Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold (48)


  • Marina Review for River Forest Yachting Center - Stuart

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Mar 24, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Needing some repairs on the Magic, I asked Tom Hanaway who stayed here for over a month for a recommendation. Now, I know why he gave this marina 5 stars. I have had nothing but professional service in a very protected marina. Prices, for the area are very fair and George is probably one of if not the best shop foreman/harbor master I have encountered in the past 3 years on the Great American loop and, I have been in over 300 marinas.

    Due to the virus, we are trapped. We could move on but everything is closed so, what better place to be.

    THIS IS A GREAT MARINA!!!!!!

    Captain Crusty
    AGLCA Platinum, DECL
    Grand Banks 36
    MAGIC

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Loggerhead Marina - Palm Beach Gardens

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Dec 20, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 1

    Although the facilities here at Loggerhead are good, I gotta tell ya, the staff is not very accommodating. Having stayed in more than 350 marinas in the past 3 years, when we needed to leave early, we were always, and I mean always, credited for the time not there. This is not the case here. We paid for 4 nights however, after finding that there is absolutely nothing to do here, we decided to move on to Boynton Beach. When asking for a credit; “sorry we do not give credits.” Aside from that, the dockhands were not very friendly much less helpful. They did give me a ride in the golf cart to the office. So, bottom line here is: this is a one night stay marina as you move south. Be prepared to cook on the boat.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Mystic Seaport Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Aug 13, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Having a life long fascination with old sailing vessels, we had to stay here. Now, this was not a mistake; in fact, this has been one of our best stops. Great harbor master, easy tie although not floating docks. But the best was the museum and ships. Good stop

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Champlin's Hotel, Marina & Resort

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Aug 13, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    O.K. It was a moral imperative that we stop here. ONE NIGHT ONLY!!!! Great dock folks, very friendly, a little bit of a walk to the shower and a good restaurant. A good stop if you like to walk but nothing else to do. Like I said one night at $7.00 (including elect) was a bit expensive.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Aug 13, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This is a pretty good marina, albeit a bit expensive. We stayed two nights as we could walk to town. There was a hour and a half tour of the town that was pretty good, but no walk on/walk off. Due to the expense, we were glad to get outta there.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Wickford Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Aug 13, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Paul, the marina owner is one of the best. Although a courtesy car is advertised, they do not have one but, the marina will drop you off any place then pick you up. Well protected, but watch out for the shoal on the starboard side when approaching. All-in-all, a great place to stay.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Consolidated Yachts NY Inc.

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Jul 31, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    When one reads the previous reviews, one will find far more negative comments than positive. Having lived on Magic for well over 2 years and in that time visited over 300 marinas, I found that most marinas cater to boaters as if the marina was a motel. Y’all know, showers, laundry, boaters lounge, etc. Consolidated Yachts (under its new management) is a work yard. In WWII PT boats were built here. There is a good shower but that is about all. The service here is excellent and the prices (for the Long Island Sound area) are fair. I cannot say enough about Alexander, the yard foreman. If you need your boat repaired, this is the place. But don’t expect the same amenities you would find at upscale marinas. Remember, this is a work yard. You are here to get your boat fixed. If you want a pool, go to another marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Solomons Island Yacht Club

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 22, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    First, one needs to be a member of a reciprocal yacht club. If you are, this is a great stop, free laundry, two free drinks, $10.00 dinner, great shower and most of all everybody is very friendly and welcoming. GREAT STOP

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Harbour Village Marina Inc.

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 9, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 12.0'

    Rating: 5

    Having been on the water for over two years with a Platinum Burgee, this is the first marina that sent me a video as to how to approach. Very detailed. Great harbormaster. Now that is the good news. Bad news is that there is absolutely nothing around. Be prepared to cook on the boat and just rest for your run to either Swansboro, or all the way to Beaufort. Still, I give it a 5 star rating.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Half Moon Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Jun 6, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    O.K. Captain Crusty's $0.02. Albeit the docks were a little, well, kinda reminded me of Kilkenny, GA. The dockmaster Steve was the greatest. He was the most attentive dockmaster we have encountered in the last 15 months. As we have a "hot spot" we did not use the WIFI but I understand it was not one of the better. Oh, well. Lastly it is a short 15 to 20 minute walk to "the Diner." GREAT place to eat. All in all, we would stay here again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Hoffman's Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Jun 1, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    In the 15 months we have been on the loop, we have probably stayed in well over 100 marinas. The best I can say about Hoffman's is the professionalism of the dock hands. They are some of the best I have dealt with. They need to be good as the current was the worst i have encountered. It took Magic 3 attempts to get into a slip. Not to brag but, I am very good after some 45 years on the water. Without the dock hands and with the terrible current, I do not think it could have been done. Once secured, the facilities are reasonable. The restaurant kinda sucked. So only 3 stars from Magic.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for St. Michaels Marina LLC

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 23, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    St Michael is a must stop on the loop. Very quaint town and the museum is one of the best. We could have stayed there another day. The dock price however is a little stiff ($2.95/foot plus $25 for electric) as is the fuel at $3.19 per gallon. Still, if you can afford one night, do it. Oh by the way, the Crab Claw is a great restaurant right next to the museum. Their beer was cold and the food was good.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Annapolis City Dock Harbormaster's Office

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 21, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This marina is a hidden treasure. Reservations are not accepted so one needs to call for availability. Once secured on the wall, one can walk about a block to the Barry Gate to the Academy, about a block or less to downtown where many great restaurants can be found and about 200 feet to reasonable showers. The harbor master is very good along with all dock hands. If you rent a car, ya gotta pay for parking. All in all this is one of Magics favorite stops on the loop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 17, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Although this is a very good marina with good services, I was very disappointed with the way they charged us. In the 15 months moving around the loop (this is our second time), this is the only marina that "measures" your boat from the bow pulpit to the stern overhang. This added another 8 feet to Magic and at a new Dockwa rate of $2.00/foot it added $16.00 to my bill. I wonder if they bill for bottom jobs the same way?? Aside from the above, this was a good marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Onancock Wharf & Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 13, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Was pleasantly surprised to find this unique little marina on the Eastern Shore. They were nothing but friendly, helped tie, free laundry, good fuel. A short walk into this little "burg." Janet's is a must stop for breakfast or lunch. We left this morning on our way to Crisfield, only when we entered the bay we encountered 25 kt winds and 4 plus seas. Weather guessers, don't ya just love them. We turned around and went back and were greeted as if we never left. On an aside Mallards, although food was good as was service, prices were a bit high. I had two crab cakes on a small bed of lettuce for $25.00. I was not a happy boater.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dozier's Regatta Point Yachting Center

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 11, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    As this is our second time around the loop, we decided to stop once again in this good marina. Jimmy, the harbor master was very helpful. Unfortunately they no longer have the shuttle and we could only use the c car for an hour at a time and we could not use it for dinner. There was a taxi but pricey and no Uber. So, we got to sit at the marina. All in all, we would stay here again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dismal Swamp Canal Welcome Center

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 6, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    This is a free wall hence, no power or water. Room for about 4 boats on the wall after which time you must raft. Also, it is remote. All in all, this is a good stop prior to getting into Portsmouth.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 3, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    I just gotta give this marina 5 stars. It is small yet all hands were very helpful. Dock Master had the weather for the sound. Courtesy golf carts for dinner. We stayed last year and are here again. Should we decide to go around a 3rd time this will be a good stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Southport Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Apr 28, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Although this marina is very proud of their fuel prices and slip fees, the dock hands were very helpful. Brought the Magic in with the wind "blowing!!" With a single screw and no bow thruster, we easily brought her in with assistance from hands. Good facilities with good hot shower. Be aware, this is a tourist center and prices indicate that. Ferry to Bald Head is $25 a person with nothing but a good beach to see. Town is just a short walk. Although expensive, we would stop here again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Harborwalk Marina, Georgetown SC

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Apr 24, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great marina and well protected. Good staff, town and restaurants are a very short walk along with several museums. Good stay for a couple of days.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Apr 16, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is the second time we have stayed at this premiere marina on our second time around the loop. For loopers, it is a must stop. Great facilities, great town.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Ortega River Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Mar 16, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    While traveling around the loop (we are on our second time around) this marina is in my top 10. As the Jacksonville bridge was broken, and we were trapped, the Dock Master split our week stay. In other words, we stayed 3 nights then, did a side trip "up river, down south." Upon our return in 8 days, we were placed in the same slip for another 4 nights, all for a week price. Very good. Close to shopping, West Marine, restaurants and rent cars. Again, this is a great marina if one wants to visit Jacksonville, FL.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Eau Gallie Yacht Basin

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Feb 17, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Albeit a bit basic and difficult to contact, with only 2 transient slips, I am glad I stopped here. It is absolutely worth the stop. Easy walk to town and a 5 minute Uber to Melbourne. If you can reach the dock master, this is a quiet, laid back marina

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Vero Beach City Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Feb 16, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is our second stay in this city marina. Yuppers, it's a "city marina." Now that is not to say it is bad, quite the contrary, very friendly and helpful folks, good slips and a great town to visit. The showers, on the other hand leave a little to be desired. Great laundry and pretty grounds. If we do the loop a third time, we will stay here again.

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Marina Repy:

      We have a total of 13 showers. We just awarded a $114,600 contract to re-model the oldest restrooms which will replace six showers. Last week we were at 172% occupancy on our 57 moorings (rafting) so as you can imagine we have scores of customers using them every day. We will continue trying to keep up.

      Thanks for the feedback,

      Tim

      Tim Grabenbauer, Marina Director/Harbormaster
      City of Vero Beach
      3611 Rio Vista Blvd.
      Vero Beach, FL 32963

      Phone: 772.231.2819 Fax: 772.231.6893 E-mail: [email protected]

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Fort Pierce City Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Feb 14, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This is a good marina albeit we were placed in the old section, no floating docks. Our slip was 14 wide for our 12 foot beam and was a challenge entering. Good dock hands helped. The entrance to the marina is up a narrow canal with a 2 to 4 knot cross current. Another challenge, but doable. Not a whole lot to do in Fort Pierce except the Navy SEAL museum which was amazing. This is a reasonable stop for a night or two.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Sunset Bay Marina & Anchorage

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Feb 8, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    THIS IS A GREAT MARINA!!!! Albiet, they are very proud of their fees. Good help tying up. Great restaurant, great showers, great laundry and good ships store. But, $3.00 a foot night is just a little too much. Oh well, it's the season and is expected.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Indiantown Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Feb 8, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 1

    We tried for three days to get reservations for a one night stay. They were not very friendly and kept putting me off. Movng around the loop, it is good to have a slip at the end of the day. I called on 16 and was told "sorry, we are full." Why did they not tell me that 3 days before I passed. Not very friendly.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for River Forest Yachting Center - LaBelle

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Feb 8, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Very secluded, quiet marina. Good dock hands. No restaurants but good shower. We ate steaks on the boat. Left at first light for Roland Martins.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Roland and Mary Ann Martins Marina & Resort

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Feb 8, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This was our second time here. Due to the experience we had last time, we called way ahead and made the dock master aware that I was a single screw without a bow thruster. I was tied at the beginning of the floating docks making it very easy to leave at first light. Dock master was extreamly helpful and very friendly. Drinks at tiki bar a little expensive and food was above average. We left at first light with several unlit bass boats.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for St. Petersburg Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Jan 19, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    We have been in this superior marina for 2 weeks. Having completed the "loop" we found this to be one of the better marinas. Easy walk to town, good showers, great dock master. Everything has gone very well

