Reviews: Sabine Pass Port Authority Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Sabine Pass Port Authority Marina

    Reviewed by: John Grim , Mystic Wind, on Feb 26, 2020
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.2'

    Rating: 5

    Clean, modern and staffed with nice people. Pump out dock is shallow for my draft (5'5") but was no problem at high tide. Great security with fences and gate, cameras and 24 hour personnel. One washer and drier but they work well. Clean showers with good hot water. Diesel and gas pumps 24 hour self serve. Live bait shop in season. Very good location near jetties and well protected from waves, not so much for wind. No nearby food shopping. Pulled in for overnight stay. Extended due to weather, ended up staying 30 days. Again, staff is super friendly, helpful and pet friendly, if on leash.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Sabine Pass Port Authority Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton , Flying Cloud, on Sep 18, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 41'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Update to my previous review. Anyone coming to this marina needs to be aware that the entrance can be a little dangerous at certain times. The channel is only about 60’ wide with heavy, rusty, metal bulkheads on each side. If a ship has passed out in the river it pushes so much water through that narrow entrance that it raises the water level in the marina by nearly a foot. The problem is, that all that water coming in is moving like a river. It comes in and then reverses direction in a matter of minutes and the outflow is even stronger, running about three knots. The turbulence can put you into the wall very quickly. So, when approaching take note if there has been any ship traffic in the last ten minutes. Approach slowly and if you see any current flowing in the entrance, wait a few minutes before going in. This review is not meant to say anything negative about this place. All the reviews are correct. We liked the place so much we’ve been here three months.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Sabine Pass Port Authority Marina

    Reviewed by: Len Barton , Flying Cloud, on Aug 2, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 41'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is one of the best marinas we’ve stayed in for the last forty years. I can’t say enough about it. Shopping is in Port Arthur, 15 miles away. But that’s part of the attraction. We’ve decided to stay a few months and finish boat projects

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Sabine Pass Port Authority Marina

    Reviewed by: GARY HAECKER on Dec 18, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Rating: 5

    Stopped here after a 6 day trip from Miami on the way to Corpus Christi. Docked the boat for a week then came back and finished the trip. Can't say enough about the staff, absolutely great folks. A very well maintained facility, keep up the great work.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Sabine Pass Port Authority Marina

    Reviewed by: Judd Robertson , Capt Paul, on Oct 22, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great place, almost everything is new, employees are the best, management is really great.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Sabine Pass Port Authority Marina

    Reviewed by: Ken , Mystic, on Apr 12, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Nice,secure, and great staff. Agree with first review about entering Sabine Lake on the north side; grounding waiting to happen

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Sabine Pass Port Authority Marina

    Reviewed by: Chris Himmelheber on Dec 3, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    Refueled here. Self-serve, and (I think) open 24/7. Very nice lady helped me tie up (motoring single-handed). But beware! When I told her I had come through the cut West of the unnamed island, she said I was lucky to make it through the “boat graveyard.” She strongly recommended only entering through the Southwest opening. Upon entering the marina, the pumps are immediately on the right.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Sabine Pass Port Authority Marina

    Reviewed by: Smackdaddy on Aug 17, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    We had our boat at this marina for a year following an engine failure. The people here are just tremendous. I can't stress that enough. The marina itself is a bit sparse, but very well-tended and nice. Restrooms, laundry, ice - and even a great bait shop near the east pavilion and fishing area (find David). It's a bit remote, with only a convenience store within walking distance. However, you can't beat the security of this place. Overall, we really enjoyed our time here and recommend it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer