Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from John Rockwell (62)


  • Bridge comment on Brielle Railroad Bridge

    Comment by: John Rockwell on May 12, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Check the inbound and outbound schedule for Point Pleasant Station to get an idea about the trains using the bridge.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Toms River - Cocktail Cove

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 12, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    3
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    4
    Wake Protection:
    2
    Scenic Beauty:
    3
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Pet Friendly:
    1
    Cell Service:
    3
    WiFi:
    1

    Check the forecast the next moring to insure wind does not switch to NE overnight. If it does it will be blowing you onto the lee shore.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for North Point Marina Rock Hall

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 5, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    You can't see the gas dock from the water, so call for directions. I have a single screw boat with no bow thruster and could get in and out of the gas dock , just go slow. Had great help with the lines, and the staff was very nice. Facility is in good shape.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Calvert Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 5, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Well, easy to get into, power worked, nice floating dock. A short walk to off site eats. Wifi let me upload all my app updates, chart updates and stream Netflix. Ospreys everywhere, and the price was right. Great transient spot. If you want to get to town use the money you save on dockage to get an Uber.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Norview Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 5, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    So I needed two things: wifi and a floating dock. Checked the Waterway Guide, and this place seemed to fit. Arrived and no floating dock for cruisers and a wifi signal that could not reach the transient spot with any bandwidth. So zero on both counts. This is not a comment on the repair facilities, the staff, or the full season rental slips (actually the covered ones looked nice). BTW, the dock decking could use some work (nails here and there sticking up)

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Holden Beach Transient Dock

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 28, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This is a 90 foot long floating dock. The approach is easy, just come in against the tide or wind as need be. The dock is in good shape and the price is right for what you get. The online payment system was pretty easy. But don’t rely on the “WiFi”. (I could never could pick it up.) There is at least 6 feet of water at low tide. The dock isn’t really near anything, so this is not really a reprovision stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Harborwalk Marina, Georgetown SC

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 26, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    What Bob said plus the new dock is in and A++ for that. It’s just that smell from International Paper when the wind is right that prevents a five star review. (But if you want to visit Georgetown and have a great lunch at Graham’s Landing on Front Street, the this is the place to be.j

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Skull Creek Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 26, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    WiFi was great.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on SC: Ashepoo Coosaw Cutoff, nav aid missing

    Comment by: John Rockwell on Apr 26, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Still missing, April 24, 2019

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Green Cove Springs City Pier

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Jan 15, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Not designed for the larger cruiser. The slips are 12 feet wide. The outside slip on the south side is 60 feet long. If you can fit in a slip, please do so as some of us need that space on the end. The Green Cove Spring park is a great local amenity and the best thing about the stop. A bar and coffee shop are within a short walk. The dock is in very good condition.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Northbank Riverwalk-Jacksonville Landing-CLOSED

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Jan 15, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Well it's free and there is a lot of stuff right there, if that's your thing. There was damage from Hurricane Matthew that has yet to be repaired and sections of this long floating dock have signage and fencing to indicate it should not be used. You'll need your fenders and spring lines. The current can get up to 4 kts.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Metropolitan Park Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Jan 15, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Free dock with electric and water. Currents can be strong. Don't make the rookie error of assuming slack tide and the bottom of low (or top of high) are the same thing. If the current is a problem tie alongside the outside and wait for slack. This place is in the middle of nowhere. If you are headed south on the St. John's this spot is nice as you can see if the RR bridge is up from the marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Jim King Park and Boat Ramp at Sisters Creek Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Jan 15, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Solid free dock on and just off ICW. The floating docks are at the boat ramp on Sisters Creek and just north on a side creek. Can be a strong current at the dock(s) so pay attention. The pumpout station is inoperable as of 1/14/19.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Town of Chesapeake City Docks

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Easy on-off to the canal, side tie up, has water and electricity at a small fee. Town is nice for a walk.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Higgins Yacht Yard

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Well protected, solid docks (fixed). Great location in a great town. Nice folks. A working boatyard (which I am partial to). No pump-out service available. And the wifi is poor and is not usable. If the wifi worked, I'd give it 5 stars

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Smith Island Marina-CLOSED

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    You can go by this place and not see it as most of the slips are filled with local smaller craft. (I did go by at night - not recommended - and not see it.) You have to go in side to the current. Can be tricky for some if the wind and current are pushing in the same direction. Place is dead in November.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Chesapeake Boat Basin

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    I was stuck here due to strong winds in the bay. A lucky stroke. They do mostly year round dockage, so call ahead.

    The docks are in tip top condition. There is nothing at the marina. But there is a loaner car. In town I did the Post Office, laundromat, the grocery that had fresh large lump crab meat, fresh oysters by the box, and fresh stripper. Also a ton of micro-brews. Then there is Lee's. They have fresh pies. I had the apple pie. The filling was not canned.

    And the wifi was great.

    An odd thing though, you don't get help at the dock. ( not that I needed it, but...) But the pie at Lee's outweigh this.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Free Dock Review for North Harbor

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    There is more space here than is being presented in the blogs. The far NW corner has space, but it is not easy to maneuver into the dock. But it is free and protected - also a prime location.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Midway Marina & Motel

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Place still for sale, but open. Call ahead during the migration as both sides fill up. The dock has seen better days but is serviceable. They said they had wifi but I could not find it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Blackwell Point Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    If you like being in a small out of the way place, This is it. Very well protected. Good wifi signal. Call ahead is a must.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Low key (read the other reviews), good internet, walk to grocery. I called the phone # in Waterway Guide to make a reservation. This place is small and can fill up quickly.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Myrtle Beach Yacht Club

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    I stopped here for fuel, water and overnight during the November migration. The spot is super protected. The wifi was able to provide a decent stream. Is there any more one wants after a gusty day?

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Georgetown Dry Stack Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    No real amenities here, the ambiance is more of a fishing spot marina. The dockhands were great. The wifi as good. The town is a stopover playground. Great walks and places to eat or buy some fresh seafood. This spot is on my list.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for St. Johns Yacht Harbor

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Laundry was reasonably priced, (unlike some, it's not a profit center for them). Got fuel, pump-out and overnight. Was on the fuel dock as It was blowing a little that day and I think they were not sure what was able to do. It made for easy in and out in despite of the current.

    Wifi was great (although I was parked under the office, so I can't say what it ids like at outer dock.)

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Ross Marine

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    The rating is not important as I did not stay there. I called on 11-14-18, they do not take transients.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    A mixed review. When I called ahead they asked if I was sail or power, had a single or twin screw. That mean's they are paying attention to where they can put you and are thinking about the boat capabilities.+1.

    When I came in, the dock guy could not understand the concept of making a spring line fast to the dock (important as the current is strong and the spring line makes docking simple.) -1.

    The main dock is worn out. -1.

    Downtown Beaufort. +2.

    Heminway's Bistro. It's a dive bar with the best lunch in town. Just a few steps away. +1.

    The wifi. I could walk a message faster. -1.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Isle of Hope Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Was here on 11-16-2018, as a repeat of last year's stop. Based on Wifi, I think the rating should be a 5!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Dolbow Island

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    4
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Pet Friendly:
    1
    Cell Service:
    3
    WiFi:
    1

    Beautiful Spot. Was able to access cell service for wifi puck. Just off the magenta line with no early morning fishing boat traffic. Was there on November 17, 2018. There was a light breeze from the north.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Norwalk Cove Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Oct 27, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Service was great. If you come in late just tie to the gas dock. buy some fuel in the morning then take off to be out of the refueling way, and they won't likely charge for dockage. Or stay for a few days, they'll find you a slip. Good crew there. There is a pump-out station at the fuel dock. The location is surprisingly sheltered due to the breakwater. There is a nice fleet of old wooden oyster draggers that work out of Norwalk, so take a moment to appreciate the maritime heritage that is still alive there.

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Complimentary yet rated as a 1. Inquiry to reviewer.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Guilford Yacht Club

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Oct 27, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This place is in first class condition. Also very well protected. I'm a transient, but I talked to some of the season berth folks and they love it.

    Only caution is water depth, call Scott ahead of time as the channel in has some skinny spots. You can walk to town, and town is worth walking to. Restaurants, coffee shops, museums, town green, hardware store, book store, etc. I'll be back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Brown's Boat Yard

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Oct 27, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    If you are looking for a transit berth, better call ahead as this is a working boatyard and they may be full. The fuel dock isn't that big so if someone is there you may have to wait in the stream. Also read the comments about the approach depth. Don't try this if you draw 4 feet and it's low tide; however the private aids are numerous and the channel is well marked.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Point Judith Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Oct 27, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Had to get out of the stink in RI sound, this was perfect. Easy to get to, well marked channel all the way to the marina. Anne was very accommodating.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Crystal Point

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    Negative: I like the picture of the pool in their ad. There is no pool at this marina. This marina costs more than the other competitors. The fuel costs are very high. And there is only one really usable transient spot (due to draft issue) but they won't let you reserve it on-line if you draw more than 3 feet. Best to call the able dockmaster, but they don't list his number and he cannot access the messages left on the answering machine. There is nothing nearby.

    Positive: The fuel dock is self-serve (like your gas station) and open 24 hours a day. The T-head dock just south of the fuel dock has two spots, the northern end a transient spot. It's the only spot that is a floating T- head in the Inlet, so there is that.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Morrison's Beach Haven Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    When your spouse is biting your ear because it's too late to be on the water, the tie-alongside gas dock served its purpose..Otherwise meh. Shoved a check in the door and off in the AM. Sort of a concrete jungle.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Historic Gardner's Basin

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    I had to wait for the tide to rise to get through the NJ ICW. I was able to wait here for free, get a nice lunch and take a nap. If you go into the basin to turn around, watch your depth on the south side.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Kammerman's Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Stacy gets 5 stars but the fixed gas dock that was eight feet in the air gets 1.( I had to climb to my upper deck so I could get onto the dock.) But since I use Atlantic City as a '"wait for favorable tide place, I'll get fuel here again. So location gets 5

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Avalon Marine Center

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This is right on the ICW. I came in and left early, so there was no staff interaction. Tons of new pilings for dock repairs. The facility is in good shape and the price is reasonable. Rating is based on the physical condition of the facility

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Hancock Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on May 4, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    For the Delaware Bay/River run from Cape May to the C&D canal, this is really your only real alternative. This is a working boatyard with floating docks parallel to the stream of the river. (Be advised that early migrators should check to see if the docks are in if planning on landing here before May 1. Due to the strong current and ice all the pilings holding the floating docks are reset each year. I arrived on April 20th, and only a few pilings had been set.) There is deep water all the way to the docks. The owner took me in from a stormy Delaware even though he was not yet open. Provided me with laundry (no charge) electricity and water. I was out of food so the owner arranged a ride for me to the nearest grocery (nothing except the Baitbox restaurant is within walking distance). The owner went out of his way to take care of me. The current is strong here so plan on going into the docks against the current, there is plenty of turning room. The spot is peaceful and low key. Looking forward to a return trip. Wifi could have been stronger - only minus (Weak wifi true of most spots)

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Wells Cove Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 29, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    This is a good example of the difference between the needs of transient vs. resident dockage. As a transient I don't need to be next to a bar that has loud live music. I don't need to be given a slip underneath the Hilton Hotel with the 24 hour a day lights glaring in my window. I don't need to be directed to a back-in slip with adverse wind conditions. I didn't really need or use the week wifi.

    But I got all that on April 22, plus a full season fee of $3/ft.

    At least the floating docks are in good condition.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Smith Point Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 29, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    I came in here late. This is a curious approach, so I called and the owners could see out their window and gave me good directions. A boat after me came in later and left early. The owner was there both times to help with the lines.

    Good spot for the semiannual migration as you don't have to take a lot off time to get back to your north-south route.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Horn Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 29, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Peaceful, scenic and serene. A restful must stop after grinding up or down the Chesapeake on the semiannual migration. This is in the middle of nowhere - isn't that why we go boating?

    If I lived in Virginia, I would definitely keep my boat here. Covered slips away from the madding crowd. This spot is really, really protected from all wind and waves. When you wake up and hear the wind at your house in Silver Springs and think "Wow, it must really be blowing on the Bay," you'll go right back to sleep not worrying about your boat - this place is sheltered.

    Going in at low tide is OK for 4 foot drafts and less. (Ignore the white PVC posts - they mark oyster grounds.) Watch the depth finder and follow the Nav markers. There is plenty of deep water at the marina.

    The owner is a super guy!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Tidewater Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 29, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Yes poor wifi, and the fairways are tight. But if you arrive late after hours look for a spot on the windward side of the westernmost finger pier. Just zip in against the wind, and hit reverse, no tricky maneuvering.

    My 30 amp power was good. Staff was personable. Docks in good shape.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Portsmouth Boating Center

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 29, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    This is mostly a repair yard. This is a very well protected area up Scott's Creek. It is however open to a stiff northwest breeze that could pin a single screw boat to the gas dock. Use of a spring line solves the problem, so brush up on spring line theory.

    These are fixed piers with back in slips. Get your lines ready and its manageable for a first timer with a south wind..

    Problems with a northerly -- The gas dock fender pilings have rubber fenders that do not go down to the water at low tide. If you have a low rail, your rail is hitting the pilings but the fender system is sticking out another six inches (in my case it resulted in my hand rail beating against the dock taking the force of the NW breeze.)

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Second sentence???

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Belhaven Town Docks At Wynne's Gut

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 26, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Ideal location to town amenities. There is a hardware store and about 6 places to eat within walking distance. (Although a hike to the nearest grocery -Food Lion.)

    This is a small confined basin that is protected from all weather. But.. if it's blowing hard from the south you want to make sure there is space before you go in there. Plan on tying up starboard side to the first dock (the one with the railing and the pump-out) to check out the basin for available space. If you have a single screw and you get down into the basin with a stiff southerly you might have a problem if there is no place to tie up.

    The fixed docks are in great condition, have ladders and cleats on the pilings to make things easy. The pump-out requires a $5 coin available from town hall or the hardware store across the street.

    (Note: other boater review refers to adjacent private marina - this one is not attended, there is no service)

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Bridge comment on Deep Creek (U.S. 17) Bridge

    Comment by: John Rockwell on Apr 25, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    If you are northbound, and there is southbound traffic, the bridge will open after the locks let out the southbound traffic. For example the 3:30 lock opening means the bridge opens around 3:50. Make sure you call to get an estimate of opening time from the lock operator.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Free Dock Review for Deep Creek Bulkhead

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 25, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Lousy ambiance. But it's one of the only places on the ICW with a grocery store (Food Lion) and auto parts store (Auto Zone) across the street. Plan on arriving before the bridge opening to take advantage of this stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on NC: Pasquotank River, Turner's Cut, hazard to navigation

    Comment by: John Rockwell on Apr 25, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Seen at mile 40.3, sticking up about 6-8 inches. Not in channel, on south side. This is more likely a snag slowly moving downstream than a pile.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on NC: Pasquotank River, hazard to navigation

    Comment by: John Rockwell on Apr 25, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    This was viewed just inside of marker #16 on April 19, 2018. Pokes up about 6-8 inches. More likely a snag working it's way downstream.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Lambs Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 25, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Well protected spot to start or end the Dismal Swamp route. Charming staff and low key marina. Diesel and non-ethanol gas.

    Fixed pier, but no real tide, current or wind here, so it's an easy tie up. Good Wifi

    Restaurant is closed, but one is across the street (more of less).

    Price was right.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for R. E. Mayo Seafood Marine Supply

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 24, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    This is a commercial fish dock. The price is right. If you are making 7 knots and hit this spot at 5 pm, you are aware that there are not a lot of choices and are glad this dock has space.

    If it it blowing 55, you won't notice ( at least I didn't) - very protected.

    Folks are very friendly. The store is sort of cross between New Bedford Ship Supply and West Marine without the bathing suits. Then there is the fish.

    Drawbacks: This is a commercial wharf. Forget the electricity. Outlets dead or had bad ground. No heads. No Wifi, no Verizon service, no AT&T service

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 24, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    These folks really try hard, and it shows. Free laundry. Showers clean. Free golf carts to g to town. Town has wide range of places to eat, and a hardware store. Food lion is too far to walk, but then you have that golf cart. Wifi signal was good enough for streaming. Dockside crew was very helpful in docking.

    I will make this town a must stop.

    Downside: Blowing like stink from the southwest makes this a tough spot to get into if you have a single screw. Coming in with the wind ripping SW made me chose the windward side of the dock as the leeward side felt a little too tight for the big circles I make when turning. Twin Screws would be no problem. I used 6 fenders on a windy 2 night stay and was ok once at the dock.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Belhaven Cooperage Town Docks

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 24, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Well it's free. Ideal use of this dock is to hang on a hook in the harbor until you have a north wind and need groceries. Then its a short hike to the Food Lion.

    This is a new fixed dock with no services. Would not want to try to dock here is a brisk south breeze in a single screw boat (unless you do that often).

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Church St. Town Dock

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 24, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This dock is perfectly located on the ICW in the heart of Swansboro.

    Very reasonable pricewise. Check out the town website for the dock.

    New dock, everything works.

    If you have a single screw - The current can be a challenge as there is usually no dockside docking assistance, and there is a current. Tie up on the face dock if you are worried. Just take a few passes to practice, really its not that hard. (Come into the dock against the current)

    This is a great spot to go out to eat, quite a few places within a short walk.

    Take a taxi, $7, to the Piggly Wiggly for provisions.

    No Wifi. But then, they don't promise one.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Southport Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 24, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Yes this place costs more (but not outrageous). But the location can't be beat if you want to see Southport, or just eat out.

    If you arrive when the dock crew is there, you are in luck as the guys are the best and very skilled. They try to leave the south facing open till the last as it is easiest to get into unassisted if the dock crew have gone home. This spot can be a little rocky as it is open to the ICW and the south breeze, so use use a few extra bumpers for a peaceful night.

    The laundry was clean and working. Wifi at the end of the dock was weak, but OK up by the laundry (if you want to stream a movie while the cloths cycle through the wash.)

    Wifi strength was only complaint.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Wacca Wache Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 24, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    So the docks are fairly new, nothing broken etc. Coming in late you might be tempted to tie up on one of the finger piers in the river. There is a current to contend with, so depending on your docking skills its worth it to look into the inlet just north of the fuel dock to see if a face dock has a spot. Its good water there and no wind with no current. Tying up south side to the dock in this inlet gives a north side view of a cypress swamp.

    There is a $10 charge for a pumpout (even with overnight stay) and for some reason it took 30-40 minutes to empty my tank, usually a 5 minute operation. Poor design or poor equipment.

    There was no wifi when I visited on April 12, I was told that there was nothing they could do. (Well, actually they could have offered me a free pump-out, or some other discount as I was paying for this service as pary of my dockage.)

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Leland Oil Company

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 11, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Lovely town, great seafood market a very short walk from the marina. The owners are really the best and the dockmaster is on top of things.Only minus is Wifi signal is weak.

    If going to Leland Oil: 1. First read the ACOE Nav Alert regarding entrance channel to Jeremy Creek. 2. Don't forget to see the 1000 year old Live Oak, and 3. Have a meal at T.W. Graham, a 5-10 minute walk.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Freeport Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 11, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    No really a review, just a heads up - No water, power or fuel as of April 10. Current can cause a tricky. situation docking.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Isle of Hope Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 11, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    I was here in November 2017, very nice folks, cant get more convenient to the ICW. If you are headed south they give you a tide table for Hell Gate - you'll need it! They have a loaner car and a West Marine is nearby if you need it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Hampton River Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 11, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    Called on April 8th, said they could not take boats over 25 feet.

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Marina in their listing states they can take vessels up to 80 feet. Waterway Guide will contact marina for clarification.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Hidden Harbor Yacht Club

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 11, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    Called on April 8th, said they could not take me as an overnight, only if I was going to stay 2-3 weeks.

    • WG Editor Comment:

      message to marina for comments.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Morningstar Marinas Golden Isles

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 11, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Positive: help with lines when staff is there, muffins and paper in the morning. negative: Current is tough for docking at max flood and ebb. Other: Some of the decking was in bad shape, and had a patch installed over the bad spot. (This was at the gas dock) We were told the decking was scheduled for replacement.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Fair Haven Yacht Works

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 4, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This place is spotless and is in tip top condition (Can be tricky to get up the Navesink River at low tide) No hustle and bustle. Shot walk to library, hardware store and coffeshop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer