Reviews: Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Doug Kern on Sep 9, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Brian and his wife and staff were very focused on customer service and our extended stay was one of the highlights of our trip from Beaufort, SC to MI. Very accommodating and would recommend anyone heading north or south to make Shady Harbor a must stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Shelly , Stage ii, on Sep 1, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 70'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great people own and work here! This marina came highly recommended with a great restaurant, pool and bbq. The owners are very visible to guests and Brian's laugh can be heard across the marina, it's infectious. The ship store allows package delivery so you can continue your Amazon buying habits while traveling the Hudson. The location is ideal for zipping up to Albany for the farmers market or borrowing one of the two loaner vehicles and going to town for provisions. The location is in a valley and freighters and tugs pass by sometimes twice a day. Really cool stuff to see with your morning coffee.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Webb , Doc's Aweigh, on Aug 22, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 54'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This is a great stop. We stayed 5 nights on the 'T' dock; had some chop but quite tolerable. The staff are great, knowledgeable, helpful. Had a steering hydraulic ram leak and mechanic and manager organized rebuild and then reinstalled and taught me what to do. Excellent restaurant on site - had take out. Only drawback might be lack of amenities close by but they have 2 courtesy vehicles which compensate. Would definitely stay again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: MALCOLM FARREL on Jul 25, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 23'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Shady Harbor is exposed to the river, but most commercial and recreational traffic slows to idle so minimal wakes. Docks are relatively new, in good shape with good power. Dock hands are knowledgeable and friendly. Nice restaurant on property and office has marine supplies and some grocery items.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Louise Anderson , Then Again, on Sep 2, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    This marina has it all. Brian is an excellent "host". I say "host" because you feel like he is welcoming you into his home, rather than being a customer at his business. He and his staff could not do enough for us, including receiving several packages. The Boathouse Grille, on premises, has delicious food for both lunch and dinner. We would highly recommend dinner reservations if you want to enjoy Prime Rib nights. Our berth was a side tie and very quiet/minimal wakes.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert LeMoine on Jul 22, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Stopped here for 2 nights in mid-June. Very nice folks. Got fuel, pump out and some time at the nice but small pool. Dinner was reasonable at the restaurant. They have a courtesy car you can use, which is great for a trip for food etc.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Eddy Johnsen , Spiritus, on Jun 21, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    The only thing this marina doesn't have is city noise and city lights (And that would be a good thing!). We absolutely cannot think of anything negative to say about their docks, restrooms, laundry room, ship's store, maintenance facility, swimming pool, marina staff or restaurant.
    If you're looking for a peaceful setting with all of the aforementioned sterling amenities, then look no further.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Kim on Aug 10, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is just a nice marina - well kept, friendly. Good fuel price for Valvtect in this neighborhood. Nice laundry, showers, pool in quiet setting. Well trained dock attendants etc. Restaurant was tasty. They just have it together. No one piece is the best I have seen but few if any places check all the boxes as well.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Tom Friers on Jun 23, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    We just completed a 13 day stay at Shady Harbor and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were treated like family. The owner, Brian drove me to Albany airport to pick up a rental car and was on the dock the morning we departed to help us and to say goodbye - wow! The marina and local yacht club hosted a pig roast/clam bake which was attended by crews from 20 transient looper boats. The restaurant, under head chef Brian, is fabulous and the Wifi is the best I have ever seen at a marina. I also had some minor maintenance done on my boat and they were timely, efficient, and reasonably priced. The location, the facilities and the people combine to make this a favorite.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Donovan's Shady Harbor Marina

    Reviewed by: Kittredge,Deborah , Winds of Change, on May 27, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 30'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Stopped here to put our boat up for 6 weeks while we ran home in the middle of doing the Great Loop. Nick, the manager, and his staff are knowledgeable, professional and friendly. This is a full service marina, fuel, service department, wonderful restaurant on site with a beautiful view of the river, and a ships store complete with dairy meats and cheeses along with the usual snacks. Bathrooms are clean. Saw them being cleaned each day we were here. Could use a few extra hooks for clothing in the stalls. We feel very comfortable leaving our boat here knowing she will be well taken care of.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer