Reviews: Windmill Harbour Marina

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Windmill Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: David H on Apr 25, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 41'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Unique little stop on Hilton Head island with their lock system to neutralize tidal change inside their marina. The pagodas extending 300 feet out into the channel mark breaker walls that eliminate water current, allowing you to enter the lock a bit easier. As locks go, this one is pretty easy and marina crew are very nice and helpful. The only drawback is that once inside there is very little you have access to if not a member of the local yacht club. It took some bargaining to even allow us to have a cold beverage at the club. This is a real setback for transient boaters and it seems the marina will not attract transients if they do not resolve it. There is very little relationship between the marina and the yacht club and there are no other facilities within walking or even biking distance.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Windmill Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Michael Doherty , Endurance, on Jan 7, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    We planned on stopping here for one night and ended up staying 4. This was hands down the nicest marina we've stayed in on our trip south. The staff is great, very helpful. The grounds and the people in the neighborhood were very friendly as well. Beautiful grounds and shopping close by. And the WiFi worked well!! We will definitely stay here again.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Windmill Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Douglas Smith , Ermelind, on Dec 12, 2019
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    We stayed here for a week in late November 2019 (Thanksgiving week). The dock master and staff are exceptional, and go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and to help in any way they can. We needed to repair a windlass while we were here, which went smoothly due to the assistance we received from the staff - during a holiday week. The grounds surrounding the harbor are beautiful, and everyone we meet was very friendly. We look forward to stopping again on our return trip north this spring.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Windmill Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Tom Hale on Dec 8, 2018
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    We stopped here in early November 2018. The staff is exceptionally competent and helpful. The grounds are lovely and facilities, pool, bathrooms, restaurant and bar are top of the line. You can Uber/Lyft to the shopping for groceries etc. Such a hidden gem. Hope lots more people do not discover it too.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Windmill Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Bill L on May 27, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    Can't say enough about this marina. It was home for our boat for about 10 years. Locked in secure, little marine growth, great yacht club. Yes it is a little far from the main action on the island, but it is a wounderful and unique place. Staff are fantastic as well. Thanks for the years of quality service.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Windmill Harbour Marina

    Reviewed by: Thomas Kennedy , Navigator, on Sep 5, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 48'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 5

    Beautiful "Lock" controlled harbor which eliminates tides and currents. Home to South Carolina Yacht Club. Peaceful residential setting with comfortable walking paths, amenities and services. Love it!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer