Change my location
  • Enter 3 or more letters of the location to which you would like to change
  • Select your location from the dropdown list

Reviews from Ed (32)


  • Marina Review for Maryland Yacht Club

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Feb 13, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    The hospitality and attention to extraordinary customer service at Maryland Yacht Club is top notch. We called ahead with our special requests and were accommodated with ease. It was a crowded week due to the Annapolis Boat Shows and two special events at the club, but they worked us in and made us feel right at home. As a private club, the members assist in managing the facilities. We were on a tight schedule and needed fuel before our early morning departure, so the fuel dock was opened for a few minutes the night before for us. A frontal passage during the week we were there blew winds out of the ENE at 15-20. The docks are tucked in at the bottom of a large hill and well protected. We barely felt a breeze. The approach up the Patapsco River and then into Rock Creek is easy and well marked. Keep an eye out for White Rock Light, an interesting formation for the Chesapeake Bay. Guests are welcome at the Yacht Club and facilities for provisioning and dining out are close by, but you will need to get a ride. The club is off the beaten path, which is the way we like it! Quiet, safe and secure. Thank you Maryland Yacht Club. Hope to see you next year.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Lock comment on Ortona Lock

    Comment by: Ed, Tess, on Jan 24, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 11.0'

    The lock tenders are polite and helpful. Be advised that they stick to their schedules. If you need an extra 5 minutes you might get it, but beyond that they are punctual. If you are unsure of the water flow or how much your vessel might react to the water, ask the lock tenders for advice. You MUST wear life jackets if you are tending lines on your vessel. The lines are clean and the walls are not slimy or dirty. You will want at least two fenders. Three is best. Watch for manatees.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Bridge comment on Fort Denaud Bridge

    Comment by: Ed, Tess, on Jan 24, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 11.0'

    We called ahead. The bridge tender was on site and it was a smooth passage.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Postcard Inn Marina at Holiday Isle

    Reviewed by: Ed , Tess, on Jan 8, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 11.0'

    Rating: 5

    This marina and resort is a great find in the Keys. Staff, facilities and docks are superb. We called at the last minute on a holiday weekend and they found a spot for us. The dock master had all the details for getting under the bridge and they were waiting for us when we got there. A perfect weekend. Good food, great drinks and a protected marina. Thank you Postcard Inn and Marina. We'll be back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Pelican Bend Restaurant & Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed , Tess, on Jan 8, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 11.0'

    Rating: 5

    These guys are great. Gave us a slip at the last minute. Super food and service. Easy Uber into town for provisions. Quiet and protected. We'll be back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Naples City Dock

    Reviewed by: Ed , Tess, on Jan 8, 2020
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 11.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great facility. Clean. Fueled the boat and had plenty of help and attention on a busy weekend. Good staff. Helpful and attentive.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Slidell Municipal Marina at Heritage Park

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on May 25, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    The new marina at Heritage Park is a gem. At the upper end of Bayou Bonfouca, it's quiet, well-designed and inexpensive. Walk across the street to Terry Lynn's for breakfast, or stroll the streets of old town Slidell. We spent three days in Slidell and enjoyed the hospitality immensely. We didn't take the train to New Orleans, but heard that's a great way to see the city. We'll be back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jul 11, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    AYB remains a top notch facility. Dedicated and attentive crew always willing to assist. Nothing fancy here - but a landmark on the ICW since 1936. Good fuel prices and within easy walking distance to restaurants and stores in Great Bridge. Quiet and secure. One of our favorite stops.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Waterside Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jul 11, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Waterside Market is now open, which puts a new shine on Waterside Marina. This is an urban setting with plenty to do and lots of activity. The marina is well maintained with new restrooms (no laundry), good security, plenty of protection from tide and wind and a superb staff that is always available to assist. If you need to provision, just call the dock house when you return and they will meet you at the street with a cart and help load in your supplies. Since this is an urban setting, there's plenty to do within a 1 mile radius. This is one of our favorite stops on the ICW and Chesapeake Bay.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Urbanna Town Marina at Upton's Point

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jul 7, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Urbanna is a great little town and the town marina is delightful. Well protected and clean, it's a short walk to town up the hill. Staff is always helpful and ready to assist. Easy in and out and plenty of room for your dinghy or tender if you want to take it off the boat. 17 miles up river from the Bay, but worth the trip if you're looking for small town ambience off the beaten path.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Bridge Marinas

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Mar 29, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Newly renovated. Floating docks and nice facilities. Easy walk to town for some quaint restaurants and coffe shop. Pay attention to the channel marker coming into Urbanna Creek. If you draw more than 6 feet line up centered. Keep R2 well clear of your starboard. 50 feet is good. A great little town.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Sandy Hook Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Nov 29, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This marina just reopened over the summer. The docks, staff and location are superb. Nicely protected from the wakes and traffic of Sandy Hook Bay, the new facilities are clean and well designed.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Spring Cove Marina - Solomons

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Nov 6, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    A great stop in Solomons. Always a favorite of ours. Nice pool!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Chesapeake Boat Works & Stingray Point Boat Works

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Oct 19, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    The Farinholt brothers own Chesapeake Boat Works, Stingray Point Boat Works and Fishing Bay Marina. My review on Stingray Point Boat Works details the work they did on my classic Trumpy, Adonia. Because the yards are related, crew and resources are shared across the locations. Always willing to assist and get the job done, Chesapeake Boat Works on the Fishing Bay side of Deltaville, is a great location for deep draft vessels. You get the same expertise and customer service from both locations. Fair prices and a willingness to work within your budget and schedule round out the experience.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Zimmerman Marine in Deltaville

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Oct 19, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    The crew at Zimmerman are dedicated to customer service. Always willing to work through the issues to solve your problem. We had an on-going problem with outdrives and engine sensors last year. They dogged the problem for weeks. A good facility with pros at the helm.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Chesapeake Cove Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Oct 19, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    We haven't stayed here, yet. But Chesapeake Cove has a phenomenal repair facility and parts department. Bob has been in business for over 30 years at this location. He knows his stuff, runs a tight ship, can get the parts you need and has a squared away facility. They tuned my old props a few weeks back and did a superb job. They also repaired our generator last year.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Oct 19, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is a rare find. The Chesapeake Bay Maritime Museum is a campus comprising exhibitions, displays and several acres of waterfront that highlight the culture and history of the Chesapeake Bay. Staff and crew were helpful and eager to assist when we docked. Thanks, everyone, for a great time. St. Michael's is a special place and being able to dock your boat at a museum is especially nice. Thanks to Kristen and Peter for an exceptional visit.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Oct 19, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Once again, Zahniser's did not disappoint. We called the morning of our arrival and asked for a reservation. They accommodated our last minute request and assigned us a T head. Since we were arriving late, there were reservation signs on the pilings! Talk about customer service. The facilities at Zahniser's is a top notch marina. Clean, squared away and always willing to help. Thanks, again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Horn Point Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Oct 19, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Marco and the crew at Horn Point Harbor Marina are great. Excellent customer service. They were standing by to assist when we pulled in. Good facilities, clean, quiet and parking for your visitors, which is a challenge in Annapolis during the boat shows. Eastport is close to everything in Annapolis without being in the middle of it all. We'll be back!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Whitehouse Cove Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Oct 12, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    A quiet and well maintained marina off the beaten path. Nice docks and a great restaurant on site. Poquoson is worth a visit!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Sep 15, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Everyone knows that AYB is the place to stop if you need to stage for the next leg of your trip north or south along the ICW - and they have a great reputation for service and support. We had a couple of minor problems that needed repairing. The work was performed in a couple of hours and we were on our way. Take time to walk around the property and get the feel of a working boat yard. The sheds are full of wonderful old boats. AYB is also a superb hurricane hole.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Coinjock Marina & Restaurant

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Sep 15, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Like everyone else says in the reviews, Coinjock is well managed, clean and squared away. From fishing boats to megayachts, everyone stops here. Call ahead, especially in the prime seasons. Strong currents in the channel so be prepared to ask for preferred tie-up.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Albemarle Plantation Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Sep 15, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Albemarle Plantation is one of those hidden secrets. Part of the Albemarle Loop that towns are promoting along the Albemarle Sound, the Plantation has plenty of docks, fuel, a great golf course and, most importantly, hospitality. The homeowners in the community own the marina and all common areas, so they are especially attentive. Finally, as part of the Albemarle Loop, you get two nights of dockage at no charge (this year they've added a small charge for electric.) The approach to the dock is easy, but pay attention to the marks. And, there are lots of crab pot buoys in the sound. If you draw over 6 feet, give the dock master a call for special guidance. If you plan on eating in the club house, check the hours of operation. Charming and quiet. This is our second visit in the past two years.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Anchorage Review for Broad Creek

    Reviewed by: Ed, Adonia, on Aug 17, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Overall Rating:
    4
    Holding:
    5
    Wind Protection:
    5
    Current Flow:
    5
    Wake Protection:
    5
    Scenic Beauty:
    3
    Ease of Shopping:
    3
    Shore Access:
    5
    Pet Friendly:
    5
    Cell Service:
    5
    WiFi:
    4

    There are not a lot of spots in Broad Creek...but it's a great little anchorage. Lots of marinas and boatyards around. Traffic is slow, so no wakes. No real wind issues, but usually a breeze when you need it. No bug issues. Plenty of places to walk the doggies ashore. Verizon is the cell service of choice. AT&T is OK, too. If you ask nicely, some of the marinas will give you their password for wifi (buy some fuel or visit with the dockmaster). There's a shuttle bus in the summer months (2016) that will take you to town for provisions. Marinas aren't too picky about you tying up your dinghy. Of course! It's Deltaville.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jul 21, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Zahniser's is a favorite of ours. Have been going for years. We just took our 60' classic yacht there for an evening. Great facility and a superb restaurant. Docking is a breeze and there were plenty of hands to help us get tied up. Several of their staff dropped by to say hello (they worked on Adonia last winter.) One of the best on the bay for service, facilities and know-how. Thanks, again, for taking care of us.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Faro Blanco Resort & Yacht Club

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jun 29, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Faro Blanco is a wonderful facility. We were there in May 2016 for the Marlow Marine Cruising Club 20th rendezvous. The staff members were on top of their game. Hospitality, facilities and ambiance are top notch. The docks and slips are all new and no expense has been spared. The Hyatt is also new. Plan on visiting this icon of the Keys. It's a great facility.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for York River Yacht Haven

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jun 28, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    York River is a great marina. We visited some friends there last spring and tied up for the day. Their ship store is superb and the restaurant is top notch. We didn't ask about a courtesy car, but you're not far from nearby restaurants on U.S. 17 and plenty of places to provision. There's also a little seafood shack that sells crabs, scallops, etc. in the parking lot of a convenience store on U.S. 17. He's not open all the time, but it's a great place to pick up something fresh when you decide to prepare dinner aboard.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Fishing Bay Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jun 27, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Fishing Bay Marina is charming. Quiet and secluded, it has a great staff and wonderful views of Fishing Bay. Deep water approaches and plenty of slips with Valvtect marine fuel. Chesapeake Boat Works is part of the marina operation, so if you need hauled out or any work done, the crew is on hand. We've stayed several weeks and enjoyed the ambience immensely. The courtesy car is available up until 5 pm, or so. Get your shopping done early. There's also a shuttle during the season. Pool, bathhouse, laundry and captain's lounge are all clean and squared away. Watch your approach into Fishing Bay from the Piankatank. Mind the markers before you make your turn. The shoal off of Stove Point is a long one.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Stingray Point Boat Works & Chesapeake Boat Works

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jun 27, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This isn't a marina but a great service yard. These guys are superb. Good craftsmen, painters, electricians, etc. I was on the hard for 4 months with my 1947 Trumpy. I can't say enough good things about the commitment to quality, service, teamwork and customer service.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dozier's Regatta Point Yachting Center

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jun 27, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Always a great marina experience. Clean, easy to approach, well staffed. Watch your entrance into Broad Creek. Stay in the channel. Look behind you every so often to make sure you're not drifting. Courtesy car and local shuttle (in season) will get you to town for provisions, etc. There's a big West Marine in town. Deltaville is a quiet and charming little town with a big seafood market (J&W) for those who like to prepare their own meals aboard. The hardware store (Hurd's) has just about everything for boaters.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Tidewater Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jun 27, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Tidewater is a great marina. Good staff, great restaurant on site and clean facilities and docks. Across from Norfolk, you can ferry over to visit downtown Norfolk, or walk into Portsmouth for restaurants and shops. We stayed last fall on the way south.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Waterside Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jun 27, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    The service is always good at Waterside. Floating docks are good and the breakwater protects you from harbor traffic. Waterside business district is undergoing renovation and will be up and running next season. But the hustle and bustle of downtown Norfolk is fun for a few nights. It's and easy walk to coffee shops and restaurants. Showers and laundry are undergoing renovation, but available. Quiet at night and security is good.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer