Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Elizabeth Kelch (15)


  • Marina Review for Watch Hill National Seashore Marina

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch , InNoHurry, on Aug 1, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    NOT worth the exorbitant rates! Check out other options!
    Things they say they have but don’t:
    NO showers. What they have is merely a beach rinse off. It’s outdoor and exposed, no curtain, and no hot water.
    NO functional pumpout. Marina staff has no idea when it was last functional or when it will be repaired.
    NO free wifi.
    Power is available through an old style, seen-no-where-else-anymore plug types. Regular customers here have a specific adapter and brought it with them as they knew, in advance, what was available. And the fees for electric are absurdly high. $14.00-$18.00 for 30 and 50 amp and only through an old plug type.
    There have a restaurant that is friendly and accommodating, but also expensive for what it is.
    This marina, in past summers a hive of activity, is now nearly empty most of the time. I assume, since the rates went way up, all the boaters that came here in previous summers, have now found more reasonable summer fun spots.
    We are cruisers and have pulled into marinas all along the east coast and out to The Keys. Every marina we’ve used, even the most basic, offer hot showers and free wifi. I understand fresh water is a difficult proposition on this island, however, if a marina cannot cover some of the basic expectations to be found in marinas, they cannot charge fees higher than many marinas who do offer these items. This marina is essentially expensive beach parking.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on May 29, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 13.0'

    Rating: 4

    Our cruising day showed limited marina and anchorage options in the area which meant pulling in here or keep cruising for quite a ways. We tried to get the marina on the phone at a couple different numbers we’d found and on the radio. No answer, total radio silence. The other folks we were cruising with had been in here before, so we followed going east off the ICW, and pulled up to a fuel dock at the end on the starboard side but there was no staff in sight. Just as I was ready to lasso a cleat from on board, a gentleman who looked and acted like marina staff (and turned out to actually be the tourist boat captain), ran up and offered to catch my line. After we tied up we got the whole lowdown.

    The facilities have been through some management issues and changed hands, but since it’s one of the few options in the area, they’ve been able to keep it up and running. They run small evening tourist cruises out of here, there seems to be no office on site, and the bathroom and shower are in the back of a restaurant/ice cream shop, but because of the less than ideal conditions we got a good deal on the per foot rate. With no office on site and James being the tourist boat captain, I get the impression there is not regular monitoring of the marina. Since we pulled in late and on a holiday weekend I expect whatever office facilities they have were closed for the weekend.

    What made this stop really work out well was the town. After we were tied up, we walked less than a mile to the ocean where there’s a nice beach that’s not crowded, a couple ocean front restaurants and a long fishing pier. Along the walk to the ocean, we found a craft beer and pizza place. There’s a small town IGA grocer along the road too. The whole place has the feel of a pleasant, relaxed beach town.
    James, the gentleman who looked and acted like marina staff and caught our lines, and who captains the tourist cruises, told us about how the guy who ran the fuel dock left last year, so there may or may not be fuel in the tank, but they can’t pump it. They hoping to have the fuel service back up and running next week.
    All in all, I give this marina a thumbs up. Unless you’re looking for a resort area, this has all you need.
    Their phone number at the time of this writing, May2018, is 910 650 3223.
    For an expanded version of this review checkout:

    http://elizabethkelch.com/travelogue/let-s-stop-here-just-because-we-ve-not-been-here-before

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Freeport Marina

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on May 17, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 2

    Cruising North on a sunny spring Sunday afternoon, we passed this marina and there was live music and the docks were filled with small boats. There was a little bit of room on one dock and we had already been underway for quite some time that day, so we pulled in. This marina took a big hit from hurricane Matthew in 2016 and they are still rebuilding. The marina has three rows of long docks parallel to the island shore, but everything about it felt rustic and not quite kept up. Water and power on the docks is patchy. We were told they had bathrooms and showers, but it was quite a hike and the rustic state of things did not give us a good feeling for what we find there, so we never did see them. The bar/restaurant on site is also very rustic and dusty. Keeping in mind there is no fuel and no pumpout, we just didn’t think this marina was worth the $2/ft they charge. However, a point in their favor is that they have rebuilt a beautiful deck with Adirondack chairs facing a breathtaking sunset.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Little Shark River

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Apr 14, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    4
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Pet Friendly:
    1
    Cell Service:
    1
    WiFi:
    1

    The sunny, wide-open, blue water of the Gulf gave way to the murkier water at the mouth of this river right in Everglades National Park. Confident there is as much life in these swamp-fed, river-delta waters, I found myself looking down into the water, only able to imagine the activity. We found ourselves marveling at being in this amazing, remote place, so near busy civilization. The blackness of the night fully engulfed our little bay and the stars were staggeringly plentiful and lavish. Not too many people get to see this as it's pretty remote and isolated. So it's definitely a spot worth seeing.
    We found ourselves standing on the deck, looking up in awe at how many stars filled the sky. Reluctantly, we finally went to bed, but as soon as we got up the next morning, we again tried to take it all in and found ourselves appreciating this place in the morning sun just as much as we did under the blanket of stars.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Mosquito Lagoon R24

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Jan 23, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    1
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    1
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Pet Friendly:
    1
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    1

    After lots of slow zone/no wake zones yesterday, we recognized darkness would be upon us long before we'd make it to our planned destination. We found the one deep spot here in Mosquito Lagoon and put down the anchor. Finally warm enough to sleep without the generator running to provide heat, so the night was silent and black. This expanse of water feels very middle of no whereish out here and the peace is wonderful.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Free Dock Review for Jim King Park and Boat Ramp at Sisters Creek Marina

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on May 2, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This used to be a commercial marina, then the city bought it and its free now. Floating concrete dock, big enough for the 6 boats we had there. Sign says 72 hrs free. Read more about it on my blog elizabethkelch.com
    Bathrooms seemed uncleaned in some time.
    No restaurants or anything within walking distance. Great place to tie up for the night along the way and ya can't beat the price.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Jim King Park and Boat Ramp at Sisters Creek Marina

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Apr 28, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This used to be a commercial marina, then the city bought it and its free now. Floating concrete dock, big enough for the 6 boats we had there. Sign says 72 hrs free. Read more about it on my blog elizabethkelch.com
    Bathrooms seemed uncleaned in some time.
    No restaurants or anything within walking distance. Great place to tie up for the night along the way and ya can't beat the price.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Brunswick Landing Marina, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Apr 28, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    What a great facility! We certainly recommend this marina. Concrete floating docks (must have due to the 7-9ft tides). The first dock took minor damage from Hurricane Matthew but repair underway in April17. Friends told us about the free happy hour, so we had to check it out. Glad we did; loads of fun. Really nice folks. And the place had very clean showers, free laundry, free loaner bikes, reasonable rates. Only criticism I can come up with is that the wifi band with is a bit slow. Read more about this great place on my blog elizabethkelch.com We'll certainly come back on our next journey.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Southport Basin

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Mar 28, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    Draft: 0.0'

    Overall Rating:
    1

    This basin is kind of small and shallow. There's a derelict sailboat taking up space. The town dock was lost in Hurricane Matthew and its not yet rebuilt. We overnight-ed at the FishyFishy Restaurant. Blogging our journey at elizabethkelch.com

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Fleming Key Moorings-East Side

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Mar 1, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    4
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    3
    Shore Access:
    3
    Pet Friendly:
    3
    Cell Service:
    3
    WiFi:
    1

    We?ve been all over the gulf side of Key West for a week and wish we'd found this spot a week ago. The east side of Fleming Key is definitely the place to be. It has significantly less traffic causing wakes and, although we?ve experienced wind all week, it?s been much less bumpy between Fleming Key and Sigsbee Island at this free mooring field. There?s a short dinghy ride under the Fleming Key Bridge and into the tourist area of Key West Bight if we want to go downtown. If you happen to have access to military facilities the dinghy dock at the Sigsbee Island Marina is a very short walk from showers at the campground and groceries at the commissary.
    A piece of information that needs much more broadly advertised is that there is a free pump out boat service for the entire keys http://www.po-keys.com/index.html
    Read more about our experiences all up and down the ICW at http://elizabethkelch.com/travelogue

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Fleming Key Bight - Key West

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Feb 27, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    2
    Holding:
    2
    Wind Protection:
    2
    Current Flow:
    2
    Wake Protection:
    1
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    2
    Shore Access:
    2
    Pet Friendly:
    3
    Cell Service:
    4
    WiFi:
    1

    We dropped our anchor here in mid February. The sunshine was glorious but the relentless wind,10 to 20 knots, made it too chilly and made for a bumpy visit to Key West. Other boaters poor etiquette, not minding their wake, also made for a very bumpy visit. And there was a tremendous amount of traffic. The dinghy ride into Key West Bight, again due to the relentless wind, was wet and the dock was very crowded. We have a Rocna anchor and we never lose holding... but we did here. Many boats seem to have trouble with holding.
    Read lots more details about it in my blog post at elizabethkelch.com

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Glover Bight

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Feb 27, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Ease of Shopping:
    3
    Shore Access:
    5
    Pet Friendly:
    3
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    1

    The high point of this anchorage is it's scenic beauty. It's surrounded by lovely, lush Florida greenery and the remaining side has a luxery hotel and marina with its "city" views. The dinghy dock at the Marina is readily accessible and the hotel's bars, restaurants and boutiques are all nice. The Tiki bar at the head of the dinghy dock is gorgeous at sunset.
    A drawback to this anchorage is that there's nothing in the way of groceries or West Marine without a car ride of some variety. The Hotel and Marina are at the end of a residential area and beyond the hotel and marina facilities there's nothing else out there.
    I've written all about the place in my blog http://elizabethkelch.com/travelogue/preparations-for-the-crossing
    http://elizabethkelch.com/travelogue/preparations-for-the-crossing

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for White Post R38

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Feb 8, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    3
    Wind Protection:
    2
    Current Flow:
    2
    Wake Protection:
    2
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    1
    Pet Friendly:
    1
    Cell Service:
    4
    WiFi:
    1

    Great anchorage for watching the launches from Cape Canaveral. We had loads of fun. Blogging along the ICW at elizabethkelch.com

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Indian River City R40

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Feb 8, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    3
    Holding:
    3
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    3
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    3
    Shore Access:
    1
    Pet Friendly:
    1
    Cell Service:
    4
    WiFi:
    1

    Great anchorage for watching the launches from Cape Canaveral. We had loads of fun. Blogging along the ICW at elizabethkelch.com

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Manatee Pocket

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on Feb 8, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    3
    Scenic Beauty:
    3
    Ease of Shopping:
    3
    Shore Access:
    5
    Pet Friendly:
    3
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    1

    A great little spot. We spent four days on our anchor here with plenty of other boaters escaping the northern winter. Room enough for plenty of boats and folks were friendly. Plenty of good marinas and good restaurants/tiki bars but tough to get groceries from here. Blogging along the ICW at elizabethkelch.com

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer