Reviews: St. Augustine Municipal Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Ross Wiltse on Apr 16, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 4

    Good floating docks, staff helped us into the slip as there is strong current when tides are moving. Plan accordingly. Easy access to all the historical locations within walking downtown. Bridge noise was tolerable. There is construction just South of the marina that starts fairly early. Overall, we would stay here again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Heath Phillips , Philyria , on Apr 15, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 5

    Stayed on a mooring for a week. I had a great experience, but only dealt with marina staff once. I would stay again. Dinghy Dock gets crowded, so plan on leaving your outboard down and using a long line to secure the dinghy.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Roger Battistoni on Jan 18, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 100'
    Draft: 8.0'

    Rating: 1

    After owning and running boats for the last 10 years, including currently one of the few owner/operators of a 100 foot vessel, I can easily come to the conclusion that St Augustine Municiple Marina is the worst marina that I have ever visited ……. ever….

    The word worst means so many things in this case. Having stayed at this marina for almost 6 weeks, the word worst means some of the worst dock hands I have ever experienced, in customer service, quality of work and attitude. Not a day would go by would I see or be told by another boater that they are leaving because of the poor treatment they received by the staff….

    Worst also means the facility, during our stay, we never had full power (we required dual 100’s), however the two 50’s we were given were tripping at 30 amps. We were told a 100 amp would be installed for us… it never happened.

    Finding a hose is always a challenge, fuel hoses are always uncoiled making a tripping hazard… fuel spills are a common hazard and are never correctly cleaned up, electric on their “mega dock” does not work properly… packages are left at a unsecured location that anyone can access.. the list goes on and on.

    Worst also means their leadership, the Dock Master could care less about you, your vessel or your stay. He is a known issue and it was told to us that he has a “stack” of complaints against him. We had been communicating to him months before our arrival, and were given options for 3 slips… one of them the fuel dock. We made it very clear to him that we would not want the fuel dock. Only to find out 2 hours prior to arrival after we had been underway for 72 hours, the fuel dock, was indeed where he planned on putting us. On arrival after trying to seek explanations, we were told it was due to “other reservations”. Only to find out we were flat out lied to, as it was an existing power issue on the mega dock that dates back months … in other words the other two docks were not even a possibility.

    Finally .. billing. At marinas, after you stay a month, if you leave the following month in the middle of the month, marinas always will prorate your monthly dockage rate to a daily rate and then charge you only for the additional number of days. Oh no.. not here, they will try to gouge you either for the normal daily rate or ask you to pay another full month. Only after pushback did they indicate they had done the pro-rated monthly rate in the past... just trying to get you to pay more……. Wow .. poor business....

    Needless to say there are better marinas around.. Eventually the word will get out (talking to other boats.. it seems to be already happening). Do yourself a favor.. park your asset somewhere else and take a $3 dollar Uber to the city center…

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: John Tyrell on Jan 11, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 4

    Stayed at the docks. Good and bad here. Great dock help so docking during strong current is not as bad as I had feared. Good that it is right in the center of town so fantastic access to all the tourist sites but also have lots of people walking the docks. Next to Bridge of Lions so bridge noise from passing traffic. Free in-slip pump out on request.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Paul Hoffman on Jan 4, 2021
    LOA: 41'
    Draft: 3.8'

    Rating: 4

    We were late settling on a place to stop over for New Year, and didn't request a reservation until the morning of 30 DEC. Mooring field and marina were booked and we went on the waiting list. We received a call just a few hours later telling us a ball had opened and we were in!! On arrival we were given our ball assignment (north field), but found the ball occupied. Hailed the office on VHF and they sent their shuttle/small boat out to chase the boat off the ball (seems he's a local that brings his friends/charters out and ties up to empty balls to eat). Easy tie up to the ball. Ball and painter in good shape. City looked great lit up for the holidays. Pretty good current runs through the area. Only draw back we had was concerns about private boats and professional charters that come through the mooring field fairly regularly. Not sure if this is a 'only during the holiday light period' or a more year round occurance.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Bruce K , S/V Inspiration, on Jun 22, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 4.7'

    Rating: 4

    Spent 4 days in the south mooring field, high winds so a bit choppy and open to wakes.
    The marina staff was very friendly and helpful, the location to town is great.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Chris Tusa on May 8, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 2

    Dock personnel are mostly friendly. Stayed on a mooring and paid for a week. They stated i would receive a refund for early departure. All I received was a run around and a lot of lame excuses. Still haven't seen any refund and pretty sure I wont.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Matt Claiborne on Apr 26, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    St. Augustine is an amazing port for cruisers. Walking distance to nearly everything you need, and easy access to Uber and rental cars.

    If planning to dock at the marina, know that slack current occurs 20-35 minutes AFTER high and low tides. It is well worth timing your approach here for slack water, as noted in other reviews. It is not an uncommon sight to see boats pinned by the current.

    If planning to stay on a mooring, know that they are all exposed to wakes. Busy weekends can make the river very choppy. The south field (Menendez Moorings) is slightly more protected than the north side of the bridge (San Marco Moorings). The north side is downright uncomfortable in a north wind/frontal passage.

    As of 2020, the marina launch operates on the even hours from 10 a.m to 6 p.m. The pump-out boat operates every morning at about 9 a.m.–tell the office the day before you need it to get on the list.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Paul Smyers , SV Nova, on Apr 17, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Good staff.

    Well built docks.

    Excellent access to the city which has loads of restaurants, bars, shopping, history, and entertainment.

    Grocery delivery services know how to deal with the limited parking and marina situation.

    Great city services like hardware stores and barber shops.

    There is lots of current which can make docking tricky.

    There are also an absurd amount of fish in the marina. Big fish chase massive schools of small fish that will even just ram into your boat at full speed from time to time. It's crazy.

    Highly recommended stop on the ICW. You'd be missing out on one of the east coast boating treasures if you didn't take advantage of this marina to access St Augustine.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Robert Sherer , Fleetwing, on Nov 15, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    St Augustine is one of our favorite stops. You can either pick up a mooring, anchor, or take a slip. We prefer a slip but beware of the swift currents and plan your approach carefully.

    The town is great to just explore. Don’t miss the St Augustine Art Association at 22 Marine St, only a couple of blocks from the marina. We always buy fresh bread at the Spanish bakery at 42.5 St George St. The fort is always fun to visit and it’s free if you have a Golden Passport (for seniors). There are many fine restaurants to choose from.

    The marina offers free pump outs right at your dock, very convenient and they have washers and dryers for use by transients,

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Warren Hayes on Nov 12, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 4

    Busy when we visited (11/11/2019) so there was little time for anyone to brief us about the marina. The dock hands were quick, prepared and helpful. Depending on the tides coming and going can be challenging, so caution could be very appropriate.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Craig on Nov 22, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 34'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 4

    This is our second stay on a dock here. Current is very strong. Schedule arrival and departure at slack tide. We love the easy access to the historic downtown.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Rogue Angel on Nov 1, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Marina is just now coming back online after 2 years of repairs. Staff was excellent and very accommodating. New floating docks, mostly new power and water was being finished while we were there. Perfect location to visit st Augustine, right in the heart of old town. On our last day we found out there is a Publix grocery store a short dingy ride up the icw. Definitely a great stop. We spent 3 days waiting for weather and throughly enjoyed it.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Elena&Meg on Feb 11, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 46'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 4

    Stayed first week Feb 2018:

    Marina: 1 star. (See proviso, below)
    Moorings: 1 star.
    Marina shore amenities: 3 stars.
    Marina staff: 5 stars.
    Ambiance: 5 stars.
    Shopping: 1 star.
    WiFi: 1 star. (See proviso)

    (Proviso) I was agonizing over the one-star rating for the marina. They are likely a 5 star facility, especially for transients/tourists, there to enjoy the town, and not worry about their boats, but at the time we were there, I have to call it like I saw it: severely restricted capacity. The damage/destruction is heartbreaking, and I feel for the loss of tourist revenue from transient boaters that downtown St. Augustine must be experiencing. With that in mind, please consider my one-star rating for the floating assets of the marina, applicable only to the time of our stay: the beginning of February 2018. We were informed that reconstruction would begin in March, 2018.

    Feb 2018 - Marina: Barely operational: There are sort-of two serviceable slips for larger boats. The staff have cobbled together extension cords and hoses for power and water from the fuel dock. We were lucky to have a slip for two nights. South wind against a flood current whips up 2 foot waves in what's left of the marina. Nerves of steel (and a current out of the slip) are required to get into the slip. Once stopped, it's great. The staff go to heroic lengths to accommodate.

    Mooring Field: Spent 1 night. Exposed to wakes and south-north wind. 1-2 foot chop with wind opposing a strong current. Boats grind on the buoys in these conditions: Current points the bow at the buoy; wind pushes (sails) the boat forward, overtaking the buoy; buoy snugs up against the hull and grinds up and down against it as the boat porpoises in the chop. Lighter vessels and those without deep keels ride right over the buoys and fishtail like crazy. Watched a catamaran in 15 knots of south wind, cracking the whip, and keel-hauling the buoy from under one hull and then the other.

    Old Town - Downtown: Beautiful, as far as you can easily walk. Great dining! Breathtaking architecture and sightseeing. But touristy shopping, only. Practicalities (groceries, hardware, clothing) require wheels. Although, near the St. Augustine distillery (a fun free tour - but not-so-great spirits) there's a Rype & Readi Downtown Farm Market for fresh veggies, organics, eggs, pasta, and dairy, for light galley provisioning.

    - - - - - - - - -

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Brad Baker on Jan 26, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 3.7'

    Rating: 5

    We laid over two days for electrical trouble shooting. The marina staff was very friendly and the dockside amenities were great (50 amp service, water, clean restrooms and showers, laundry). We had time to do some local exploring. Lots of restaurants and historical sites. Great place to stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Vickie Kurtz , Peaceful Existence, on May 24, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 7.2'

    Rating: 5

    During the last four years, we have stayed at the dock and in both north and south mooring fields. The strong tidal current can make docking challenging. We prefer the smaller, south mooring field but it has limited space for larger vessels and is full much of the time. Their dinghy docks are easy to access and not usually crowded. The amenities of the marina are excellent with the exception of car parking which they have none other than on-the-street metered parking. The staff and water-taxi service are friendly and helpful with any questions. We try to use this marina whenever we are passing through the area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Dec 16, 2016
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 4

    We used mooring field while here. Nice facilities, friendly staff, pumpout available at mooring and at anchor. You can reserve of mooring in advance. Very affordable. If trying to time bridge from north, beware of strong ebb current which is about 3 knots! Give yourself some extra time. The town is fantastic.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for St. Augustine Municipal Marina

    Reviewed by: Thomas Blaser on Jun 1, 2016

    St. Augustine Municipal Marina: Nice mooring field (south). A little lumpy during the day on a weekend as it is not a 'no wake / minimum wake' zone. Single pennant was nice and long – they keep them coiled up in a sailor hat affair on top of the ball. They are dry! Not bad for $20.
    All very clean facilities – lounge, laundry, showers, etc.... Enter and exit the mooring field ONLY between red 8 and red 10, closer to 8. Short walk to historic district. 

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer