Reviews from Rob D (29)


  • Marina Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D , Liberty Call , on Apr 17, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 3

    This is a nice marina that is a great stopping spot. There is a lot of work going on to improve the marina including dredging of the entrance. We saw 7 ft all the way thru the channel. The grill is fantastic. We enjoyed both lunch and dinner. Bathroom and lounge are like new. Half the marina already has new wood docking. Lots of green space to walk the dog. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Dowry Creek Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Apr 16, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great marina. Friendly helpful dockhands. Good stop for fuel. Strong WiFi. Ships store is well stocked and the pool looks really nice. Nice area to walk a dog. A very quiet marina. Offered us a courtesy car as soon as we arrived.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Washington Waterfront Docks

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Apr 14, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Washington NC is a great little town with the city docks in a prime location. The dock hands are very knowledgeable, helpful and super friendly. Docks are fixed but the tide is only a foot. The town has some nice restaurants and a brewery opens the end of April. Lots of green space to walk the dog and lots of water dishes and dog treats are set out. This town was well worth the easy journey off the ICW. WiFi does not have sufficient strength at most piers. We stayed a week and loved it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Free Dock Review for Harding's Landing Marina, Bath State Dock

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Apr 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 1

    We went to pull into this dock today. The pilings are in good shape but the walkway boards have collapsed. Dock is unusable at the T head.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Grace Harbor at River Dunes

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Apr 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is a great marina. Easy to get into the marina and the fuel dock is an easy approach. Nice wide floating docks. A nice little store and 2 good restaurants. A nice pool and all the facilities are super clean. Lots of places to walk our dog with good sidewalks and lots of green space.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Church St. Town Dock

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Apr 6, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Floating dock with 100 ft face dock and a couple of slips that will hold larger boats. 30, 50 and 100 amp power available. This is 500 yards off the ICW so a lot less wake than the marinas right on the ICW. Right in the center of town. Lots of great restaurants. Great rates but no shower or bathrooms. This will be our first choice from now on. A few parks to take the dog to for a walk.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Casper's Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Apr 5, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Great dock hands. Made getting in and out fairly easy in a hard wind and quick current. Very friendly and helpful. Swansboro is a nice town with lots of good seafood.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Harbour Village Marina Inc.

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Apr 4, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great harbor master who provided a video and map of how to exactly get to our slip. Dock hands were superb. Everyone was friendly and treated us like they were thrilled we stopped in. All facilities are top notch and look brand new. Great neighborhood to walk the dog.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Bridge Tender Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Apr 3, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 1

    Very expensive for what you get. $3 a foot on docks that could use a lot of work. Power pedestals that make you wonder how much of it is going to come out with your power cord. No courtesy car and no amenities except there are two really nice restaurants next to the marina. No place to safely walk the dog. No sidewalks and very limited grass.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Zimmerman Marine - Holden Beach

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Apr 3, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Zimmerman worked on my autopilot and spotlight as we passed thru Holden Beach. This is a great facility with excellent staff. They were able to fix my autopilot that several others could not make work properly. With numerous yards on the east coast they can set up work at another of their facilities and ensure the parts are there in time. Great work at great price.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Holden Beach Transient Dock

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Apr 1, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is a hidden gem that we were lucky to find. Easy approach. 30 & 50 amp Power, water and pump out are available. One block from the ocean with easy access. The dock is right at a nice park with lots of things for kids. Plenty of really nice areas to walk a dog including the beach this time of the year.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Marina at Grande Dunes

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 31, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Nice wide docks. Tight turn coming into the marina that is challenging with current running. Anchor cafe is currently closed. Ruth Christie’s is right at the marina. Lots of very nice areas to walk a dog and a large unfenced area to let a dog run.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Osprey Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 30, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great stop. Very knowledgeable and friendly dock hands. Great place to get fuel. $1.00 ft and the best gift bag. Lots of room to walk our dog.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Harborwalk Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 29, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This continues to be one of our favorite stops. Chris and his team are top notch. Great service and friendly. They truly care that everything is great. We came in for 2 days and stayed 4 as the town has so much to offer. Great places to take the dog for long walks with large shade trees and large parks.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Leland Oil Company

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 25, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Easy run up Jeremy Creek with about 5.5 ft at low tide. Easy docking with a friendly staff. This is a great stop with fresh shrimp and a 1000 year tree. Lots of places to take a dog for a long walk. There are loose dogs running around the marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for St. Johns Yacht Harbor

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 24, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great dock hands. Friendly and very knowledgeable. Super nice facilities with the nicest laundry room you will find. Good place to walk the dog. Swimming pool looks great.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Lady's Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 23, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Well protected marina when the winds are blowing hard. Tom is a friendly and engaged owner. Liz makes the place run well. Fastest WiFi we have found in a marina so far. Lots of liveaboards who for the most part are very friendly. Great place to take the dog for a walk but there is a lot of glass in the parking lot. Hard to provision the boat as some of the docks are blocked from getting a cart to the boat by stairs and pedestals. The day that we arrived neither Tom or Liz was there so the dock hands were hard to fine and not monitoring the radio.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Safe Harbor Beaufort

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 15, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great location with lots to do in town. Great restaurants and shops. Lots of places to take the dogs for a long walk. Docks are worn out and WiFi might as well be nonexistent.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Shelter Cove Harbour & Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 13, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Shelter cove marina is a great stop that needs several days to enjoy everything available. So many great shops and restaurants. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The docks are super wide and look brand new. They are miles and miles of paved paths to walk dogs. We wish we had stayed longer.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Isle of Hope Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 10, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great stop right on the ICW. Good price on fuel with a 200 gallon discount. Nice loaner car and lost of grocery stores a short drive away. No sidewalks but lots of nice back roads to take a long walk with the dog. Fantastic dockhands make docking a breeze. Great info on bridges and tides heading north and south.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Sunbury Crab Co. Restaurant & Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 9, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Our favorite stay so far on the loop. Long face dock that was easy to get onto even despite rough weather. The restaurant is well worth the 8 mile side trip off the ICW. The ribeye steak was unbelievably good and my wife says the chargrilled shrimp was the best she ever had. The marina is located in an area with waterfront homes and lots of nice places to take our dog on long walks. Our second night here the restaurant was closed and the peace and quiet of the river was perfect.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Two Way Fish Camp

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 7, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Interesting place off the beaten path that is exactly as advertised. The restaurant was very good. The docks are solid but well worn and the electrical pedestals are in very rough shape. I wouldn’t want to walk a dog here once it gets warm. Too many prime alligators spots.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Jekyll Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Mar 6, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great Dock hands that are helpful and very welcoming. Golf carts and a shuttle are available. There are lots of great places to walk the dog for miles. A few neat little stores. The Georgia sea turtle center is close by and a great place to visit. The restaurant was very good and inexpensive. The only knock on the place are there are a few liveaboards that let their dogs bark and bark with no attempt to stop the barking.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Huckins Yacht Corp.

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Feb 27, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great boat yard. Service manager PJ is very customer focused. The quality of work is first rate at very reasonable prices. Our work was completed ahead of schedule and on budget. We were very impressed with the bottom painting, installing a stern thruster, wood work and electrical work. All the artisans are friendly and truly care about their work.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for The Marina at Ortega Landing

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Feb 19, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Nicest marina that we have stayed in. Great heated pool and hot tub. We stayed here during Covid-19 because of their extra cleaning protocols. Prior to Covid they thru fantastic parties every month with lots of food and drinks. Bruce is a great dock master who always manages to fit someone in. Cam is very engaged General Manager and is often walking the docks and talking to the boaters. A really nice home for liveaboards with good restaurants and a Publix nearby.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Free Dock Review for Jim King Park at Sisters Creek Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Feb 8, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great free Dock. Well built and in excellent shape. There are 6 boats tied up along the long dock. Current runs hard. There is sufficient room to turn around if you go just past the dock in front of the wood walkway. Lots of birds to watch. Nice areas to walk the dog.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Metropolitan Park Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Feb 5, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Free Dock by the Jacksonville Jaguars stadium. Nice floating docks with 30 & 50 amp power. Electric is free currently as the payment system is not working. Large park for dog walking. Strong current on the St John’s River can make docking hard. Outside docks get rocked hard by passing boats.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Amelia Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Jan 28, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Friendly staff. Nice courtesy car to explore the area or restock. Nice areas to walk the dog. The face dock we stayed on was slanted fairly significantly. Time arrival and departure for high tide. We saw 7 foot in the channel and basin at high tide.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Marina Review for Oasis Marinas at Fernandina Harbor

    Reviewed by: Rob D on Jan 28, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    The newly reopened docks are fantastic. Nicest dock we have tied up on in 5 years of traveling. Very wide walkway. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The town has lots of nice little shops and restaurants. No fuel yet but they has a great set up when they finish the repair.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer