Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Laura Stein (16)


  • Anchorage Review for Useppa Island

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein, Have Another Day , on Mar 24, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    1
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Shore Access:
    4
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    1

    Second time anchoring here. Our 5'1" draft is too much to get into Pelican Bay so we anchor here. Our first night we shared the anchorage with maybe 5 boat and today there are just three of us. We are anchored about 500 ft south of the anchor symbol directly across from the entrance channel to Cabbage Key. The boat wake from the ICW channel is awful. But once nightfall hits it's quiet until morning. It hasn't stopped us from sitting on our deck and enjoying looking at beautiful Useppa Island. Easy dinghy ride into Cabbage Key. We went one day to do the trails and today to eat lunch. We then took our dinghy to do the Tunnel of Love. Tied up at the end and walked right onto beautiful Cayo Costa beach. We had the stretch of beach to ourselves. One other boat was back in the Tunnel of Love. Much better than last time when we took the tram across. But if you prefer that it's an easy dinghy ride into Pelican Bay to dock there and walk or tram over to the Gulf side beach. Fabulous stop. Don't skip it!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Crow's Nest Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein , Have Another Day , on Mar 24, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great stop. Staff incredibly helpful. Helped us get tied up with no issue and helped us untie the next morning. We don't usually ask for help leaving but the tide was way out and was going to make for a dicey leap back onto the boat for me. Or retying all lines back to boat. Quick easy walk to beach. Fabulous body surfing. I walked into town Saturday morning for wonderful farmer's market and trip to the post office. After body surfing we took dinghy to little island and walked around a bit. Downtown Venice is beautiful and we would have enjoyed staying but were on our way to Cayo Costa.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Clearwater Municipal Marinas (Clearwater Beach Marina)

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein , Have Another Day , on Jan 10, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    We had a great time during our two nights here. I was worried about the docks after a lot of not great reviews but we were docked by the fuel dock and the docks were in great shape and clean. Bathrooms were at the end of our dock. We definitely had some rocking as the dinner boat went out and in but nothing terrible. The beach was fabulous and sunsets amazing. Enjoyed the street performers at sunset. We had a car with us and purchasing a daily parking permit from marina was simple. $10 per day. All in all a great stop topped off with dolphins in our slip this morning.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Pearl Bayou

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein, Have Another Day , on Jan 7, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Cell Service:
    3
    WiFi:
    3

    Stopped at Shell Island and moved here because it was quite windy and there was no protection at Shell Island. Due to the air force base on land you can't go ashore but we had a quiet night with plenty of room. At the time we had three power boats and three sailboats. No issues with space. Quiet night and very calm. Got down to 6 ft in the morning with low tide.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Scipio Creek Marina

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein , Have Another Day , on Jan 7, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    We stayed at Scipio Creek two years ago. It has changed ownership and gone through hurricane Michael since. I can see the upgrades since we were here before. We have stayed on the outside wall by fuel pumps both times because it's deeper out there. Easy walk to what appears to be new bathhouse. Only one women's and one men's however. Toilet and shower in same room so if office is closed and someone is showering you have to wait a long time for bathroom. Working on deck rebuilding now. Town is charming as we remember it. Love the old time soda fountain. New restaurant at marina. Half Shell Oyster Bar. Accommodated our large boat group of 15 and food was good.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Bluewater Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein , Have Another Day , on Jan 5, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    We paid for a month and stayed 18 of those days. We had family in the area and then just were waiting for a weather window to head towards Carabelle. Harbor hosts Jack and Patty Nickerson are the AGLCA harbor hosts and are fabulous. They hosted docktails many times, were so welcoming of our children on board, hosted us for NYE and followed my husband all the way to Carabelle to drop our car off there and then drove him all the way back. They go above and beyond. Other loopers are there as well and the local live aboards are all friendly. There are currently not a lot of transient slips as they have been a post hurricane overflow marina. But April was able to fit us in.

    April will send you a map and instructions on your way in. You have to mind all three sets of markers.

    Some of the Docks are in rough shape but pilings sturdy. Very dark at night. Barely any light on the dock.

    Pump out was working on and off. They do have a pump out boat that will come to your slip when it is working. Or pump out at pool dock.

    Restaurant on site. Miles of walking in the neighborhoods and access to the heated pool.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Olmsted Mooring Cells

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein, Have Another Day , on Nov 11, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    3
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    2
    Current Flow:
    2
    Wake Protection:
    2
    Scenic Beauty:
    3
    Shore Access:
    5
    Pet Friendly:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5

    Call the lock and ask if you can anchor behind the barge mooring cells. We anchored here in 2016 and again in October 2018. We called as we approached the lock. We were told we could go through or we were welcome to anchor behind the cells for the night. Easy anchorage with plenty of depth. However we've had to put out a stern anchor both times so we didn't swing into shore or the mooring cells. Boat ramp right there if you need to take pets to shore. Easy trip through the lock the next morning.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Tensaw River

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein, Have Another Day , on Nov 11, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Cell Service:
    3
    WiFi:
    3

    Second time anchoring here. River is huge. Plenty of room for lots of boats. We had 5 last night. Current kept us lined up. No swinging. No water noise on the hull. Beautiful spot. Silent night. Anchored in 16' about 1 mile in. Went over one 11 ft hump on our way out but that was the shallowest we saw. Anchor came up easily. Did not try to go to shore so cannot comment on access.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Kaskaskia Lock Wall

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein, Have Another Day , on Nov 9, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    3
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Cell Service:
    4
    WiFi:
    4

    This is our second stop to the Kaskaskia lock wall. We stayed 10-20-18. Two years ago we did the run from Alton. This year we did it from Grafton. It was an easy 100 mile day. It's a pleasure to turn into the Kaskaskia river and tie up to the lock wall. No current. Completely protected. The lock master is friendly. You are able to climb onto the wall to help other boaters tie up or say hello. No services but a much more peaceful and relaxed night for us than being at anchor.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on Olmsted Locks and Dam

    Comment by: Laura Stein, Have Another Day , on Nov 9, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Call the lock and ask if you can anchor behind the barge mooring cells. We anchored here in 2016 and again this week. We called as we approached the lock. We were told we could go through or we were welcome to anchor behind the cells for the night. Easy anchorage with plenty of depth. However we've had to put out a stern anchor both times so we didn't swing into shore or the mooring cells. Easy trip through the lock the next morning.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Pebble Isle Marina

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein , Have Another Day , on Nov 9, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is our second stop at Pebble Isle marina. Channel very well marked and has plenty of water for our 5 ft draft. Once out of the channel the basin to the fuel dock is shallower. We churned up a lot of mud. Fuel is cheapest you will find at $2.99 a gallon if you are a Boat US member. Staff is friendly and helpful. Cinnamon rolls still great. Only concern for us was sitting in 6.5 ft of water. Winter pool level.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Smithville Marina

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein , Have Another Day , on Nov 9, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    We left Midway Marina and after the first lock the wind really picked up to the point we could hardly stay in the Channel. Tows were having trouble as well and beaching themselves on the bank. Three from our group called Smithville frantically and they took us in. The three of us filled the entire 180' face dock. Their channel markers are missing but the owner talked us in over the radio. There is a sandbar along the red buoy in the main channel. He talked us around that and into the marina without issue. 8 ft at the wall. Pump out broken. No fuel. We didn't try the water. Power worked fine. Marina is very rough shape with no obvious improvements anytime recently. The dock has sections missing off to the side and the walkway with railings is blocked off with caution tape. We climbed the hill to walk around. I never saw a bathroom. We did find a shower that someone on one of the other boats used.

    Marina rough. Thankful for a safe place to pull off and the helpfulness of the staff!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Columbus Marina

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein , Have Another Day , on Nov 9, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Steve talked us all the way in and helped us avoid the shallow spot off the fuel dock. No issues getting to our slip and were thrilled to be in 9 ft of water there after 6 ft by the fuel dock. No problems hooking up to power. Trash at end of dock. Lots of Loopers. We were able to snag the courtesy van with one other family to go to Huck's for dinner. It was dark and town was closed up by the time we could get a car but it was still nice to have a town to walk around it! We found the post office to mail a package and walked the streets before a quick run to Kroger. Seeing civilization was a welcome sight after the past few days!

    Only reason for 4 stars is that you have to walk through swampy grass a ways to get to the bathroom. Only one men and one women. Clean and nice. Everyone at the marina is great. Recommend this stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Cooks Bend Cutoff - south

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein, Have Another Day , on Nov 9, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Cell Service:
    5

    After finding out from the lock master that the Tombigbee oxbow wasn't an option for last night we decided to stop at Cooks Bend. Friends had told us Sumter was smaller and we had 8 boats. We also knew there was a shallow bar at Sumter. Lower Cooks Bend had 30 ft. We anchored in 24 ft with a light current. No spinning. Very calm night. Beautiful setting. Anchor came up clean.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Kingfisher Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein , Have Another Day , on Nov 9, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Still a great stop to recharge. The marina staff is knowledgeable. AnnaMarie will talk you into your slip.....even in a torrential downpour with crazy high winds. We called and said no to covered bc of height. Then the rain really picked up. Called back and asked to change. They have 26' and 28' covered and we fit fine in the 28'. Departure meeting nightly to coordinate the lock the next morning. Courtesy car. We also walked to town with our kids. Playground and library were great.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Pebble Isle Marina

    Reviewed by: Laura Stein , Have Another Day , on Oct 28, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    This is our second stop at Pebble Isle marina. Cheapest diesel we've seen in a long time. $2.99 a gallon if you are a Boat US member. Staff is friendly and helpful and they still bake cinnamon rolls for boaters in the morning! We did not eat at the Grey Heron grill this time but we did two years ago and it was good.

    Channel into the marina is very well marked. Follow their buoys and don't exit the channel until after the last one. 10+ feet in the Channel. After leaving the channel it gets shallower on the way to the fuel dock and transient dock. We churned a lot of mud but it all seems to be soft silt. We sat overnight in about 6.5 ft. This is the winter pool.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer