Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Smackdaddy (21)


  • Marina Review for Charlotte Harbor Boat Storage

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 18, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    We loved this place. Brady and the rest of his team are really great people. And "The Hut" lounge area is one of the coolest, funkiest places to hang out on the planet. We had our boat pulled here and, like mentioned below, they loaded and trucked us over to J&R (a related storage/repair facility belonging to the same family) since they were full. The directions in seem really complicated and a bit intimidating, and the lock was really weird (pull up to the dock you see in front of the lock and pull the chain to open it, then follow instructions) but we had no problems at all. We highly recommend this place.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Nav Alert comment on Tampa Bay, Pass-A-Grille Channel, shoaling - UPDATE

    Comment by: Smackdaddy on Aug 18, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    We saw the shoaling mentioned, but the water is clear enough where you can pretty easily see it unless the sun is right in your eyes. We just hugged the reds and had no problems.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Pass-A-Grille Marina

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 18, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    This is a FUNKY little marina. Communication was VERY poor and confusing coming in. They ended up putting us between two outlying pylons that proved very difficult to angle into, that only left us a precarious step off at the port stern of the boat onto the dock. Very poor set-up. But it was very cheap so we made do. Very limited facilities (shower is a PVC pipe outdoors at the fish-cleaning station, etc.). BUT - it's within 1 block of some of the best beaches in Florida (St. Pete) and the neighborhood surrounding it is awesome. Lots of GREAT restaurants, Circle K, laundromat, etc. So I'd give the marina itself 1 star, but the location is easily worth the pain. And the price is definitely right.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Panama City Marina - Closed

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 18, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    Communication on the way in was poor. And the place is a bit confusing if you've never been there as there are two entrances (you want to enter on the southeast side). Transients are along the lay-along in the middle. Security is very good and the store/laundry/bathrooms are very nice. There are some restaurants/etc. within walking distance, but not nearly as nice as Pensacola. All in all, a pretty good place...but not stellar.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Redfish Point

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 18, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    3
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Shore Access:
    3
    Cell Service:
    5

    A very nice anchorage. We actually came in around 0200 and had to follow the chart and depth gauge only. You can get in pretty close to shore so great protection. You do have jets flying over in the mornings, but that's pretty typical of the whole town. Great spot.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Palafox Pier Yacht Harbor

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 18, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is a fantastic marina. Great information from Jeff the harbormaster as we were coming in. He met us at the fuel dock, then met us again at our slip to help with lines. The marina is very well protected and right in the middle of downtown Pensacola - which is awesome. Lots of restaurants, beautiful streets, etc. HIGHLY recommend this place.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Cat Island - Little Bend Bight

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 18, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    3
    Holding:
    4
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    3
    Scenic Beauty:
    4
    Cell Service:
    4

    Holding was good, but you're pretty far away from the shore, so you get some wave action if there is wind if it's not pure SE. Not the best anchorage, but not bad.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on Algiers Lock

    Comment by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    When transiting these locks, pay close attention to the curfew times of the bridges. It's very easy to get "trapped" on one end or the other. And we found that no one will even respond to you on VHF during these times. And don't forget to check in with Traffic when you enter the river.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on Harvey Lock

    Comment by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    When transiting these locks, pay close attention to the curfew times of the bridges. It's very easy to get "trapped" on one end or the other. And we found that no one will even respond to you on VHF during these times. And don't forget to check in with Traffic when you enter the river.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on Industrial Lock

    Comment by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    When transiting these locks, pay close attention to the curfew times of the bridges. It's very easy to get "trapped" on one end or the other. And we found that no one will even respond to you on VHF during these times.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Seabrook Harbor/Seabrook Marine

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    We stayed here for 4 days and generally enjoyed it (LOVED New Orleans!!). The communication on the way in was not real clear, but we managed. Overall it's a pretty nice marina with nice bath/shower and laundry. Service was good and people were generally great. Pumpout was broken so we had to go next door. It's also pretty remote. Nothing in walking distance. So be prepared to pay for rides.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Bridge comment on Danzinger (U.S. 90/Chef Menteur Highway) Bridge

    Comment by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'

    We got caught at this bridge heading north from the river because we forgot to call ahead. We had to circle for 2 hours. Entering and exiting the Mississippi with all these locks and bridges can be overwhelming. We have iNavX with the WG integration (thanks WG) - we just missed this piece of info. So make sure to pay attention to details like this!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Mermentau G1A

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    3
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    4
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5

    This anchorage will obviously be somewhat exposed in southeasterly winds. But it's a nice, wide-open spot with great holding and a beautiful view. You will get some small wakes from small fishing boats going by in the channel, but we had no problems at all. We recommend it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Calcasieu River Oxbow

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    5
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    3
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5

    We had tried to get into the Choupique anchorage shown to the south but it was shoaled and inaccessible. I'm glad we came here. It's really a beautiful spot - despite the gas plants to either side. Great anchorage.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Downtown Marina of Houma

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    This is not really a marina in the true sense of the word. It's really more of an overnight tie-up along the dock. It's also very shallow, so larger boats can only tie up at the end of the dock which puts you in direct line of the wakes from the ICW. However, it's really a beautiful spot and you have a lot of amenities within walking distance of a few blocks. Ray was great in terms of communication, and water and power was available. So not a bad spot.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Shell Morgan Landing Inc.

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    You can't get much more minimal than this and still call it a marina. It's really more a fuel dock with a couple of spots to tie up along a very rough bulkhead. But it's not a bad spot to stop for the night, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We had a polarity problem with the 50 amp service, so had to use a single 30 amp. It's very susceptible to wakes, of which there are a lot. So make sure to use plenty of fenders. Great store nearby.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Sabine Pass Town

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    1

    See the description above. That's my input. This is not a good option.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Sabine Pass Port Authority Marina

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    We had our boat at this marina for a year following an engine failure. The people here are just tremendous. I can't stress that enough. The marina itself is a bit sparse, but very well-tended and nice. Restrooms, laundry, ice - and even a great bait shop near the east pavilion and fishing area (find David). It's a bit remote, with only a convenience store within walking distance. However, you can't beat the security of this place. Overall, we really enjoyed our time here and recommend it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Galveston Yacht Basin

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 2

    We stayed here overnight in 2015 before heading off on a long trip from our previous base in Kemah. It was expensive (we paid $2/ft/night) and we were disappointed with the poor amenities. Our transient dock isolated us in the middle of the marina, restrooms/showers were very poor quality, etc. Not a place I'd recommend.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Watergate Yachting Center

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    We kept our boat at this marina for 2 years. It's one of the best marinas I've ever been in. The facilities and onsite amenities are outstanding. It's sheltered but still provides quick access to the Bay and it was surprisingly affordable. West Marine and Home Depot are within a 5 minute drive, and lots of cafes, bars, and restaurants are nearby. You also have the Kemah Boardwalk just down the road for the kids.

    We highly recommend this marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Burnt Store

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 16, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is a fantastic marina. One of the most beautiful, full-featured, and reasonably priced we've stayed in. Really nice restaurant and bar, convenience store/deli, 2 pool/rec-areas with laundry, etc. The WiFi was indeed spotty, but that was one of the few downsides.

    We highly recommend this one.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer