Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Ronald A Widman (7)


  • Marina Review for Monroe Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Ronald A Widman , HIGH COTTON, on Oct 27, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 28'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 4

    We stayed here recently for the third time. This is the end of the line for the St. Johns River.

    The docks are floating concrete in decent shape. We didn't see a lot of the staff this time because of Covid, but in the past they have been friendly and helpful.

    As someone mentioned, the shower and head arrangement is a bit less than ideal because they are in a separate building outside of the fenced in docks and once you walk there, you may find that someone is in the facility and has locked the door. Maintenance in the head area could be a bit better.

    Sanford is a very nice town and the downtown area has been restored and is vibrant and full of life. There is an excellent German Restaurant that is almost worth the trip up river. There is also a small grocery store within walking distance.

    I should also say, dockage is very inexpensive and a lot of people store their boats there so be sure and call to make sure they have room.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Georgetown Marina, Lodge & RV Park

    Reviewed by: Ronald A Widman , HIGH COTTON, on Oct 27, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 28'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 4

    Recently we stayed here for the third time. This place is a bit "rustic", but it meets our needs and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They used to sell diesel but the pumps were damaged in the last hurricane and they chose not to fix them.

    It's as much of an RV park as a marina but that just makes for more friendly folks. On one of our past visits, the people were cleaning fish they had caught and offered us some.

    There are no stores or restaurants around for miles. This is the "boondocks".

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Ortega River Marina

    Reviewed by: Ronald A Widman , HIGH COTTON, on Oct 27, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 28'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    This is a great find. We chose this marina because the Marina at Ortega Landing was not taking transients because of Covid. It was a good choice.

    We asked for a slip close to the dock because I had a medical issue with my leg and it was painful to walk. Not only did we get the closest slip to land, but Paul drove us to the emergency room.

    The docks are floating concrete, the heads and showers are nearly new and very clean. Their is a nice small pool and a picnic area.

    Publix, CVS and several restaurants and other services are a short walk away. We both got haircuts and our nails done.

    All the staff and the other boaters were very friendly and helpful.

    This place is a gem.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Mandarin Holiday Marina

    Reviewed by: Ronald A Widman , HIGH COTTON, on Oct 27, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 28'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 3

    We stopped here for diesel fuel. We backed into the fuel dock and the attendant gave us the nozzle. Then he found the pump didn't work. After calling several different people over to try to repair it, they told us they couldn't fix it and would have to call in outside help.

    We left and headed for Doctor's Lake Marina. On a hunch we called them on the phone and their pumps were down as well.

    We called back to Mandarin Holiday Marina to ask about other places to buy diesel and they suggested that we come back as they had people on the way to fix the pumps.

    We did and after we docked we walked to the nearby restaurant for lunch.

    To make a long story short, it was 4:00 PM by the time the pump was fixed. We got our fuel and asked if we could spend the night. They offered us a slip with power for free and we took it. We thought that was pretty nice.

    The marina itself seems to be more for locals and a few liveaboards. It's a bit run down and there are no showers, but everyone we met was extremely nice and helpful. This is also a boatyard and they were bottom painting boats.

    There is also a grocery store and more restaurants within a short walk.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Welaka City Dock-Bryant's Wharf

    Reviewed by: Ronald A Widman , HIGH COTTON, on Oct 27, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 28'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    It's a free, unattended floating dock provided by the city. Several slips. It is in good shape.

    We have stopped twice over the years and walked to the "Shrimp are Us" restaurant for lunch.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for St. Johns Yacht Harbor

    Reviewed by: Ronald A Widman , HIGH COTTON, on Jan 15, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 28'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    This has been our home marina since Feb 2018. It's a great place with a helpful and friendly staff. The docks are in good condition, the electrical power is fine and the WiFi is strong on the docks. The heads and showers are luxurious and there are plenty of them, no waiting. There's a nice swimming pool, open in warm weather. There's nothing within a reasonable walking distance but there's a courtesy car for transients. A grocery store and home center are about two miles away, as are several restaurants. Fuel prices are competitive.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dataw Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Ronald A Widman , HIGH COTTON, on Apr 18, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 28'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    This is a beautiful marina on a beautiful gated island. There's a nice restaurant and you can rent a golf cart and tour the island. The showers and restrooms are nice and clean.

    Unfortunately, Hurricane Mathew pretty much destroyed the marina and as of this date (April, 2017) it is not back in service yet so you can't go there. They do (did) have diesel fuel and I suspect gasoline.

    The five stars are from before the storm and I expect they will be as good once they reopen.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer