Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Jim P (16)


  • Anchorage Review for Manjack - Crab Cay

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Dec 27, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    4
    Current Flow:
    4
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    4
    Pet Friendly:
    4
    Cell Service:
    4
    WiFi:
    1

    A very nice, secure anchorage tucked in behind a bluff. Protection from N to S, open to W, with some current flow with tides. Mostly sandy bottom with some grass. large area, lots of good spots depending on your draft. Coco beach a short dinghy ride around the corner.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Spanish Cay Marina & Point House Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Dec 27, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Spanish Cay is an all private island with no services other than this public marina. Its a full service marina with good staff & facilities. Easy in/out with an effective sea wall keeping the swell outside. Like most Bahama marinas there is an electric & water charge on top of the per foot price. The island electricity comes from generators. So occasional, short outages can be expected. They have wifi which was very good around the office & restaurant, but weak at the docks. Strong BTC cell & data signal. In the slow season (winter) the restaurant hours are flexible. Some nice beaches & snorkeling

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Leeward Yacht Club & Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Dec 27, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Very nice marina in Black Sound. If you're over 5 ft draft, you need to enter on rising tide.
    Good facilities, amenities & staff. Great restaurant. The town of New Plymouth is about a mile away.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Harbortown

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Nov 28, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great location, great staff, great facility. well protected from currents & wakes. Minus 1 star for the poor wifi service. The staff admits that since switching to Beacon wifi they have had lots of issues.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Vero Beach City Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Nov 28, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 2

    Good staff matters. Last year I gave this place 5 stars, this year I can't give then more than 2 stars. They must have hired some new inexperienced folks. As a single handed sailor, help while docking is the most important marina factor to me, and they failed miserably.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Riviera Beach City Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Jan 30, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    An excellent marina in a popular location. I stayed here 2 weeks waiting on a weather window to cross the Gulf Stream. Located right across from the inlet. The best wifi I've used at any marina. Clean, secure & modern rest rooms, showers & laundry. I was on the "promenade" dock, closest to shore & parking. If you get an outer dock it could be a long walk. Lots of good shops & stores in the Palm Beach area, most are more than walking distance. The local Enterprise has very good rates.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Old Port Cove

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Jan 22, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    I found this marina to be top notch is all aspects. A great location, well marked channel, nice docks, plenty of helpful staff, TV & WiFi at the docks, a good restaurant & sandwich bar (that delivers to your boat), and a very competitive transient rate for this area (especially after the BoatUS discount). Some folks may be put off by all the high rise condos surrounding the marina, but that's Palm Beach.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on FL: St Lucie River, Crossroads, shoaling

    Comment by: Jim P on Jan 22, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    I passed through here an hour before low tide (low to hi was only a 7" difference this day) and found 11-12 ft of water southbound on the ICW route at marker 240. It was after I crossed the St Lucie inlet channel that the depth quickly decreased to 7 ft around ICW marker R2 and got deeper as I moved over to the green side, going southbound. There was a very visible sand-mud shoal to the west of marker 240 if you were going that way, but staying on the ICW path, I saw no major issue.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Nettles Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Jan 22, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    This is one of those marinas that seems to stay near full with local boats and doesn't really care about the transient market. They don't monitor VHF 16, they don't even answer the phone half the time, and if you arrive at lunch time you're on your own. Its a nice facility in a great location, a good restaurant, a good convenience store with deli sandwiches, and a short walk to the ocean beach. Despite what the listing says, there is no WiFi provided.

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Waterway Guide contacted the marina on 1/24/17 and they stated that WiFi is provided.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Telemar Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Jan 20, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    A great location but the facilities need some upgrades. The dock electrical sockets are all 50 amp only; meaning if you don't have a 50 to 30 adapter, you're out of luck. No WiFi provided. As a transient cruiser, you get the feeling they don't really want our business.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Vero Beach City Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Jan 20, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    A well run, nice facility. Appears to stay near full with a mix of resident boats, long term visitors and short term transients.
    A very convenient city bus stops right at the marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Titusville Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Jan 15, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Just stayed here for 3 days to rest & re-provision. A very nice facility in a convenient location. Its a city marina with lots of helpful staff and well maintained. Its low monthly rate attracts a lot of live aboards & absentee owners. Includes an easy in-out fuel dock, mooring field and a nice park next door.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Palm Coast Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Jan 13, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    A nice marina with good facilities & helpful staff. Since they have very little tide they have a fixed dock. I just wish they had warned me that their dock is 3 ft above the water level. Makes your normal fender position useless.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Halifax Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Jan 13, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    An excellent facility with lots of helpful staff. With over 500 slips its a very large marina and easy to get disoriented if you've never been there before. Free cable TV and good WiFi.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for New Smyrna Beach City Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Jan 13, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    My first visit here and I found this to be a great marina. Very helpful staff and nice facilities. Clean rest rooms & laundry room. Walking distance to shops & restaurants. A mix of old fixed wooden docks and newer concrete floating docks. Its a busy & usually near full place, and depending on where they put you, can be a bit tight maneuvering.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Lang's Marina-CLOSED

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Jan 4, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    My first stay here and I found it a great option, now that it's almost impossible to find any transient space in Fernandina. The 2 mi approach up the St Mary's river was well marked and had plenty of water an hour after hi tide. The buildings are a little rough around the edges and this is not a resort type marina. But its got all the requirements for a comfortable overnight and at $1 a ft its hard to complain. The town of St Mary's has some great restaurants within walking distance.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer