decent place with good restaurant and bar. Shopping is close by. Don’t bring your pet. Owner is a bit grumpy regarding pets

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for W.P. Franklin Campground-Boat-In Docks

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Mar 4, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is a very peaceful place to take a break from waterway and just chill. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Facilities are very nice. Only 30 amp service on our dock. Nothing around as far as shopping and services. Normally $30 per day. But if you have a National Parks Pass it’s only $15 a night

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on W.P. Franklin Lock

    Comment by: Len Barton on Mar 4, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Very nice and helpful operator. Gave us some helpful advice for the bridges and locks.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Cape Coral Yacht Basin / The Boat House Tiki Bar & Grill

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Mar 4, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 2

    Called ahead and made reservations. Also wanted fuel. Their price was very attractive. Arrived and they had no space available. As I sat in the middle of their harbor they finally told me to pick a spot on the bulkhead. None available. Then I was told that if we could find room, we couldn’t stay aboard the boat overnight.
    I waited about thirty minutes in mid channel for the fuel dock to open up. Took on 75 gallons and left. Not very helpful at fuel dock. Felt rushed as if I were in the way. Mostly a ski-boat hangout and bar

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Marina at Edison Ford

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Mar 4, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    One of the best places we have found. I can confirm the other reviews. Publix Grocery is a long two blocks but worth it. The restaurant is fantastic and reasonable. Be sure to spend a full day at The Edison Ford Winter Retreat that adjoins the marina. Larger sailboats and large single engine vessels may find it tight maneuvering the “U” turn type entrance.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Moorings of Carrabelle

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Feb 23, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 3

    The previous reviews cover most of what to expect with a couple exceptions. After Hurricane Michael they lost the majority of available slips. Cable TV and most shore power are not available. At the existing slips getting on and off your boat can be difficult with the tide range. They do all they can to accommodate transients. We had a medical emergency while there. It was an hour and forty five minute ambulance ride to the nearest medical assistance which was in Tallahassee. It was a $100 Uber ride back.
    There is no public transportation, rental car, taxi and no medical services. However; The Fisherman’s Wife Restaurant is excellent, The IGA Grocery and Ace Hardware are all right across the street.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Sea Hag Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Feb 23, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Only able to accommodate two boats (40’ & 55’) when we stayed three days in early February 2019. On was the fuel dock. A very good restaurant and they will pick you up and take you back. Onsite store has gifts, fishing supplies and some marine supplies. Mostly for outboard powered boats. Very nice and helpful staff

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for City of Tarpon Springs Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Feb 23, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Spent eight days here. If you pay for six days the seventh is free. Located at the upper end of the old town waterfront it is very convenient to all attractions. You can ride the trolley for $5 per day and it covers a lot of towns in this area.
    NOTE: The City is planning to rebuild all the Docks starting in March/April 2019. So call ahead for current information.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for John's Pass Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Feb 23, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Fun place to stop. Reasonable rates. Great staff. Wonderful restaurant within walking distance and great live music. All the entertainment and food you could ask for just a short walk across the bridge. Only a couple of transient slips available so call ahead. One big drawback and one we are finding everywhere along this stretch is that you can only stay aboard your boat for three days. The boat can stay but you can’t! Florida is regulating the transient boater out of the state.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Belleair

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Feb 21, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    3
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    1
    Scenic Beauty:
    2
    Ease of Shopping:
    4
    Shore Access:
    5
    Cell Service:
    4

    Good anchorage but you need to use bow and stern anchors to ride the wakes from launch ramp and ICW. Nights are very peaceful .
    We anchored farther North of the spot indicated on Waterway Guide. Tide is about 3 feet. Skipper Bob gives excellent directions

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Fairhope Yacht Club

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Jan 30, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 4

    Went to Fairhope Docks for fuel. Then stayed at the yacht club for five nights.
    Harbor is very nice. A couple of really nice restaurants within walking distance.
    Only negative is if the wind comes from anywhere west through north everything turns to rocking and rolling.
    When entering hug the red markers and near the last red is a shoal with less than three feet at low tide
    Tide is about two feet. Fairhope is a great place to visit.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Watson Bayou

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Jan 28, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Cell Service:
    3

    We anchored here three months after hurricane Michael. Anchorage is well protected and easy access. Can’t comment on services or convenience since there isn’t much left.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Saul Creek

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Jan 28, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    4
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Shore Access:
    1

    We went to the fork, turned left and continued about a mile and a half up stream past another floating house tied to shore. Depths were ranging 30 to 45 feet. Too deep actually. Not wanting to use a stern hook, we let the current carry us back to the “Y”, sounding as we went. Just before the junction the depth went to twelve feet for some distance and suddenly increased to 40 feet as we passed the “Y”. Powered back upstream to about midway across the 12 foot range and dropped anchor in midstream (it’s pretty wide there). The 1 1/2 knot current kept us pointed upstream the entire night.
    At this position we had no phone, GPS or TV. Also free of bugs at this time of year.
    Next morning we headed for Apalachicola to get a transient slip and fuel before heading to Carrabelle. Fuel was available but no slip.
    NOTE: this is three months after Hurricane Michael and many facilities have not fully recovered. Our trip from Panama City to this anchorage was some of the most devastated we have ever seen and we survived a direct hit from hurricane Harvey in Rockport Texas a year and a half ago. The ICW is clear for navigation though

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Little Sabine Bay

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Jan 22, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    5
    Shore Access:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5

    Anchored in the designated spot in W/G. Excellent holding. Ducked in here to rest after beating into 20 knots out of the east all morning. Wind gusts to 30 knots and we held very well. None of the marinas had transient slips available.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Perdido Key G15

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Jan 22, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    2
    Current Flow:
    2
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Shore Access:
    4
    Cell Service:
    4

    This is a nice but open anchorage. Settled weather only. Nice white sand beach. Holding is very good.
    Spent one night and about 2:00 AM wind came up from the east. Waited for daylight and left into a 15 knot east wind. Holding is good in ten feet of sand and mud.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Long Beach Harbor

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Jan 7, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great marina. Shopping close by. Bill, the harbor master,m drove us to a veterinarian and Walmart. Highly recommend this marina for anyone passing this way.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Catfish Pt. (Rabbit Island)

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Jan 5, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    4
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    3
    Cell Service:
    2

    Three boats shared this anchorage without a problem. We found depths more in the 7-8 foot range at low tide. Good spot to start the route east

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on Industrial Lock

    Comment by: Len Barton on Jan 5, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Came through on a Saturday and not too much traffic. But, since we were a pleasure boat, we had to wait behind the bollards (nice dock) for nearly three hours while three tugs came through. Expect delays at this lock.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Team Lafitte Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Jan 1, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Arrived here a week before Christmas to stay for one night ($25). Was so pleased we stayed thru the New year on a very reasonable rate. The folks that own and operate this place made this one of our best experiences in many years. The store is like a scaled down Ace Harware or Home Depot. They have a bit of everything. Hardware, marine supplies, fishing supplies and much more. Again at very fair prices. Fuel was also reasonable. The store has basic groceries.
    Only disadvantage is that the nearest major grocery store is about 5 miles away. But these folks arranged transportation for us.
    Major shopping is about 20 plus miles. They offer engine repair and also have a variety of rental cabins. Some on pontoons.
    I highly recommend this stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Bay Wallace

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Dec 7, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    1

    Tried to enter this area but kept running into 2 and 3 foot depths as soon as I left the waterway. Moved all across the entrance and couldn’t find a way in. Near high tide. I only draw 3 feet.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Bayou Black

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Dec 7, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Cell Service:
    4

    We anchored across the channel from the spot shown in the Waterway Guide. Bow and stern with bow in 20 feet of water and stern in 8 feet. Tide range in one foot range. Very peaceful and quiet. A few barges but they didn’t bother us. Highly recommend this anchorage

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Bayou Petit Anse

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Dec 5, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    2
    Holding:
    3
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Cell Service:
    5

    Amendment to my previous review... Stay away from this place.
    Twice last night we were awakened by barge captains and forced to up anchor and move. Once at 10:00 and again at 1:30 am

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on Leland Bowman Lock

    Comment by: Len Barton on Dec 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    The lock was open when we came through east bound. We’re in a 44 foot sport fishing boat and had plenty of power to deal with the current. Don’t think I’d like it in my sailboat. Lock master was very friendly, as are most of them

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Bayou Petit Anse

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Dec 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    3
    Holding:
    3
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    3
    Cell Service:
    4

    If you anchor here you better be on ALL chain. I had a North wind about ten knots blowing right down the channel with a North flowing current. Kept the boat beam to constantly. I used chain and rode on a Fortress anchor. Dragged three times. I would only recommend this spot as a last resort situation. Unless you are on all chain. I’d like to note here that if you are West bound, it’s well worth taking a side trip to Lake Arthur when you get to the Mermentau River. I’ve put out a review you can reference

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Lake Arthur

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Dec 3, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    2
    Shore Access:
    5
    Pet Friendly:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5

    Came here to go to Walmart and buy a small refrigerator since ours died. Google shows a Walmart here in town. But it’s not here. Over lunch at the Regatta Restaurant I mentioned our situation to the owner. She had her husband drive me 15 miles to a Walmart. We tied up to the new city pier for free next to the restaurant. The food is to die for. Best we’ve had so far. The town is quaint and beautiful. People are friendly and helpful. The trip up the river was beautiful. Stay in mid channel at all times. It shoals quickly. If your going to the restaurant/city pier, stay in the channel until the restaurant (green roof) is directly abeam. Then proceed direct to the restaurant. When you get close the city pier is on your port side

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Mermentau G1A

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Dec 1, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Cell Service:
    4

    I agree with the previous reviews. I didn’t go quite to the spot indicated on Waterway Guide. But it was still a good anchorage. It does shoal fast. So be careful. We had no mosquitoes due to the cooler weather

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on Calcasieu Lock

    Comment by: Len Barton on Dec 1, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    At this time the lock is being repaired. On weekdays it’s closed 0700 to 1700. Open on weekends.
    Be careful on west side of lock. Very shallow. Commercial traffic insane on weekends. We went thru in our sportfish boat. Wouldn’t want to do it in our 41 foot sailboat.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Calcasieu River Oxbow

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Dec 1, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Cell Service:
    3

    Anchored a little to the south west of indicated location on chart. Set hook in center of anchorage and had a peaceful night.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Shell Island

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Nov 27, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Pet Friendly:
    1

    This is a very comfortable anchorage with room for a number of boats. Quiet, scenic and well protected. We spent Thanksgiving here and were the only vessel here.
    We are on our 44 foot sportfish boat but we are also world cruisers on our sailboat. I wouldn’t hesitate to anchor here in our sailing vessel either.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Olmstead Shipyard

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Nov 27, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    One of the best boatyard experiences I’ve had in forty years. We are traveling from Corpus Christi to Norfolk Virginia and hauled out here after hitting a submerged log. They hauled right on time, blocked the boat better than I’ve ever seen and had the props off in minutes. Referred me to Toups Propeller who was equally professional and friendly. Both of these businesses were started in 1938. Professional, cost competitive and SUPER FRIENDLY. Our entire experience in Lake Charles has been wonderful.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Bowtie Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton on Nov 24, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Arrived on Friday after Thanksgiving for a fuel stop and overnight dock. Called ahead to be sure they were open. Owner (Doug) waited two hours for us. Great place and excellent prices. Would definitely stop here again. If your doing the GIWW it’s worth the side trip.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer