Reviews: Shadows Marina

These are observations from the boating community. Waterway Guide information is verified regularly and all efforts will be made to validate any new updates submitted here. Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your experience.

Waterway Guide reserves the option of editing reviews and comments for grammar, clarity and the removal of defamatory or potentially slanderous language. When appropriate, reviews are forwarded to businesses for response prior to being made public. We will make every effort to be objective and impartial when posting reviews, but do not publicize details of disputes between parties.

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

Shadows Marina

Poughkeepsie, NY
Hudson River 76.0 LDB

4.44(18)
4.44 out of 5 stars

  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Tony Green on Jun 17, 2024
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 26'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 4

    Easy to book by phone. Beautiful floating docks, with water and electric. Bathrooms and showers are minimal, but met our needs. Very rolly location from wind, waves and wakes. Harbormaster Keith takes good care of you and locals are friendly. We didn't find much to do in Poughkeepsie, but the train station is a 15-minute walk. Be sure and check out the Walkway Over The Hudson pedestrian/bike bridge.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: amy , Jessica Grace, on Jun 12, 2024
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    New floating "U shaped" dock with adjustable cleats, welcoming/friendly dockmaster, dog friendly, close to downtown. $2/ft, includes shorepower and water.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Ray Sirois , Shellerina, on Jun 8, 2024
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great friendly crew. Keith handled lines and cleat adjustments. Docks new and floating. Restaurant onsite. Departure was windy but Keith and crew guided us. Thank You Shadows Marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Roger Corbin on Jun 27, 2023
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 4

    Yesterday i came in here in a driving rain. Keith brought me in got me secured on the dock with the help of two other boaters who just offered help. I watched as they did the same for three other boats coming in through driving rain and lightening. The docks are excellent the restaurant on site is good with a spectacular view.
    As mentioned the restrooms are in a trailer but very clean. The place is a great little stop but not a sight seeing stop. Although the natural scenery is good from the dock.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Gary Miller on May 20, 2023
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 76'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great marina, great restaurant, Keith is terrific, good water at dock, great docks, cleats are terrific as they slide to where you want or need them, very good idea.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: DeeDee H on Aug 31, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 4

    Nice marina and excellent harbor master who even adjusted the cleats for us. Marina is subject to strong currents and wind. Trailer with restrooms and showers. Restaurant on site but did not eat there. Uber to Culinary Institute of America was the highlight here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Jib Davidson on Jun 28, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.2'

    Rating: 5

    We just spent three nights at this dock, and I must say that we enjoyed our stay. Captain Keith was great, and yes, he even offered to bring us breakfast if he stops for his breakfast. Fair enough. We do come in under heavy winds, but Captain Keith was really helpful with our docking. They do have modern floating docks with adjustable cleats, full 120 V power and good water. On the negative side, the showers and toilets are in a portable trailer, and my wife took one look and said "no way". That was the end of that. We took an Uber to the Vanderbilt house, FDR's house, and had a great meal at the Culinary Institute of America. Missing the CIA would be a mistake. Additionally, the train depo is 15 minutes away and the downtown area has plenty of restaurants. Worth a day or two. Tell Captain Keith we said hello.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Peter Colket , Dreamcatcher, on Jun 9, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 2.9'

    Rating: 1

    Aside from the positive comments about Keith, I have to disagree with the previous reviews. We docked in a 15+kt wind against the substantial current producing a two-foot chop through the marina. The floating docks in 40 feet of water do not attenuate the waves. We docked safely only because of Keith's skills with the help of three fellow boaters on the docks, then spent the night bouncing. The small heads/showers are located in a trailer. There's nothing of interest in walking distance, and nothing of interest that can't be reached from other marinas by car or Uber. We will not stop here again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: David Casada , Blueshift, on Jun 8, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 49'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Captain Keith has professional seamanship skills and enough wry humor to keep you from feeling inadequate. Modern floating docks with adjustable cleats and plenty of smooth dock side for fenders to protect you from occasional wakes. Full 120 Volt power at pedestals along with high pressure 135 ppm fresh water, but no fuel or pump out. Easy access to Hyde Park by public or hired transport. We rode through a small storm with 30 mph winds and rough water with no problems.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Paula Adams on May 24, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 48'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 5

    Loved our stay at Shadows Marina! The docks are first class; the power really good; fresh water excellent. Two things really make this marina - 1) Capt. Keith the dock master! What a guy! So helpful and expedient in helping us dock; will pick breakfast up for you if you'd like (as long as it's where he's getting his breakfast ;) - spins a great yarn and lots of laughs. 2) the Shadows restaurant is excellent! The hilltop view of the Hudson is fabulous as is the decor. The food is as good as the view! Will definitely stop here again!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Gary Miller on Sep 24, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 76'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Absolutely first class, great floating docks, good power, 2 x 50, fresh water, nothing I can add about Capt. Keith, he is one of the reasons I come here. 45' of water at outside docks. Easy in & out paralleling the river. Restaurant is excellent. I will continue to stop here on a continual basis.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Blabarge on Jul 26, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 5

    Captain Keith could not be more accommodating, helping us into marina during swift tide. Got us ice, gave directions on things to do in area. Restaurant is beautiful, inside bar gorgeous with outside bar as well. Would stay here again

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Wade A. on Jun 17, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Pro: Modern floating docks, good water and power, Capt Keith is super helpful. Locals and transients mix well. The restaurant is very good. Good access to town. Price is right. Good dog walking.
    Con: Shoreside services consist of one 3-room toilet/shower trailer and 2 trash barrels. Tidal current can be challenging at times. No breakwater. Docks get rolly in wind and wakes.

    Conclusion: Worth a stop in good weather. Leave your ego below and let Capt Keith coach you thru entrance/exit at high current, He really knows his stuff. (He had us back into the entrance, bow to the current, and taught us to crab sideways into our slip. Wow)

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob Dare , Liberty Call , on May 25, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Great marina with a 5 star restaurant. Best meal on the great loop so far. Keith is excellent at helping get a boat in under rough conditions. He also took the time to go over our plans for the transit north and the Erie Canal. We learned a lot from his experience. So many great places to take the dog on a long walk.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Gary Miller on May 16, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 76'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    First class Marina, Great docks, great power, great dockmaster, Kevin is a pro. Food at restaurant was very good.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: MALCOLM FARREL on Jul 25, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 23'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 3

    Shadows would get a 5 star if not for its exposure to wakes and the river's current. The docks are new and Keith the dock master knows his marina and is a good at guiding you in and out when the current is running. Shadows restaurant at the top of the dock is first rate.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Diane GREENE , Boatel , on Oct 26, 2018
    LOA: 65'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    5-star service. The dockmaster Keith is the best...so helpful. Great service, beautiful new solid docks, stunning view and great restaurant nearby. Loved it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Shadows Marina

    Reviewed by: Howard Entman on Aug 5, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This place was fabulous! 5 starts doesn't do it justice.

    The docks are in great shape, the wifi is excellent, and the power is good. Of special importance is the dockmaster, Keith. He is super knowledgeable about everything marine, and is always willing to help. I needed some diesel fuel in a can to use changing my Racor filters, and he drove to the gas station to pick some up for me. What service!!!

    We docked on the outside dock, and there was an occasional wake from passing barges, but it was just fine for us in a 45 foot boat.

    We will definitely stop here again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer

View in Waterway Explorer