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Panama City Marina - Closed

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Dec 23, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    After over 11 months on the water, doing the loop, I have visited many marinas. This is one of, if not the best yet. We had a serious problem in that I blew an oil hose and needed to be towed to this marina. Rick, the harbor master, was given a "heads up." When Sea Tow brought us in, we secured on a face dock with Rick helping all the way. I am impressed with the service.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Grand Haven Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Aug 31, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Good marina, very friendly and helpful. Great water light show.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Trent Port Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on Jul 17, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    In the 4 months we have been on the loop from Texas, this is one of the top 5 marinas we have visited. Very good!!!!!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Amelia Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Apr 29, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    This is an excellent marina when the tide is high. At low tide the only tie for a boat with 4' plus draft is on the t's at the end of the docks. I observed many boats in the mud. That is the bad news. The good news is that the folks are very friendly and the marina is being remodeled. We were availed the opportunity to use the courtesy car and took advantage restocking the Magic and then using the car to go to town for dinner. All in all a very good experience.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Cocoa Village Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Apr 10, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Excellent marina!!! We stayed 4 days here and each day was a pleasure. Great facilities. I would recommend to all "loopers!!!!" Go see Kennedy Space Center. Excellent side trip.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Fisherman's Wharf Marina of Venice

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 31, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    This is a good marina. We were able to do a side tie and dock side folks helped us tie up. Great restaurant. We were in and out the next morning at first light. Had to wait on the bridge. I would recommend to fellow loopers.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for City of Fort Myers Yacht Basin

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 31, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    This is a good marina. Great marine store where I purchased another anchor for $100 less than I was quoted in Rockport TX. Very friendly, very helpful and very busy. Good head and shower. We stayed an extra day to check out the town, which is walking distance from marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Roland and Mary Ann Martins Marina & Resort

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 31, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    This is a reasonable stop for an early morning to cross the lake. The channel is very narrow and it was difficult turning my 36, single screw around to face out. Larger boats had to back out. The dock folks helped with the turn around and tie up. Floating docks and a good restaurant. We did not use the heads.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for St. Petersburg Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 25, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Excellent marina with good facilities. Just a walk away from many restaurants and other sites. Great public transportation. Good place to stay.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Anclote Isles Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 23, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Modern updated marina. Harbor master texted a map to the exact location for our tie up. He met us, helped us tie and hook up. Good, clean, newer shower (report from wife). Down side is no laundry, no fuel but easy walk to great Greek food. Good experience.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Scipio Creek Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 23, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 3

    Old and basic but very friendly. Tied up on the channel off the river with the help of the marina. Basic shower and very basic laundry. Unique town is a must visit. A good place to prep for the Gulf crossing to Tarpon Springs.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Homeport Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 15, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    This is a MUST STOP marina. Great facilities, restaurant and tie up. Lulu is Jimmy Buffets sister and, I gotta tell ya "parrot heads" abound. Access is easy and there were plenty of transient slips.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Biloxi Boardwalk Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 15, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Great Marina but, their restaurant was closed. The closest place to eat needed Uber or a taxi. Very friendly dock hand helped us tie up and connect power.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Peggy's Place (Formely Peggy's on the Bayou)

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 10, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 2

    Very quaint. One slip, no electric, but the shower was in the restaurant along with the laundry. Best thing about this place was the great food. Best gumbo I have had in a long time.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Shell Morgan Landing Inc.

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 10, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 2

    This is just an overnight tie up. No power or water. No shower or laundry. Store was closed when we got there and we left before it opened. It's a fuel dock.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Downtown Marina of Houma

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 10, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    We stayed here for 4 days waiting for a weather window and taking a break. This marina has water and electric but no showers or laundry. If you draw more than 4.5 feet I would not go very far up the bayou as it gets real shallow. Watched a boat have a hard time. All in all, not too bad, park like environment and walking distance to restaurants, stores, and the rent car company will come and pick you up.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Seaway Marina Lafitte

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 10, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    We had reservations at Team Lafitte marina and mistook Seaway as Team. Took on fuel at the self serve fuel dock. Met the owner, a fishing guide, who just bought this marina. The store is new, no shower or laundry and no 50 am power, but a good tie up. Team Lafitte wanted me to tie up right on the bayou. I would have been beaten up during the night.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Pelican Pointe Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold , Magic, on Mar 10, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Katrina completely destroyed this marina and they are in the process of rebuilding. The owner met me at the dock, helped us tie up and hook up to electric. Not the best shower room but the water was hot. Cool little store with more than 7/11 condiments. They are really trying hard to make this one work.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer