Reviews: Topsail Island Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Gin Price on Dec 31, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Not taking transients right now

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Joe Longtin on Feb 4, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    Stayed here last November before storing the boat for the winter. Now after 2 months of maintenance we are back to stage the next leg of our trip south. Surf City is a spot that will keep pulling you back when you are in the area. Dockmaster Dee is the best. She will spot you making the corner into the channel, guide you to your slip, help you dock, and get you checked in. After that, a short walk and you are on one of the best beaches on the east coast. Bring your leashed pets for a great stroll along the waves.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: francis Kilcoyne , Phoenix, on Dec 9, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 49'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is a wonderful little marina in a beautiful beach town. Dee met us at the dock and was as friendly as she was helpful. Her local knowledge of the shoals was invaluable. On top of that it was only a two block walk to the beach. Excellent stay!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Jelles Fonda , Talulah, on Nov 20, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Not a fancy gated resort, but wonderful in it's own beach town way ..small, clean, very nice floating docks, pump out that worked great, easy walk to Surf City Pier, restaurants, grocery, beach concessions, and miles of beautiful Atlantic beach.
    Best of all is Dee, the Dockmaster. Easy to contact on VHF, gave clear directions for approach, professional docking assistance, and friendly welcome to the town.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Rob Irvine on Nov 15, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great little, marina. There was plenty of water to approach the fuel dock and slips. Nice location. Close to the beach (2 blocks) nice eateries. Dockmaster Dee was very helpful. A little walk to the very clean restrooms. Only criticism wifi is a little weak. Not a lot of slips so make your reservations early.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Sherer , Fleetwing, on Nov 6, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    This is a small marina, there’s only room for 2 or 3 boats. Be sure to make reservations in advance. The attraction is Surf City and the several fine restaurants nearby. It’s only a two block walk to the beach. Be sure to go next door and buy some fresh seafood for dinner or your freezer. They have everything on display over ice. They are open until 7:00 pm.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Jonathan on Oct 29, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 31'
    Draft: 4.9'

    Rating: 5

    The service was absolutely great !
    Dee is very nice and friendly!
    The kids loved the place !!
    The shops around are great too ! If you need help they will help !!!

    Very nice town !

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Sue Johnson , First Forty, on Jul 11, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Have stayed here twice and both times were great. Dee is a fabulous Harbormaster, very helpful and personable. Yes, a little shallow coming in and there are only about 15 slips. Once your here, easy to walk to local restaurants.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Alonzo Taylor on Dec 13, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 30'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Service excellent. Dee was by far the best dockhand I have run across. Things couldn't have gone better unless I had interfered with her actions.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Nov 19, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Low key (read the other reviews), good internet, walk to grocery. I called the phone # in Waterway Guide to make a reservation. This place is small and can fill up quickly.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Burton on Nov 6, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Captain James is very accommodating , he will work with you in every way possible. As with many others we thought the channel was shallow but it has been dredged since our attempt three years ago. If you stay in the middle and keep away from the marsh you will do fine. We are a 60’ vessel with a 16’ beam and 4.5 draft and we managed maneuvering in the area fine. The facilities ie: showers ,restroom, laundry ($1 wash $1 dry ) got a lower rate by us due to sharing with the restaurant is not 5* but they do have them and they do work and they are clean and that’s worth a 4*. And FYI Captain James is addressing the concerns that everyone has given and working to make more secure. Internet is available for FREE! and grocery, restaurants, along with the beach are all just steps away. Perfect. When you miss your bridge opening and need to stop I recommend Topsail Marina and Captain James!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Elizabeth Kelch on May 29, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 13.0'

    Rating: 4

    Our cruising day showed limited marina and anchorage options in the area which meant pulling in here or keep cruising for quite a ways. We tried to get the marina on the phone at a couple different numbers we’d found and on the radio. No answer, total radio silence. The other folks we were cruising with had been in here before, so we followed going east off the ICW, and pulled up to a fuel dock at the end on the starboard side but there was no staff in sight. Just as I was ready to lasso a cleat from on board, a gentleman who looked and acted like marina staff (and turned out to actually be the tourist boat captain), ran up and offered to catch my line. After we tied up we got the whole lowdown.

    The facilities have been through some management issues and changed hands, but since it’s one of the few options in the area, they’ve been able to keep it up and running. They run small evening tourist cruises out of here, there seems to be no office on site, and the bathroom and shower are in the back of a restaurant/ice cream shop, but because of the less than ideal conditions we got a good deal on the per foot rate. With no office on site and James being the tourist boat captain, I get the impression there is not regular monitoring of the marina. Since we pulled in late and on a holiday weekend I expect whatever office facilities they have were closed for the weekend.

    What made this stop really work out well was the town. After we were tied up, we walked less than a mile to the ocean where there’s a nice beach that’s not crowded, a couple ocean front restaurants and a long fishing pier. Along the walk to the ocean, we found a craft beer and pizza place. There’s a small town IGA grocer along the road too. The whole place has the feel of a pleasant, relaxed beach town.
    James, the gentleman who looked and acted like marina staff and caught our lines, and who captains the tourist cruises, told us about how the guy who ran the fuel dock left last year, so there may or may not be fuel in the tank, but they can’t pump it. They hoping to have the fuel service back up and running next week.
    All in all, I give this marina a thumbs up. Unless you’re looking for a resort area, this has all you need.
    Their phone number at the time of this writing, May2018, is 910 650 3223.
    For an expanded version of this review checkout:

    http://elizabethkelch.com/travelogue/let-s-stop-here-just-because-we-ve-not-been-here-before

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Sherer , Fleetwing, on Mar 25, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 3

    The attraction of this marina is access to Surf City which has a grocery store and many restaurants. Don’t expect any help docking unless it’s from another boater. I’ve never met the dockmaster, he’s always requested payment over the phone. The docks are nice enough and it’s protected from all wakes and waves.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Topsail Island Marina

    Reviewed by: Frank Kuppersmith on Jun 1, 2016

    Topsail Island Marina: Perfect place to stop between Moorehead City and Southport. Easy in and out. Staff very accommodating.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer