Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Dena Hankins (8)


  • Anchorage Review for Worton Creek

    Reviewed by: Dena Hankins, Nomad, on Jul 9, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    4
    Wake Protection:
    2
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Cell Service:
    2

    If traveling through on a weekend, this is a less-busy option when compared to the Sassafrass. Not bucolic peacefulness, but it is safe to put your drink down. It's also fresher in summer than up the various Middle River area creeks.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Marina at Grande Dunes

    Reviewed by: Dena Hankins , Nomad, on Feb 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 2

    Free laundry was nice. We were given a slip assignment by phone, but took the next slip since there was a boat in that one (!). There's a grocery store sort of nearby, but you have to run across a divided highway. The food in the area is unremarkable.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Leland Oil Company

    Reviewed by: Dena Hankins , Nomad, on Feb 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Strayed too close to the docks on the way in and had to power a trench in the bottom until we cleared the shallow spot. Don't cheat toward land - center up between the land and the marshy areas. The guy here was very, very nice and we enjoyed walking around the area. It's a lovely old spot with an ancient tree and a scale model of the solar system (for contrast, I guess). TW Graham & Co is a nice walk away, provides a delicious fish dinner, gives great service, and has a special tartar that knocked my socks off.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Toler's Cove Marina

    Reviewed by: Dena Hankins , Nomad, on Feb 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Whew! It's a good thing we'd gotten used to soft groundings on the way down, because we powered through, trenching a good third of the entrance channel. They were very nice and let us stay on the fuel dock since the wind was pinning us down and it was winter-slow. They didn't know the pedestrian gate code, so maybe we're the only people to go for a long walk from there! The 450 Pizza Joint (over the bridge) made us a delicious pan pizza. The next morning, the dockhand drove us to the nearest propane exchange in his own car, which was a wonderful thing for us. If it were just another couple feet deeper, I'd rate this place a 5.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Charleston - Coast Guard

    Reviewed by: Dena Hankins, Nomad, on Feb 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    3
    Holding:
    3
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    2
    Wake Protection:
    1
    Scenic Beauty:
    2
    Ease of Shopping:
    3
    Shore Access:
    4
    Pet Friendly:
    3
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    1

    There are a handful of long-term-anchored boats here taking up most of the useful space. We slid in between them and watched one drag badly in a storm. With the strong current, it behooves you to plan it into your trips to the Charleston City Marina's dinghy dock (head right up the shore side of the marina, can't miss it). Across the Ashley, there's a larger, more open anchorage and getting to the City Marina would mean crossing the current rather than fighting it directly. Weather forecasts might play into that decision. We did stick hard in that thick mud, though, so we got what we needed from it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Charleston City

    Reviewed by: Dena Hankins , Nomad, on Feb 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    They packed out their fuel dock with megayachts during winter 2018, so it was hard to get in. The showers never got fully hot, which is probably not a problem in their usual hot summers, but it rather negates the point of coming into a marina to warm up. On the other hand, there are options for food and drink right in the marina complex and the main business area of Charleston is a pleasant (longish) walk or (short) Uber ride. The Marina Variety Store Restaurant does good, straightforward breakfast, lunch, and dinner. If you anchor nearby, there's a dinghy dock. Go south around the marina and head north once you're shore-side.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: Dena Hankins , Nomad, on Feb 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Both the dock staff and those in the office/store were very helpful. We ended up staying an extra day to provision and warm up.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Hilton Head Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Dena Hankins , Nomad, on Feb 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Friendly dockhand, slow diesel fuel pump. Lots of depth at the fuel dock.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer