Reviews: Homer Smith Docks and Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Homer Smith Docks and Marina

    Reviewed by: John Tyrell on May 12, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 3.7'

    Rating: 5

    Best marina in Beaufort. Skip the drama of docking in the swift current of Taylor Creek (Beaufort Town Docks) and stay at Homer Smith marina. Everyone here (Tony, Matt, Dan) is very friendly and competent. Clean shower, bathroom, free laundry, two courtesy cars. Short walk to town. Good pizza delivery from Loretta's.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Homer Smith Docks and Marina

    Reviewed by: Tom Hedge on May 10, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great people - the staff & the many helpful liveaboards; great location - 4 blocks to downtown; 2 courtesy cars; FREE pumpout, ice, & laundry; Tony, Matt, & Dan were so helpful and accommodating when we had to extend our stay because of my wife's injury, and Dan does canvas work & repairs; Barbour's Marine Supply has a large inventory with great prices & is about a mile away; Eastard Marine Supply has great prices on just about every SS screw, bolt, & nut possible and is a short drive away; and Beaufort is a great town with many good restaurants, bars, and shops. We loved our stay at Homer Smith's!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Homer Smith Docks and Marina

    Reviewed by: BaltoMark on Nov 17, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great place! They let us come in just for a pumpout when the "other" marina downtown (where we had paid handsomely for a slip for 2 nights) made it almost impossible to get one. We will be back to Homer Smith.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Homer Smith Docks and Marina

    Reviewed by: Doris Nurenberg , Moondance, on Jun 14, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    This is our second stay with them. In 2019 and 2020. This is a terrific stop on the ICW! State of the art floating docks. Knowledgeable friendly and helpful staff and family owned. Clark and the entire staff made our stay here very enjoyable. Clean facilities, ample power, and the best WiFi service at any marina we’ve experienced.
    Located right in downtown Historic Beaufort and minutes away from Morehead City it is an excellent location. With groceries and wonderful restaurants a short stroll away. We will definitely stay again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Homer Smith Docks and Marina

    Reviewed by: Wendy Nichols on Jan 4, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great new docks, super people, free laundry and a loaner car make this a good place to stop. A short walk downtown means everything is accessible. One shower and toilet mean it can get busy! Access can be exciting in a wind and tide but highly recommended.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Homer Smith Docks and Marina

    Reviewed by: Pete Stott , Salsa, on Nov 16, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    Nice marina! The marina is a 3 block walk through the charming town to the commercial/restaurant area. Unlike the town docks, this marina does not contend with current/wake. Loaner car, single shower and free laundry. Very nice people. This is an active shrimp dock/store...be nice to them and they may give you a free pound of fresh shrimp.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Homer Smith Docks and Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Sherer , Fleetwing, on Jun 30, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Homer Smith has all the makings of a good marina:
    Good docks: Check, new ipe lumber
    Good WiFi: Check, OnSpot WiFi
    Washer and dryers: Check, free but only one of each
    Showers: Check, brand new,
    Loaner car: Check, no charge
    Nearby attractions: Check, all of Beaufort, NC is within three blocks

    I've stayed here three times so far. It a working dock and they have shrimp boats and off-shore fishing boats come in all the time. Fresh shrimp is usually available and other varieties of fish. It's a great stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Homer Smith Docks and Marina

    Reviewed by: Eddy Johnsen , Spiritus, on Apr 20, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Don't let looks deceive you! This marina, run by a former commercial fisherman, is home to an active fleet of fishing boats. But their floating docks are in excellent shape. The very clean restroom, shower, and free washer & dryer almost seem out of place in this working man's marina! The best wi-fi we've ever had anywhere! A free loaner vehicle is available for those needing to get provisions. Beaufort's Front Street is only three blocks away, offering numerous culinary establishments to satisfy your palate, historic homes to feed your love of history and local retail shops to help you part with your money!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer