Reviews: Charleston Maritime Center

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Charleston Maritime Center

    Reviewed by: David H on Apr 25, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 41'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    Compact little marina on the east side of Charleston.
    Pros: Very convenient proximity to grocery and downtown
    Cons: Rough waters, especially during an east wind, but then most places around Charleston are like this.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Charleston Maritime Center

    Reviewed by: Allan and Lindsay , SV Scout, on Mar 11, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 6.1'

    Rating: 3

    Convenient location to the city and directly off channel. Floating docks. You can catch wakes all night from large ships passing by. Note- during Covid... bathrooms and showers are not open). Free laundry between 8-5.
    Howie was a rockstar from the time of arrival... helping us get tied to the dock, fuel up, pump out, and with anything else we needed. He made the stay increasingly better with his kindness and helpfulness.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Charleston Maritime Center

    Reviewed by: Andreas , AKKA, on Nov 26, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 6.2'

    Rating: 4

    Small but perfect place close to the city. Very friendly staff helps docking, as tide currents have to be observed when entering the slip with or against the waterflow. Excellent Harris Teeter Supermarket is only a short walk away. Free washing machines and dryers are another plus. Wifi was reasonable.
    We would stay here again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Charleston Maritime Center

    Reviewed by: Robert A Sherer on Nov 6, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    This is my favorite marina in Charleston. It’s within walking distance to downtown and all the shops as well as within two blocks of a Harris Teeter supermarket. The hardware store by Harris Teeter is no more, oh well. The laundry is free and there’s WiFi some of the time; it’s not great.

    The marina can get rolly in an east wind, it’s not protected from that direction. Presently, it’s very noisy from pounding in a steel foundation for a new museum. I would not recommend the marina until the building is completed.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Charleston Maritime Center

    Reviewed by: Jonathan Walsdorf , M/V Golfinho, on Jun 16, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    Small excellent marina, staff was very cool, namely Logan, Christian and the manager Jeff. I look forward to returning to this place; it is convenient to lots of Charleston stuff.

    My only negative comment are regarding Mother Nature as the tide flow makes entering, docking and departing a bit problematic, but the help from the staff on the docks mitigates this substantially.

    My advice is to approach/depart during slack tide. This is a definite “come back” marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Charleston Maritime Center

    Reviewed by: Robert A Sherer , Fleetwing, on May 5, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    This is my favorite marina in Charleston. It’s within walking distance to downtown and all the shops as well as within two blocks of a Harris Teeter supermarket. There’s even a large hardware store by Harris Teeter. They have two new commercial grade washers and two dryers and, best of all, they are free! The docks are new since the old one were destroyed by hurricane Matthew. There is also an excellent nature center nearby as well as lots of attractions you can apply for in the kiosk by the laundry room.

    On the downside, it can be rocky in a southeast wind and also from passing boats. We don’t mind but others may.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Charleston Maritime Center

    Reviewed by: Mary on Nov 9, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 5.6'

    Rating: 3

    Nice location, but LOTS of current in the dockage. Also be aware of the tides when arriving, reported dockside depth of 20’ is not accurate for all docks. Some of the slips are far less - check with the marina before entering (we saw a 4’ shoal in their basin which is not marked.). The marina staff is very helpful, just verify depths before entering.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Charleston Maritime Center

    Reviewed by: Robert A Sherer , Fleetwing, on Jul 1, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    The location here is everything. It's a two block walk to a great supermarket, Harris Teeter, and downtown is only another two blocks with no worries about parking a car (since you're walking). They have two free washers and two free dryers. The only downside are wakes from passing boats or from a southeast wind. I don't mind but others may. The marina is currently closed due to hurricane damage but is due to reopen in the fall of 2018, we hope.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Charleston Maritime Center

    Reviewed by: mark 10 on Jun 1, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 2

    Decent but go to city marina for location.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer