Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Andrew Skelton (23)


  • Marina Review for Cocoa Village Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Feb 22, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 5

    We previously reviewed this marina on our way to the Bahamas. Now we find ourselves here again during our transit north. We initially anchored south of the fixed bridge but, with weather approaching fast and a broken fridge, we decided to get into the marina ASAP. We called at 0740 thinking nobody would answer. To our amazement, Ken London answered the phone and could not have been more friendly and helpful. We explained our situation and he said to come in when ready. "We'll make it happen" were his exact words. His instructions were precise and he was waiting for us at our assigned slip. Ken even broke out the house and proceeded to wash down our anchor. I am not exaggerating when I say that dealing with Ken was the best experience we ever had with dock personnel. Thank you Ken for your "can do" attitude. Additionally, the facilities are top notch.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Cocoa Village Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 22, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    Cleanest facilities we have ever seen. Super-friendly staff. Docks in good shape but provide only average protection from a strong northerly. The town is just across the street and has much charm. Enterprise is a couple miles down the road and will pick you up. Disney World is 1 hour away. Kennedy Space Center is 30 minutes.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Titusville

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 19, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    5
    Shore Access:
    5
    Pet Friendly:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5

    Anchor just outside of Titusville Marina's mooring field. Dinghy access $5/day. Great holding in approximately 7'. Nice playground very close. This is also a great spot to watch rocket launches.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Harris Saxon Bridge South

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 17, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    3
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Ease of Shopping:
    5
    Shore Access:
    5
    Pet Friendly:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5

    Dropped the hook about 500' north of G45. Look for the deepest area on the chart. Showed clearly on Navionics. 12' of water. Some small craft move all night but not really a problem. Easy access to dinghy dock and town.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 16, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    We used mooring field while here. Nice facilities, friendly staff, pumpout available at mooring and at anchor. You can reserve of mooring in advance. Very affordable. If trying to time bridge from north, beware of strong ebb current which is about 3 knots! Give yourself some extra time. The town is fantastic.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on Fl: St Johns River and Intracoastal, construction work

    Comment by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 14, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Construction still in progress as of 12/14/16. The buoys in this area are a little confusing. We steered around a shallow area just south of R2 buoy. The shallow spot appeared on Navionics. It may not be an issue for most but we didn't chance it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on Jacksonville Beach, channel shoaling report

    Comment by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 14, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Came through here on 12/14/16. Did not experience any issues. We left Fernandina about 1 hour before high tide there. Travel speed about 7. Draft 5'5".

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Fernandina Harbor Marina-Temporarily Closed - Open Fall 2019

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 13, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 3

    Dinghy dockage is now available. It is located inside the fuel dock area, on the 3rd finger pier. There are small dinghy dock signs. Use caution in the currently defunct mooring field. Balls are still present and some yellow floats (debris? Mooring anchors?) A few sunken vessels still present. The town is great and despite what we heard, Uber does operate here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on Cumberland Dividings, shoaling at Marker R"60"

    Comment by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 12, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Came through on 12/12/16 @ 1115 hours. All nav aids present. Saw no less than 13', mid-tide on the ebb. No issues for us. We draw 5'5". Navionics Sonar charts confirmed our observations.

    Tide reference station Crooked River, Cumberland Dividings.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Sunbury Crab Co. Restaurant & Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 11, 2016
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    This is a little off of the "beaten path" but worth it if your hungry and want some southern hospitality. Elaine is both the owner of the marina and the restaurant. You won't find wifi or showers here, but you will find awesome food, friendly people and a really neat waterfront restaurant, tucked in a rural neighborhood. We had a nice walk before dinner. The docks are in good shape. Depending on when you arrive, there may be live music at the restaurant. We did not regret making the trip up the river to Sunbury Crab Company.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Jekyll Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 11, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    Friendly staff. Nice docks. Restroom/shower combo above average. Nice walk to historic area and turtle hospital. Our 5 year old made the walk easily on the bike/pedestrian trail which was beautiful. Golf cart available for 90 minute excursions only. There is a pool here but closed in winter. Come in at mid or high tide! Plenty of water near docks. We draw 5'5" and we're plowing our way down the channel from Saint Simons near low tide.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Lanier Island North

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 11, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Overall Rating:
    1
    Holding:
    3
    Wind Protection:
    2
    Current Flow:
    1
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    1
    Ease of Shopping:
    1
    Shore Access:
    2
    Pet Friendly:
    1
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    1

    Tried this spot today. Winds were NNE at 15-20. Flood tide. The conflicting current and wind caused our boat to assume an awkward presentation to both. Anchor chain was under the boat. Boat would occasionally do a 180 for no apparent reason. We decided to relocate a bit north at the mouth of Hawkins Creek. Much better. Very little boat traffic, probably due to low, fixed bridge.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on GA: Hell Gate update

    Comment by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 9, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Low tide at Eggs Island was 0949 hours. Went through at 1120 hours. Saw no less than 7' (total depth). We draw 5'5". Tip- Compare chart soundings to depth transducer and compare the 2 before entering Hell Gate.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Thunderbolt Marine

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 9, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    Very friendly staff. Krispy Kreme donuts delivered to your boat, complimentary! Was surprised by the absence of retail marine supplies. Cheap Uber ride to downtown. Strong current at outside dock but dock is very long.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Grace Harbor at River Dunes

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 4, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 5

    Immaculate amenities. Friendly staff. Beautiful docks. Extremely good protection. Far from town and not much happening here but beautiful buildings and pool.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dudley's Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 4, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 2

    If you want a cheap berth with a friendly staff, this is it. If you want clean facilities, then move on. Docks covered with bird excrement. You can get into Swansboro after a moderate walk. $35 for our 43' boat including power and water. No pumpout.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Carolina Beach (1)

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 4, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    2
    Ease of Shopping:
    5
    Shore Access:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5

    Holding was good but winds were light. Public dinghy dock all the way and to the right (was being repaired as of 11/26). Easy walk to beach. Verizon coverage excellent.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Free Dock Review for The Dock at Barefoot Landing

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 4, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 3

    Very friendly and helpful dockmaster. No pumpout, showers or restrooms (unless you use the public Barefoot Landing restrooms). Great location to access Barefoot Landing attractions including Alabama theater. Great spot for the kids too.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Harborwalk Marina, Georgetown SC

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 4, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 4

    Friendly staff. Outstanding showers/restrooms. Great location. Easy walk downtown. Playground nearby for the kids.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Isle of Palms Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 4, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 4

    Friendly staff. Great marina store with a great eatery that opens early for breakfast. Showers and restrooms very clean. Will stay again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Nov 20, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 4

    Under new management. The cleanest shower/restoom combo we have ever seen! Brand new washers/dryers and FREE! Although slightly removed from town, the marina has FREE golf carts you can take to town and Food Lion. A playground for the kids is a 5 minute walk. Boat US discount on top of an already very reasonable price. Staff very friendly. The docks are okay and hopefully are slated for upgrades. We will definitely be back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Nov 20, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 3

    Very friendly staff. Great fried chicken at the gas station. Restrooms/showers okay however no hand soap or paper towels. Slips, restrooms, laundry and a gas station. That's it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Nov 18, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 3

    The folks here are very friendly and helpful. Docks in great shape and easy to access. Bath/Shower cleanliness okay. No tidal range here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer