Reviews: Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Capt Matt on Aug 14, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 52'
    Draft: 4.8'

    Rating: 5

    AYB is very responsive and a great place to stop if you need any repairs or refits. Very responsive. Ed, the dock hand knows the place like the back of his hand and James Taylor, the service manager, knows how to get things done quickly and efficiently.

    If your just looking for a quick one night stop, there are free docks In a city park across the canal, but, no power or water.

    The area is a good stop in either direction as it sits on the south end of the great bridegroom lock. Fuel price was good too, 0.50 less than Coinjock.

    FYI, docks are fixed, I saw no gaps and considerable new wood.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Docford , Last Dance, on Jul 15, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 2

    "We are really not a marina," commented the dockmaster in response to my question about available facilities during the registration process. Have to agree with him.

    You would think that a place that puts up slick ads with beautiful photos about their boatyard would also have a beautiful marina. Not so. Not very picky, but I would never take a shower in their facility. The docks are rough with large gaps between boards. Our dog's leg fell through. There is an area that could be grassy for a dog walk, but it is mostly mud. Atlantic may be a great boatyard, but it is a marginal marina for transients.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Mike on Oct 2, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Chesapeake has a lot to offer and is accessible from this facility. Great staging point to grab supplies / provisions before heading towards Coinjock.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Ron on Jul 21, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 57'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Wintered the boat in the shed, well protected, safe and secure. High quality work and without question they stand behind their work product. Services exceeded expectations, highly recommend.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: A. Baker , Magnolia, on Apr 30, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Came in for a repair which went well other than a parts delay. Dock hands were helpful. Taylor was especially friendly. Enjoyed our stay and Chesapeake itself. Understand that it is primarily a boatyard, but facilities and docks are due for an update.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Ed Tillett , Adonia, on Jul 11, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    AYB remains a top notch facility. Dedicated and attentive crew always willing to assist. Nothing fancy here - but a landmark on the ICW since 1936. Good fuel prices and within easy walking distance to restaurants and stores in Great Bridge. Quiet and secure. One of our favorite stops.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Lucy Wilcox on Dec 13, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 3.9'

    Rating: 5

    Quick and professional help with docking and fueling. The marina is a great place to walk the dog and there are many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: John Harris , Sea Saga, on Oct 11, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    Widely believed to be the best repair and maintenance yard in the world. First class skills and first class service.
    Can I say more !

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Atlantic Yacht Basin, Inc.

    Reviewed by: Ed Tillett , Adonia, on Sep 15, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Everyone knows that AYB is the place to stop if you need to stage for the next leg of your trip north or south along the ICW - and they have a great reputation for service and support. We had a couple of minor problems that needed repairing. The work was performed in a couple of hours and we were on our way. Take time to walk around the property and get the feel of a working boat yard. The sheds are full of wonderful old boats. AYB is also a superb hurricane hole.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer