Reviews: Alligator River Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: P. Adams , Wicked Good, on Apr 22, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 48'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    Ducked in here for the night as our plans for anchoring were foiled due to high winds. We were concerned about depth on approach but was assured by Marina that they dredge regularly and to stay in the middle of the channel. We draw 5’ 8”; came in at low tide; and had no problem. Lowest reading on depth sounder was 5.5’ but we never bumped or turned up bottom. For this we are very happy! No water dockside as the spigot is broken. Did not use facilities. Husband had a couple of hot dogs from the cafe and they were delish!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: P. Adams , Wicked Good, on Apr 22, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 48'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    Ducked in here for the night as our plans for anchoring were foiled due to high winds. We were concerned about depth on approach but was assured by Marina that they dredge regularly and to stay in the middle of the channel. We draw 5’ 8”; came in at low tide; and had no problem. Lowest reading on depth sounder was 5.5’ but we never bumped or turned up bottom. For this we are very happy! No water dockside as the spigot is broken. Husband had a couple of hot dogs from the cafe and they were delish!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob D , Liberty Call , on Apr 17, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 3

    This is a nice marina that is a great stopping spot. There is a lot of work going on to improve the marina including dredging of the entrance. We saw 7 ft all the way thru the channel. The grill is fantastic. We enjoyed both lunch and dinner. Bathroom and lounge are like new. Half the marina already has new wood docking. Lots of green space to walk the dog. Beautiful sunsets and sunrises.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Gin Price on Dec 31, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 1

    We grounded here next to the sea wall after the manager assured us there was plenty of water for us in the channel and that we were in the deepest part of the channel. Lots of barely submerged piles near us at the channel edge as we were working to unground. We spent the night on the hook in an exposed Alligator River spot instead. Tides here are wind-driven and have been low, but we would have appreciated more honesty from management.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Michael Doherty , Endurance, on Dec 8, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 2

    We were told that we should have no problems with a 5'1" keel getting in and out. We 'bumped in' and could not get out - had to be towed. If you draw more than 4' keep going. Very nice people who keep everything clean and in good working order. Once they get the channel dredged I'll be back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Ray Parrish on May 20, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 51'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 3

    There are a number of positives here at Alligator River Marina. The people are great and provide a good service. Wi-Fi is great and the marina harbor is well protected. Wi-Fi is very good. We streamed Netflix very successfully with no data limit. The facilities, however, could use some work.
    The entrance channel has silted in, but is supposed to be dredged out sometime in the future. I was told by the Dockmaster that I should have plenty of water on the starboard side of the channel, but we did not. We had zero depth below our 4.5’ keel on the way in and bumped the bottom. There are signs of repairing storm damage on the docks with some new decking on the docks over by the showers. The water here is well water and not recommended for putting in your boat. The shower heads were mostly clogged with rust colored mineral deposits. The showers work, but are not ideal. The food is pretty good. The eat-in dining room is closed due to Covid-19, but the take-out is good. The Marina could be much better. I think the gas station/convenience store takes priority over marina operation and maintenance. This is our second time here since this marina is in a good location between Coinjock and Belhaven. We hope they work to improve the facilities here soon.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Anita Smith on May 9, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    9’ on approach from main channel. Once at the daymakers at the entrance the depth goes to 5.2 ft until you reach the face dock on the left and then it goes back down to 8’. Great protection inside. We were charged $1.75/ft w/o electric which seemed high for what it is there. Certainly a good stop between Belhaven and Elizabeth City. diesel was $2.43.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton , Short Dog II, on Mar 11, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    It’s still being remodeled but is quiet, friendly and affordable. It’s also a gas station and convenience store. They serve meals too and the chicken dinner is fantastic. The 8 piece meal will serve two.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Brad on Feb 27, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 48'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    New docks in 1/2 the marina and understand dredging to be completed before spring. Updates in the store. Friendly staff with great grill. Improves every time we visit.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob Irvine on Nov 7, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    Very good location. Makes for a short trip from Coinjock. Water supply not so good. Docks need some repair. The bathrooms are clean. This marina has potential but it's not there yet.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Tina Pickell , Jessie's Encore, on Nov 7, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 62'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Quiet protected marina with minimal facilities, really a gas station, quick mart with dockage. Grassy areas are neatly mowed-- good for pet walking. Dock are in nice shape.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Sherer , Fleetwing, on Oct 8, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Good WiFi, protected.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Docford , Last Dance, on Jul 15, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Have to agree with the many positive comments about Alligator River Marina. Great people. The dockmaster actually knew how to use a spring line to pull the boat sideways to the dock. Did so without being asked. It is well protected. There is a huge grassy area right next to the dock for dock walking with grass that would make any homeowner proud. Interesting restaurant. Nice individual bathrooms.

    The only drawbacks - not really criticism - is the high sulfur and iron content well water and the fact that they close at 6 pm on Sunday and 7 pm on all other days. Who closes a restaurant and gas station at 6 pm? Just plan dinner early and fill your water tanks elsewhere. Enjoyable stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Brian McLamb on Jul 2, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 18'
    Draft: 1.0'

    Rating: 4

    Excellent service at cafe. Very affordable ramp fee and bagged ice. Enjoyed fish sandwiches and gator bites. Clean facilities well maintained. Ramp is solid concrete and gradual incline so easy to use.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Harry on Jun 15, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Nice protected marina. Pumpout does not work. Dock attendant was helpful explaining the services available and location of bathhouses.
    A little noise from the highway but not a problem.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Sherer , Fleetwing, on Oct 12, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    It’s a gas station with marina slips. However, the marina is very protected from any wave action by two long jetties. It was secure enough that I chose to ride out Hurricane Michael here tied to the bulkhead, we did fine.

    They have a small restaurant inside that cooks to order. I would recommend sampling the ice cream cones, very good.

    Miss Wanda is no longer there, she sold the marina to the present owners. The dock hand does a good job with your lines. They have washers and dryers. There is nothing else nearby.

    A big plus is outstanding WiFi! I measured 40 Mbps!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Ontheroad on Jul 31, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Met by dockmaster who was attentive with lines. Offered ride to office on golf cart. Easy entrance for face docking. Local water had "taste" so used onboard water. Excellent wifi connection. Does not have unleaded. Has restaurant for meals.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Sherer , Fleetwing, on Jun 30, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    The great advantage of this marina is the location. There are anchorages nearby but then you risk fuzzy bills. If you happen to hit an anchorage during spawning, your boat will be covered in green slime.

    The marina is a filling station with docks and a small restaurant. The internet works and the people are friendly and refueling is easy with usually good prices. Don't miss getting an ice cream cone before they close at night.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Eddy Johnsen , Spiritus, on Apr 24, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This may not be a "must visit" location, but if the weather turns ugly on the Albemarle you'll be glad it's here! It is safe, protected, and meets the essential needs of cruisers. The friendly staff will make you feel like a local. Grounds are well-groomed and wooden docks are regularly maintained. The boater's lounge is very comfortable and has Direct TV. The wi-fi is exceptionally good. Four clean, individual bathrooms with showers. Note: This marina is located out in the country and only has well water on the property.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Alexander on Dec 8, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 65'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Have been visiting for many years and my recent visit found the marina and grounds in great condition with the marina and restaurant staff eager to accommodate boaters any way that they can. Hard to beat that fried chicken!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Gabriel Mondragon on Oct 6, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 26'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Absolutely fantastic place. Great prices on beer, wonderful staff. 10/10

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Janet on Jul 7, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Read some bad reviews but the marina is under new ownership as of this week. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very dog friendly with large green spaces to run Fido. Showers are clean but not updated yet. They appear to be working on them. Easy to navigate the entry and plenty of water, dockside 6-7 ft. Calm protected basin.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Bill L on May 24, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    I did not have great expectations for this marina, but I was wrong. Great staff, good food and wonderfully clean showers. Solid dock. What they have is in top condition.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Nov 20, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 3

    Very friendly staff. Great fried chicken at the gas station. Restrooms/showers okay however no hand soap or paper towels. Slips, restrooms, laundry and a gas station. That's it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Jim Hughes on Nov 17, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 47'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Fine establishment. Everyone made us feel welcomed. Make sure you have breakfast. Excellent

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Alligator River Marina

    Reviewed by: Edward Hoyles on Jun 1, 2016

    Alligator River Marina: 
    Easy entrance, good people, easy fueling, clean and local combo store and diner.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer