Reviews: Tidewater Yacht Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Tidewater Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: Jerrod David on Jul 12, 2020
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 2

    We had a bad experience here. Upon arriving we were assigned a slip. The young lady working the counter came out to catch our lines. Before we could fully pull into the slip and stop our boat she quickly tied off our stern spring line (short), which stopped the boat abruptly, swung our bow into the dock and our stern into the boat next to us. Luckily we were able to prevent any damage. She attempted to pull our stern in without using leverage from the dock cleat, at the same time one of the dock hands held our bow to the dock using a dock cleat. I politely asked her to cleat the stern line so i could properly use leverage to pull our stern towards the dock (18Klb vessel). She did cleat the line, but then yelled at me when I said the boat was too heavy to pull by hand. I then had to get the dock hand at the bow to let line out so we could straighten the boat. She then stormed off without offering to help hook up electricity, rudely telling us to come check in when we were done. We were in shock at this point, during check in they handed us a card, didn't tell us about the grounds, no more than 5 words from them even after asking questions. We tried to do laundry while there, again rude experience while asking for a key to the laundry room. The machines were in such nasty condition, (should have anticipated this after seeing the bathrooms) we promptly returned the key without washing our clothes. The marina it self is in a deteriorating state. The structural pilings on the main walkway leading to the parking lot are rotting below the water line. The dock and finger piers do have steal pilings so we felt our boat was secure. The marina is in a good location and it appeared work was underway to improve the structural issues and facilities. We will not be stopping here again and cannot recommend it to anyone else.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Tidewater Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: Leslie F on Jun 17, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 28'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Very nice marina but substandard bathrooms. No plugs to blow dry hair and no hooks in the shower area for clothes. Would think a marina of this caliber would have nicer amenities in bathroom.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Tidewater Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: Louise Anderson , Then Again, on Jun 8, 2019
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 3.0'

    Rating: 4

    Tidewater Marina is in a great location in Portsmouth. It's so close to the historic downtown and waterfront area, and a terminus for the ferry that goes to and from Norfolk downtown. There are a lot of mega yachts here, but they are pretty well segregated from the smaller slips. Fairways are good size if you are our size! Fish and Slips restaurant is on-site, with good food and great view of the harbor. The reasons this is not a 5 are (1) fuel dock and pump out are difficult to get to and if you are not a large yacht, you have to climb up a ladder from your boat to the pier to fuel and pump and (2) we never did find the laundry room. There is pump out service at the slip by a 3rd party that must be scheduled and will only take 25 gals of black water at a time. (We have a 40 gal tank). The office will give you info on how to sign up for the pump outs. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Tidewater Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: John Rockwell on Apr 29, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Yes poor wifi, and the fairways are tight. But if you arrive late after hours look for a spot on the windward side of the westernmost finger pier. Just zip in against the wind, and hit reverse, no tricky maneuvering.

    My 30 amp power was good. Staff was personable. Docks in good shape.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Tidewater Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: Don on May 5, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 55'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 2

    Good location. Difficult in/out for our size due to narrow fairways. Low power (218v). Poor WiFi. Weekly rate is not much of a deal!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Tidewater Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: Harold Hutchins on Sep 13, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 2.5'

    Rating: 5

    Good stop. Good restaurant. Entrance a little tricky but worth the effort after being beat up on Chesapeake.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Tidewater Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: Ed Tillett , Adonia, on Jun 27, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 60'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Tidewater is a great marina. Good staff, great restaurant on site and clean facilities and docks. Across from Norfolk, you can ferry over to visit downtown Norfolk, or walk into Portsmouth for restaurants and shops. We stayed last fall on the way south.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Tidewater Yacht Marina

    Reviewed by: Graham Jones , Pro-Line, on Jun 1, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 23'
    Draft: 2.5'

    Tidewater Yacht Marina: Great marina that is well protected inside the break-water. Waterway Guide vessel stayed here 10/22 and was thoroughly impressed. The dock hands helped us secure our spot in our slip (always helpful). The Wi-Fi worked extremely well. We had a great meal at the restaurant, food and service was excellent. Restrooms were clean and in great condition.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer