Reviews from Howard Entman (49)

  • Marina Review for Petoskey City Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Sep 26, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This marina continues to be one of the nicest in the region. Clean rest rooms and showers, courteous and knowledgeable deck hands, excellent wi-fi, loaner bikes, two block walk to town, 2 network TV channels. Reservations are through the Michigan DNR

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Charlevoix City Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Oct 13, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Everything about this marina is top notch. There are no service facilities, however. The docks, bathrooms, lounge and laundry are modern and clean. The dockhands are helpful and knowledgeable. All shops are located within walking distance, and they have loaner bikes for transient use.

    The only big downside is that it is very hard to get a reservation for this marina through the DNR system, since there are not many transient spots. So make your reservations early--you shouldn't miss this city and marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Harbor Springs Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Oct 13, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    This marina is slightly less expensive than Irish Boat Shop, which is next door. However, the city marina does not participate with the Michigan DNR reservation system. In fact, they don't take reservations other than on the day you want to arrive. Once there, you can extend you stay, but without a firm spot for your arrival, it's hard to plan to come to this place.

    No services are available. The facilities are minimal, but acceptable.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Irish Boat Shop - Harbor Springs

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Oct 13, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This company combines the best of two worlds - a high quality, experienced boat yard and a customer oriented marina staff. I have stored my 45 foot power boat in their heated building for the past two winters, so I have become familiar with their capabilities.

    Sailboats come from around the region for service here. This facility is the premier sail rigging and repair shop for hundreds of miles around. Their engine shop is also first class - the work they did for me was excellent and reasonably priced. They also did some fiberglass work at a cost less than heir initial estimate - and the work was flawless.

    They are building new bathrooms, laundry, and captains' lounge, even though their existing facilities are just fine. Some of the new building will be ready next summer.

    Harbor Springs is a fun community in which to spend a couple of days. The marina has free loaner bikes, and they will take you to the grocery store or Ace hardware store in their cars.

    You can't go wrong stopping here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Northport - G. Marsten Dame Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 14, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This should be a must-stop location. It's location at the top of the Leelanau Peninsula means that you will be passing close when traveling south along the eastern Lake Michigan shore.

    This fixed-dock basin has good electric, water, spotless bathrooms, wifi, abundant dock help, and laundry facilities ($3.00 gets you a key to the laundry room for all the washer/dryer loads you want!). The 'town' is only a couple of blocks long and wide but is untouched by the chain stores that you see in other towns. Try some donuts and sweet rolls at Barb's Bakery or a very nice dinner at the Garage Restaurant.

    There are concerts and movies in the park adjoining the marina on many nights during the summer.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Petoskey City Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 9, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    The location of this marina is ideal--two blocks from a bustling downtown, and next to a 25 miles bike trail along the bay. The dockhands are competent and willing to help; the power and water are good, the fixed docks are sturdy with good tie downs. The bathroom and shower facilities are excellent and kept very clean. Parking for cars is available next to the marina with a pass for your length of stay.

    What else do you want in a marina?

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Picton Harbour Inn & Lighthouse Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Sep 19, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is a review of the small marina at the Harbour Inn motel located at the end of the harbor. That marina, new for 2018, doesnt show on many maps/charts.

    The have 6 finger piers, some 30 feet and others only 20 feet long. Our 45 foot boat is the largest that will fit comfortably. 30 amp power. Water at the slips, clean bathrooms and showers. The main street of Picton is out the front door of the.motel. This is the best placde to stop if you want to walk the town. $1.65/ft in 2018

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Meldrum Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 19, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Easy docking on four long piers. Great help in docking. There's nothing special to the docks, but they are relatively new and nice. Electric is good. Bathrooms are adequate.

    The town is only one block long. The reason to come is for dinner at the Meldrum Bay Inn, just 100 yards from the marina. The fresh whitefish and trout are the best we've had on our entire trip. This alone is worth the stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Port of Little Current Downtown Docks

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 16, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    The dock wall is easy to get in and out, good electric and water, mediocfe wifi. The bathrooms (no shower) are left open to the public, so by mid-morning, they were filthy. The dockhands did not demonstrate the usual Canadian friendliness and welcoming--they seemed disinterested in doing anything for boaters. At $1.90 / ft in 2018, this marina was a disappointment.

    The town is two blocks long--cute--and there are two food stores with more than basics but not even close to the selection of a major super market. And the prices for most items are very high.

    Notwithstanding all these criticisms, I would stop in Little Current again, but probably investigate some of the other facilities in town.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Sportsman's Inn

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 14, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    There are slips on both sides of the canal. On the mainland side (by the lodge) the slips are older and narrower. On the George Island side, the slips look and feel new, with good electric and wide slips. i recommend staying on this side. The marina provides a water taxi to take you across the 200 yrd channel with merely a call on channel 68 or a phone call. No hassle all.

    They also have bicycles and water paddle boats free of charge for your use. In 2018, they charged $2/foot PLUS $30 for 50 amp service. A bit pricey, but not totally uncommon up here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Wye Heritage Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 11, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Huge marina next to nothing that you can walk to. But a 15 minute dinghy ride takes you to downtown Midland, where there isn't much to see.

    Wye Heritage is close to some interesting attractions, though. The Wye Marsh Raptor center is a $5 cab ride away, and is fascinating. Within walking distance of that is the Ste. Marie Among the hurons Village--nice for understanding the history of the area.

    The best part of this marina is Andy, a 75 year old customer service employee, who is outstanding at giving help with routes through Georgian Bay and Northern Channel. Andy has been in this area for 50 some odd years, and know the area well.

    He was a great help to us.

    The bathrooms here get a little messy late in the day, but overall, this is a good place to stop.

    They offer 'pay for two days and get the thrid day free' in 2018.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Big Sound Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 11, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    The slips are very wide, making docking easy.
    The location is perfect--immediately near the events arena, where they have a month-long music festival every year. You should try to attend one of these performance. The super-market no longer has a pick-up service, so if you need a full provisioning, you either take a $10 taxi ride, or walk the roughly 2 miles to the big store. Downtown is half-mile away, where there are some convenient stores fore milk, bread, and a few staples.

    For each four slips, they have only 2 50 amp plugs, but plenty of 30 plugs, so if you need a 50 amp, be sure to let them know so they can put you in the right place.

    Therea re two propane barbecues. The bathrooms are okay, but not like some of the newer marinas.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Old Mill Park/Campbellford Town Dock

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 23, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    There is room for about 15 40 ft boats on the west wall with 30 amp power pedestals widely spaced, and ten boats on rhe east wall with 30 and 50 amp pedestals. Aditionally, there is room for another ten boats without power north of the bridge.

    The power pedestals on the east wall look like small round garbage cans.....they are very hard to see.

    All bathrooms and showers are in the west side of the waterway.

    There is a super market, fantastic bakery, Doohers, two liquor stores and a dollar store in town all within a few blocks of the wall.

    Be sure to visit the Worlds Finest Chocolate outlet store, a half mile walk.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Bridge comment on Glen Ross Swing Bridge

    Comment by: Howard Entman on Jul 22, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'

    There is room for only two 40 ft boats on the blue line below the lock.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on Lock 6 Frankford

    Comment by: Howard Entman on Jul 22, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    There is 30 amp power above the lock with room for eight 40 ft. boats. Very convenient to town, with a super market and liquor store.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Trent Port Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 22, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Enough said! You won't find a nicer marina on the entire loop!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Horizon Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 16, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Quick easy refueling, at the lowest diesel price today in this area. You can stop at the town dock, immediately across the channel to clear customs by videophone if needed. At the base of the dock there is a small gazebo and office with the phone.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Gananoque Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 16, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Excellent docks, wifi, bathrooms and 30 amp electric. For large boats, the dock is pretty far away from land. In 2018 they were having very serious weed problems, with the wind blowing weeds into the boats. I was hesitant to run my a/c under those conditions.

    The main street is a short walk away, with several good restaurants. The Purple House Restaurant has excellent pizza, The Maple Leaf serves bavarian food, schnitzels, of all kinds, and Riva is a white table cloth european restaurant.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Marina 200

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 12, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    This is just a basin, well protected. The bathrooms and office are located at the far end of the entrance, and they seem to put the transients at the opposite end...maybe a quarter mile walk. No wifi.

    In the town there is a nice restaurant, Schnitzels, that serves a wide variety of food with nightly specials. There is also a small shopping center within walking distance with a large drug store.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Marina Valleyfield

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 12, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    This is a cute marina in a cute town with several nice restaurants within walking distance. The bathrooms are very nice, and there is good wifi.

    However, when I arrived in 20 knot winds, the senior dockhand was a 19 year old 100 pound lady who didn't know anything about handling lines. Their docks are floating wooden docks with multiple hinge points on the fingers. They would not tie the boat to the dock cleats, since the boat would pull the fingers apart.

    No marina should be staffed by kids who don't know how to handle boats; and no marina should be so poorly constructed that a boat can't spring off a dock cleat.

    So if you are in a small boat on a calm day, this would be an okay place to stop; but if you are in a larger boat, or the day is a little blustery, this is just not a good choice.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Le Chateau Montebello

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 6, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This marina/resort is 42 miles from Ottawa and 60 miles from Lachine, so it makes a nice stop when travelling the Ottawa River. The basin is very crowded, but there are ample dockhands. Power is both 30 amp and 60 amp at most slips and bulkheads. Wafer is good. Bathrooms are spotless. The daily rate in 2018 was 3.33 per foot, but that include 50 amp power.

    The hotel is a must-see. It is a giant three story log cabin, with several large meeting rooms, an in door and out side pool, several overpriced restaurants, and a "Greqt Gatsy" type tone. Unfortunately, the place seems a bit run down, and is not what you would expect from a member of the Fairmont chain.

    The restaurant food is overpriced and pedestian.. There are several restaurants in the village, a ten minute walk from the marina. Although I did not try any of these, they can't be much worse that the food--and are significantly less expensive.

    Having said all of the above, stop here for one night--you won't be sorry.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dows Lake Pavilion

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jun 26, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    This is the first two star rating I have ever written.

    This marina is located above 5 miles south of the Ottawa locks, about 1 mile south of the Pretoria Bridge (limited opening times). There are only two reasons to stop here: it's too late to get through the Pretoria bridge; or, you need fresh water before going to moor at the top of the Ottawa locks.

    If you are going to need fresh water on the way to Ottawa, you should consider stopping at Burritts Rapid lock and getting water there. Their water is well water, but I could not taste any sulfur in it at all. i filled my tank with no adverse effects.

    Dow Lake Marina charges $20 for a water fill up.

    The facility is in serious need of repair and sprucing up. Of greater significance, the dockhands are inexperienced in docking larger boats. They are a group of 'kids' hired for the summer. In any kind of wind, where a good dockhand could be invaluable, there is no help here.

    The marina is located at the foot of Preston Street which has several dozen little Italian restaurants. This area dates from the 1930's, and is very cute. But there are also many Italian restaurants within walking distance of the Ottawa mooring at the locks, so a need for an 'italian-food-fix' is not a reason to stop here.

    in short, there sholud be no need to stop here. At $2/foot (additional $20 for 50 amp), it's just not worth it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on Locks 44, 43 Upper Brewers

    Comment by: Howard Entman on Jun 23, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    New docks in 2018. Good 30 amp power above the upper Brewers Lock.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Free Dock Review for Oswego Canal - Between Locks 7 & 8

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jun 11, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    There is 300 feet of good wall, with another 150 of 'bad' wall on the northern edge. There is no wifi available, but if you ask nicely at the Quality Inn about 1/4 mile away, they will give you their wifi password which is good in their lobby. The downtown is less than 1/2 mile away, across a bridge, and has several restaurants and stores, including a very good book store.In the other direction from the wall, there is a very interesting museum, "Safe Haven" which does an excellent job of describing the internment camp in Oswego during WWII. I highly recommend this visit (I am not usually a museum lover).

    The downsides of staying on the wall are the lack of power and water; and the fact that you cannot leave to go north into Lake Ontario until the lock opens in the morning. If you need an early departure, then there are two marinas on the other side of lock 8, just 1/4 mile north of the wall.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Brewerton Boat Yard LLC

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jun 11, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This is a small working boat yard, not a luxury marina. There are no showers or laundry. They offer ValveTec fuel with plenty of water at the fuel dock. Their parts inventory is extensive.

    Wayne Carroll, the proprietor/head mechanic has decades of experience working on boats--he is an outstanding diagnostician, and with his small team, can get any in-water mechanical job done quickly and correctly. You can walk to several restaurants from the marina. This is a laid-back facility without the commotion that you might find at other boat yards.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Kentucky Dam Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on May 16, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 15.0'

    Rating: 2

    This is a logical stopping point above the dam, although there are other marinas nearby.

    I was very disappointed on my recent visit. The dockhands seemed inexperienced. There were no incidents, but they needed direction on how to handle the lines. Also, of major concern, two out of three of their fuel pumps were not working. They said that they had been having problems with them for some time, but "I guess they came out to look at them but left before they fixed them". This can be a real issue if you need fuel for the further journey north or south.

    The docks are good floating docks, good power, good wifi. Before I go back to this facility, I would certainly call them to check on the status of their fuel pumps.

    The Paducah city dock is 10 or so miles below the dam on the Ohio River and is another alternative for boaters passing through the area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Columbus Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on May 16, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 15.0'

    Rating: 3

    This marina has fallen into disrepair over the past few years. The restaurant on site has been closed for the past few years. There are some restaurants a mile or so away.

    The major problem is the shoaing of the entrance channel, especially around the main dock. The entry is marked by several markers that are not very easy to see. The depth just off the main dock is no more than 6 feet, with even less water as you get twenty feet off the dock. I understand that they recently hired a new manager to try to get more business for the marina.

    I would not recommend coming into this marina in the dark and without contact with somebody on shore who can give directions through the markers.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Kingfisher Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on May 16, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 15.0'

    Rating: 4

    Nice new docks, good power, good wifi, courtesy car. If you are passing through the area going north or south, this is a logical stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dog River Marina and Boat Works Inc.

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on May 16, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 15.0'

    Rating: 4

    This facility is not a luxury marina--it is a working boat yard. It is the place to go if you need any sort of work done on your boat. The personnel are experienced, the pricing is reasonable, and they're able to handle any job expeditiously.

    They have a courtesy car. Major shopping areas including food stores and Walmart are five miles away. There is a West Marine store on site.

    The docks are fixed wooden docks. Dockhands are experienced. Power is good, as is the wifi. The entrance channel off of Mobile Bay can be a bit challenging in a brisk wind since the markers are a bit far apart for my taste, but I have never gone out of the channel on the many times I've stayed at this marina.

    There is also a yacht club, with a good restaurant, on the property, with dozens of restaurants within a ten minute drive in the courtesy car.

    This is the place to stay in the Mobile area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Navy Point Marine

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Apr 26, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    The approach is uncomplicated. The small town is pleasant, with several nice restaurants. Docking is slightly difficult for a larger boat, however. The fairways between the piers are narrow (around 45 feet), and the slip widths are also narrow. So if your boat is long and wide, you might have difficulty, as I did, on backing into one of the slips on the first three piers. The solution is to go to the fourth pier, where there is about 150 feet of side-to docking. There are also three T heads. Electric power is good. Wifi is good.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for JP's Marine

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Sep 20, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    After visiting Boldt Castle, we spent one night at JP Marine. The service was excellent. We had a minor electrical issue with our instruments. Jim, the proprietor, had one of his mechanics on the boat within 15 minutes, and the problem was solved less than half an hour later. I had some other work that I would have liked them to do--and they said they could do it the next day--but we had to move on to keep a schedule. However, if I had the time I would definitely have had them do the work.

    The facility is small, and dock space is limited. But Jim and his crew are so very accommodating that the lack of resort amenities is easily surpassed by their good will.

    They charge $1.50/ft, which includes electricity. The city dock charges the same amount with no power or water. So the price is right!

    The facility is located in the southernmost entrance of the Alexandria Bay peninsula. Take the first left turn into the channel that runs alongside the public docks. We found 8 feet of water all the way (100 yards) to their fuel dock.

    Since space is limited, be sure to call to make reservations if you're planning to stay there.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Winter Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 17, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is the cleanest, most attractive, friendliest, and most satisfying boat yard/marina that I've seen on my trip.

    The docks are fixed wooden docks with full aprons, so setting fenders is easy. The docks are in excellent shape. The electric is good. The dock staff is competent and willing to help. The bathrooms are spotless. The wifi is excellent, even far out on the dock. The office staff, Leslie and Maureen, along with the owner, Tom, are friendly and willing to help.

    What else can you ask for?

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Riverside Marina & Storage

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 14, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 1

    We did not stop here.

    The wooden wall fenders are falling apart. You would so some serious damage to your boat by trying to tie up here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Utica Historic Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 14, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    This review is for the Aqua Vino Restaurant wall in Utica.

    There are two sections of this wall--a high ( I do mean high) wall with 50 amp power, and a floating dock with 30 amp power. The high wall is about 200 feet long, and the floater is about 100 feet long.

    The price is $1/ft with electric included.

    The wifi is excellent. There are no showers, presumably you can use the restaurant bathrooms when they are open.

    The restaurant is very good, with entrees in the $22 range.

    A nice place to stop--nice people. However, if you are going to stop and use he high wall, call ahead so somebody can grab a line for you.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Little Falls Canal Harbor and Rotary Park

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 12, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    There are floating docks with 30 amp power, and a huge wall with 50 amp power. The high wall might be difficult for smaller trawler type boats, but was just fine for our motor yacht. The town is very cute and alive. This is not what we have seen in other canal towns. We ate at the Copper Moose Ale House downtown (a 20 minute walk) and it very good.

    I strongly recommend this stop

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Free Dock Review for Waterford Harbor Visitor Center

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 6, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Free!!!

    Excellent floating docks, good electric (free), and even a usable wifi that doesn't need a password.

    What else is there!!!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 5, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This place was fabulous! 5 starts doesn't do it justice.

    The docks are in great shape, the wifi is excellent, and the power is good. Of special importance is the dockmaster, Keith. He is super knowledgeable about everything marine, and is always willing to help. I needed some diesel fuel in a can to use changing my Racor filters, and he drove to the gas station to pick some up for me. What service!!!

    We docked on the outside dock, and there was an occasional wake from passing barges, but it was just fine for us in a 45 foot boat.

    We will definitely stop here again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 5, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    The town is very nice; a 20 minute walk from the marina. There are several restaurants--we at the diner--it was great.

    However.....

    The wifi at the marina was poor to non-existent. The docks were covered with duck droppings until I hosed them off in the morning.

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Marina Response:
      AUG. 6, 2017 Half Moon Bay now has a completely new, UPGRADED WiFi system that works wonderfully. ( reviewer stayed one week prior to our upgrade) We are very sorry our dockhands hadn't swept up after the birds before you pulled in at 7am. **We now have extra staff that will clean docks perfectly clean before 7am each morning.

      Half Moon Bay Marina Management

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Great Kills Yacht Club-PRIVATE

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 27, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is a very protected harbor.

    The wifi is a bit weak, but it is usable. That is the only negative.

    John is the biggest positive. He is the friendliest marina-guy we have met, even though he is not an employee--just a club member. In fact, all the folks we met at the dock were great; friendly and very anxious to be of help.

    The docks are floating, the electric is good. There are several restaurants within 1/4 mile. The bus to NYC stops 1/2 mile away. The train to the Staten Island ferry is about 1 mile away, but John will gladly give you a ride to the station.

    The club has a clubhouse with a bar. Tap beer is $2, and well drinks are $3. What a deal!!

    We will definitely stop here again. You shouldn't miss this place.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Farley State Marina at Golden Nugget Casino & Hotel

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 27, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Super marina EXCEP, the wifi is awful. In today's 'connected environment', it is very disappointing not to be able to get a good signal.

    Other than that, this marina is super.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Hoffman's Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 27, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Strong currents. Competent, helpful dock hands that made docking easy. Good electric. Nice pool. Free laundromat. Two restaurants on premises.

    However, the T-heads are fixed docks. There is a 7 foot tide. At low tide, we could get off the boat amidship, but at high tide, we were 6 feet above the dock. Fortunately, we hand a step ladder that made entry and leaving precarious, but possible. Be aware of this if you are going to use the T-head.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Utsch's Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 27, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    The folks here are great; they guided us into the marina and away from the shoal that we were about to enter. They have a 'family' touch that always makes a business just a bit nicer. However, there are some negatives:

    The wifi is poor. You MUST pull into the slip bow first, meaning that if you come and go from your swim platform, you will have to find a different way, since the finger piers are only about 40 feet long. They have some wooden platforms so you can disembark midship, but they weren't tall enough for my boat. It was difficult!

    The water spigot is located at the bulkhead. Our 50 foot hose was about ten feet short of our water inlet. Fortunately, I had an extra 50 foot hose on board. This is the first time I had to get the extra hose out of storage.

    Even with these negatives, we'll stay here again (unless they won't let us in because of this review).

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Rock Hall Landing Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 22, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Spent three nights here. They give the third weekday night free if you pay for two nights!

    Knowledgeable pleasant dock hands and office folks, loaner and rental bikes, nice swimming pool, good electric, very good wifi.

    Cute town with a $1 tram service that will take you where you want to go. A very good restaurant, more like a diner, is Fords Seafood restaurant, on the edge of town but within the tram ride. Prices are downright low, and the food was great. Don't believe trip advisor in Rock Hall--they are way off base!!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Waterman's Crab House

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 22, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 1

    When I made reservations for a slip here, I asked very clearly whether or not they had 50 amp power. I was assured that they did.

    I called three times after the initial call, and was continually assured that they had 50 amps.

    As we got close to Rock Hall, I called again asking forf docking instructions, and was told to call therir dockmaster, who i had been trying to call for the past hour, with no success. When we arrived at the the basin, two waitresses came out to try to help us dock, but they had no idea where we were supposed to put the boat. Ten minutes later, the dockmaster showed up and told us they didn't have 50 amp service.

    We never docked there--we went 100 yards down the channel to another marina.

    I won't stay in such an unprofessional marina. Besides, the docks looked awful!!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Delaware City Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 22, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    My marina star ratings are based on what it is I am expecting and wanting from a specific marina. If the marfina advertising talks aboutg a spa-like facility with swimming pools, tennis courts, courtesy cars, and tiki bars, then that is what I am expecting.

    However, most often what i want is a safe place to tie up my boar, manned by knowledgeable dock folks, who are pleasant and helpful when needed.

    That is why I have given this marina a 5 star rating.

    It is not a luxury facility. Some might say it is bare-bones. But their instructions as to how to enter their creek, how to prepare the lines for this narrow channel, and the dockhands expert knowledge of how to turn around a 45 foot boat in a 65 foot wide channel were excellent. When in the office, everfy one was pleasant and helpful, talking proudly about their small town.

    The electric service was good, and the wifi worked. Even though there was a strong current in the creek, the boat was secure. Tim, the owner, asked us when we were leaving, and was willing to have a dockhand available no matter what time we wanted out.

    I would definitely come back here again

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 19, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Floating transient docks are new with good power. However, the wifi there is awful. Also, the courtesy car was not available, and from other boater comments, hasn't been in service for some time. This is a major defect for a facility that is 'out of the way'.

    If you want to be elbow to elbow with lots of tourists, then this is not the place for you. But it is just a five minugte dinghy ride from here to 'the action'.

    We enjoyed this marina, but really hope get their courtesy car back and fix their wifi.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Urbanna Town Marina at Upton's Point

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 15, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    If you're looking for a marina with a pool and a tiki bar, this is not the place for you. However if you're looking for a marina that's a couple of hundred yards away from the downtown of a charming, friendly and historic city, then this is worth a few nights stay.

    Ubanna is the home of the John Mitchell map. The map is in the visitor center/museum that's 100 yards from the docks. If you haven't heard of this map or of John Mitchell, google him. This is a must see if you have any interest in early America.

    Three are several 250 year old houses being lived-in today, one of therm by the same family that buiil the house in the mid 1700's.



    All of the people we met here were more than friendly. I needed a part from the hardware store three miles away, so the dockmaster drove me there in her own car.

    Local boaters kept offering us rides to town even though it was only 200 yards away because the temps were in the 90's.

    All in all, tthis is a town that should hot be missed.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Docks at Downtown Hampton

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 11, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    If you want a luxury marina with a swimming pool, this is not the place for you. However, if you are a self-sufficient cruiser, and want a sturdy floating dock within walking distance of the entire downtown, you ought to stay here. The wi-fi is the best we have encountefred so far. There is an Enterprise car rental less than half a block away. The electricity is good. If you stop in Hampton, I recommend the Venture restaurant downtown. It has a diverse menu, the most expensive entree was $18 (sauteed scallops--delicious), and delicious creme broulee.

    Another attraction not to miss is the Mariners Museum in Newport News. This means that you have to rent a car for the day, but the museum only charfges a $1 admission fee, so it's worth it. This museum specializes in the revolutionary war, and is the best maritime museum we have seen on this entire trip.

    Another not-to-miss attraction is the museum at Hampton University, immediately across the river from the marina. You can walk to this museum, or take the free loaner bikes from the marina. This is free, exceptionally well done, and a pleasant place to visit.

    We will definitely be coming back here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Waterside Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Jul 6, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    We have showers and heads on board, so we didn't use their facilities.

    We docked on the bulkhead near the bandstand. There were two dockhands waiting for us. They were professional and abolutely knew what they were doing. The power and water pedestal was within five feet of our boat.

    The area around the marina is 'electrifying'. It is vibrant, alive with activity during most of the day and evening. There is a major indoor shopping mall less than half mile away, and literally dozens of independent restaurants on Granby Street. There are museums and naval-oriented historical sights within walking distance.

    This should be a must-stop for any boater going through the area. We will be back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer