Reviews: River Forest Manor and Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Marc Macot , Cramina 2, on Mar 21, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 27'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    We stayed 2 nights during Covid-19 crisis and the services were available. Staff very helpful, restrooms/showers very clean and laundry machines in excellent conditions. It is worth stopping there. It is important to support the marinas staying open during the crisis. Fuel/diesel available.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Alex on Mar 17, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 31'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 5

    RFM has ValveTec diesel, which I prefer. Henry and Eddie are great. Showers meet my Admiral's tough inspection requirements - super clean. First came to RFM in the 70s, been more often in recent years. Downtown is an easy walk, but we sometimes use the golf carts. Great food in several places within walking distance. Staff called a nearby mechanic when I needed one late on a Saturday afternoon, great repair! Always delighted to be at RFM! It's in the best shape I've ever seen, great restoration! ICW at its best!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Michael Bloss on Dec 11, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 6.5'

    Rating: 5

    Most amazing marina since leaving home in New England. Very friendly and helpful staff. Immaculate and warm bathroom/showers and free laundry. Most highly recommended and will always stop here when coming through the area.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Sue on May 9, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Henry and dockhand, Eddie were terrific. The marina was recently updated and very clean. FREE laundry and the use of a golf cart to toddle around the small coastal town. The winds pick up in the afternoon, but settled during the night.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Russell Daniels on Apr 26, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    Docks are in great condition, fuel and pump out at your tie up, clean and spacious bath/showers, free laundry (3 washers, 3 dryers), free golf carts to cruise town. Beautiful grounds. Henry and Eddie do a great job helping you get in and assuring your visit goes well. The Spoon River Artworks and Market is an amazing restaurant, and the 3 1/2 block walk will give you a chance to recover from the sensory overload. Discount for AGLCA and others.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Robin McVey on Apr 23, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Absolute MUST STOP! We docked Easter Sunday (4/21/2019) & stayed 2 nights! The SW wind created an interesting approach but the dock hand, fellow boater & fearless captain had everything under control. The marina appears to be 95% recovered from Hurricane Florence & still exudes Southern Hospitality at 110%! Complimentary laundry, golf carts, friendly folks on every corner...call your friends to meet you here! They can stay in the bungalows!! In addition to the retail & dining opportunities - take advantage of the Behaven walking trivia tour - info found in your Chamber of Commerce welcome packet! FUN!!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Terry “Captain Crusty” Godbold on May 3, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    I just gotta give this marina 5 stars. It is small yet all hands were very helpful. Dock Master had the weather for the sound. Courtesy golf carts for dinner. We stayed last year and are here again. Should we decide to go around a 3rd time this will be a good stop.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Eddy Johnsen , Spiritus, on Apr 26, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    This marina is "southern hospitality" at its finest! When we arrived, the friendly staff was standing by to assist in getting us settled into our slip. Their large elevated deck provides a great gathering place for docktails, sunsets, and even sunrises. If you're not up for a ten-minute stroll through a picturesque, tree-shaded, waterfront neighborhood, then just drive one of their golf carts into town. It may sound crazy, but whether you're a guy or a gal you must make a stop at Belhaven's fun and unique Ace Hardware Store. Treat yourself to a gourmet meal at Spoon River Café or The Tavern at Jack's Neck. The marina's showers/bathrooms are some of the roomiest we've come across during our years of cruising. The laundry facility is also spacious and clean, with three new washers & dryers that are FREE for boaters use. If you're lucky, the Dockmaster will even arrange a private tour of the fabulous old Manor House.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 24, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    These folks really try hard, and it shows. Free laundry. Showers clean. Free golf carts to g to town. Town has wide range of places to eat, and a hardware store. Food lion is too far to walk, but then you have that golf cart. Wifi signal was good enough for streaming. Dockside crew was very helpful in docking.

    I will make this town a must stop.

    Downside: Blowing like stink from the southwest makes this a tough spot to get into if you have a single screw. Coming in with the wind ripping SW made me chose the windward side of the dock as the leeward side felt a little too tight for the big circles I make when turning. Twin Screws would be no problem. I used 6 fenders on a windy 2 night stay and was ok once at the dock.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: R Miller , Pilot House, on Jul 14, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 45'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great little stopover, great people and super clean restrooms, good WiFi. The Town has some great eating places that are a short ride in the courtesy golf carts, Nice place with a different vibe than a standard marina; kind of like docking in a friends backyard. Will certainly be back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: EOD on Jul 4, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 41'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 1

    Don't even bother with this place. We called on the phone, left 2 messages and the voicemail says "We will get right back with you". No such luck. As we were getting closer we called on CH16 & 68, no reply. So we docked and the owner chews me out for not making a reservation. We explained we tried to but as you did not call us back we could not. As for the marina again, don't bother. There are no cleats, only piles to tie up to with no fender system, only rub rail to protect the piles. It is very confined with a partially submerged rock breakwater so if your vessel is longer than 30" good luck.
    This place needs to stick to conducting weddings instead of running a marina.

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Marina response:

      At River Forest Marina, we are committed to serving all of our cruisers with the utmost kindness and consideration—it’s the only way we know how to do business.

      Due to unfortunate timing, you arrived at the marina ahead of our dockmaster intercepting your after-hours call causing unintended confusion. We are disappointed we were unable to provide the superior service we strive to offer our guests each and every day.

      We proudly host vessels of all sizes, many of which frequently return throughout the year, a privilege we appreciate and never take for granted.

      We also stand by the quality condition of our marina, our docks, the facilities we offer our guests, and our respectful and knowledgeable dockmaster.

      If you find your way back to Belhaven in the future, we hope to have another opportunity to schedule your stay and provide the hospitable service for which we are well known.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Bill L on May 27, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Great venue. Loved the golf carts free to boaters. Great staff. We had a wonderful time in the neat lot the town of Bellhaven.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Captain BullDog on Mar 29, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 35'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 5

    This is always homecoming. Great fuel but you should come just to eat at Teresa's 5 star Spoon River. Unbelievable!!!!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Andrew Skelton on Nov 20, 2016
    Draft: 0.0'

    Rating: 4

    Under new management. The cleanest shower/restoom combo we have ever seen! Brand new washers/dryers and FREE! Although slightly removed from town, the marina has FREE golf carts you can take to town and Food Lion. A playground for the kids is a 5 minute walk. Boat US discount on top of an already very reasonable price. Staff very friendly. The docks are okay and hopefully are slated for upgrades. We will definitely be back.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: Harold Hutchins on Sep 13, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 2.5'

    Rating: 5

    Clean, nice people, courtesy golf cart for short ride to town. Free laundry. Wind could be tricky.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for River Forest Manor and Marina

    Reviewed by: John Dejong on Jun 1, 2016
    LOA: 36'

    River Forest Manor and Marina: The dock master and helper were very friendly. The amenities were in new condition, and the pricing for fuel and services was very reasonable. We were happy with our stay.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer