Reviews: Safe Harbor Zahnisers

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Francis J Macauley on May 9, 2020
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 1

    I would never ever use service at Safe Harbor Zanheisers in Solomons MD. Zanheisers used to be a great facility run by a great family. Now bought by Safe Harbor, I was charged "windshield" time for an electrical mechanic 50 min to walk from the shop to my boat on the pier 1 minute away at 120. per hour. The clock started at 8:15 AM, he got on the boat at 9:05 AM. 1 hour and 20 min of work, left at 9:35, the charge was 3 hours. But it started the day before. We were on the hard the prior day painting a stripe and and man walked by and said he would be doing the electrical work tomorrow and asked a few questions about my diagnosis and problem. (Electrolysis). After 10 minutes he leaves. I was billed 20 min at 120. per hour for talking to him!!! We found out we needed a new cutlass bearing on one side so we asked them to replace both. They charged 9.30 for joy dishwashing soap! I asked if they bought it in Georgetown Bahamas. Everyone knows that only a tiny amount is needed. Our boat takes 4 gallons to paint the bottom. Safe Harbor claims they used 5 gallons. We have painted our boat three times, 4 gallons each time for two coats. This paint is 270. per gallon. A 3300. estimate became 4400. with their scams.

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Marina Response:

      Thank you for the opportunity to comment on this review.
      This vessel was hauled for service back in October of 2019. Our records indicate this was the first service Zahnisers has performed work on this boat.
      In addition to bottom painting, Zahnisers was asked to look into rapidly eroding anodes While on land, the technician evaluated the underwater fittings. Our tech also spoke with the owner to get additional information into this problem. Once the boat was back in the water additional testing on the vessel’s electrical systems for stray current was performed. It was noted the galvanic isolator that had been installed previously was not hooked correctly into the system. The existing isolator wiring was wired properly and a case ground was installed on the inverter to meet ABYC standards (a safety issue). In addition the owner was made aware of the need to upgrade the isolator size. The owner agreed he would take care of this himself. At the time of billing, a question was raised concerning the time spent in discussion with the tech and this time was credited back on the invoice.
      Regarding hauling and bottom painting, this is done on a base price when using a specific type of bottom paint for one coat of paint. If an owner chooses to use another brand of paint there is an upgrade charge for the paint of choice. While it is hard to compare with previous paintings, we feel the amount of paint used was not unreasonable. The paint selection was discussed prior to painting. The additional charges were for the paint selection upgrade and applying a second coat of paint.
      We always value customer feedback and this information will certainly help us into the future.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Steve STICH , Jus Dreaming, on Aug 26, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 3.6'

    Rating: 5

    We were taking on water from a shaft seal and we had a Cutlass bearing that was making noise on the starboard side of our catamaran,,, so they pulled us out fixed everything put us back in the water in one day. Fantastic service, highly recommend this company.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Ron Akke , Sol Mates, on Oct 27, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Stopped At Zahniser’s Marina to wait out a Nor’Easter. Not our first time here. Great marina, great staff and beautiful area. Marina has clean private shower rooms, laundry, shuttle to take you shopping at supermarket, West Marine, etc and loaner bicycles to use. Restaurant on location and very fast wifi.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Larry Goven on Jun 21, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Nearby marina refused to honor slip confirmation. Was able to stay here instead, and I would recommend it highly. Great facility and staff made this a wonderful stay.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Jani Parker on May 29, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 31'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Took a mooring with no regrets! Used the free bicycles to visit the nearby West Marine and explore the island. Had dinner at the on-site Dry Dock, which was remarkably good. All staff we encountered were very friendly and facilities were clean. Has a nice, park-like setting, even though it is obviously a working boatyard.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 17, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Although this is a very good marina with good services, I was very disappointed with the way they charged us. In the 15 months moving around the loop (this is our second time), this is the only marina that "measures" your boat from the bow pulpit to the stern overhang. This added another 8 feet to Magic and at a new Dockwa rate of $2.00/foot it added $16.00 to my bill. I wonder if they bill for bottom jobs the same way?? Aside from the above, this was a good marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Boater , Wonderful Life, on Aug 4, 2017
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 51'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Zanhisers Solomons. Marina staff was outstanding and friendly, really made our visit enjoyable. Sandwiches at pool bar were great. Onsite restaurant, Dry Dock is outstanding. Would rate this excellent except if you're traveling with a number of boats, you'll be spread out an various T heads as dock space is limited.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: SJH on Nov 28, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great place for visit, long term slip, service, and facilities (pool, restaurant, bathrooms and service). If you need something fixed, this is the place. Very reliable, friendly and helpful staff. Quantum sails on site.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Oct 19, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Once again, Zahniser's did not disappoint. We called the morning of our arrival and asked for a reservation. They accommodated our last minute request and assigned us a T head. Since we were arriving late, there were reservation signs on the pilings! Talk about customer service. The facilities at Zahniser's is a top notch marina. Clean, squared away and always willing to help. Thanks, again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Zahnisers

    Reviewed by: Ed , Adonia, on Jul 21, 2016
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Zahniser's is a favorite of ours. Have been going for years. We just took our 60' classic yacht there for an evening. Great facility and a superb restaurant. Docking is a breeze and there were plenty of hands to help us get tied up. Several of their staff dropped by to say hello (they worked on Adonia last winter.) One of the best on the bay for service, facilities and know-how. Thanks, again, for taking care of us.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer