Reviews: Salt Ponds Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: Frenchman in America on May 16, 2020
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 27'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    It is a very nice place ; beach is accessible by foot, and there is a unique feeling. We went there during the Covid crisis, so not much to say about the restaurant, the swimming pool, etc... Really worth a stop !

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: Dleidy on Apr 25, 2020
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 1

    Nothing close to marina and electric bill is high

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: Paul Smyers , SV Nova, on Apr 17, 2020
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    We are here during Covid:19 restrictions, so this definitely modifies the impression.

    However, the limited staff on site are very good and very helpful.

    The aging docks are actively being refurbished.

    Unfortunately the main boardwalk appears to be public access, so we're seeing lots of foot traffic. If that's a concern, be aware. There are no physical barriers to accessing the boats.

    The inlet is not ideal, though we were able to get in and out with our 25' beam and 4' draft sailing catamaran even at low tied (though I won't be trying that again).

    Because of our beam we are out on the T-dock, per usual, and the wifi signal is a tad weak even with our external antenna. I am able to associate to it but the speed is not great. Your mileage may vary.

    There isn't much in the immediate vicinity. You have to go through quite a lot of uninteresting neighborhood before you get to the park/beach/restaurants. Which all seem mediocre.

    I would rate this a "utilitarian marina", and I say that as a compliment because it's actually more my interest as a transient who prefers to be on anchor. Low traffic, quiet, people are either friendly or keep to themselves.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: Ted on Sep 8, 2019
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 6.0'

    Rating: 2

    The staff and location are 5 stars but the bathrooms are filthy. I have never seen the kids that maintain them do any cleaning except taking out trash. The showers are always sandy and nasty and we have to clean them before we use them. It has been this way for a while and the title grout is black. Come on Salt Ponds, you are better than this!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: Joe on Aug 1, 2019
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 49'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Two night visit in July 2019. Great location. Superb staff. Excellent amenities and very nice pool. General Manager, Cindy, went way out of her way to make our stay fun and comfortable. We will be back!!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: Pete on May 25, 2018
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 25'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Probably the best marina we have been to in Virginia. Tremendous setting in salt marsh, with great facilities and staff. Herons, egrets, crabs, great atmosphere, great setting, couldn’t ask for more. Walking distance to small beach town with a few restaurants and bars.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: Tim , Acadia, on Apr 9, 2018
    Boat Type: Power
    LOA: 48'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    We are long term Salt Ponds/Long Creek boaters and for years moored our sailboat behind our home here. When we moved to a much larger trawler, our home dock was no longer adequate but the team at the Salt Ponds Marina found us a great location on a T-head and we've never looked back. Now that the inlet has been dredged and other inlet infrastructure improvements are funded by the city, our little slice of Chesapeake heaven is going to become very well known! Great location, wonderful staff, reasonable prices. Can't ask for more!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: Dleidy on Nov 26, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 1

    Entrance shoals, no restaurant.

    • WG Editor Comment:

      Editor Note: There is an off site restaurant approximately 1 mile away.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: Bill L on May 24, 2017
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    The management has been nothing but helpful to us during a time when we had to schedule and cancel and rebook our planned stay with them. We are now there and are most happy. It is a great value for what it is - convenient to the bay and floating full length docks. Water at the end of the breakwater is getting a little low. Make sure you observe the picture guide supplied by the marins. Once inside it is as advertised.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: jim wharry , S/V Shamrock, on Dec 22, 2016
    Boat Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    This is a unique stop-over. It is an easy in and easy out. The channel is at least 6.5 to 7 feet at MLW. We've been at Salt Ponds Marina going on 14 years and it's really been nice.






    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Salt Ponds Marina

    Reviewed by: Bob Shively on Jun 1, 2016

    Salt Ponds Marina was a great stop on our northbound passage. Friendly staff. We were a late arrival after a long day and the harbormaster held space for us on the fuel dock and left bathhouse keys on the pump. Great restaurant onsite. We will return.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer