Reviews: Safe Harbor Harbortown

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

  • Review for Safe Harbor Harbortown

    Reviewed by: John Tyrell on Jan 11, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 3

    We like staying here because it is close to Fort Pierce inlet and does not have strong current when docking. The high fixed docks can make it difficult to get off your boat (depending on boat configuration)

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Harbortown

    Reviewed by: Howardn on Jan 9, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 58'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 2

    This is primarily a storage marina with a wide range of yacht services. It is very old with fixed docks and short finger piers which are very narrow. The advertised depth is 8’ but it is closer to 4 with many spots at 3.5 at low tide. The tide is about 2’ and sailboats routinely bump the bottom in the fairways. The people are wonderful and the restaurant is terrific. They have no mobile pump-out so you need to move your boat to get that service. In our two weeks we saw none of the boats on our dock move for a pump out. Clearly, many are pumping overboard.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Harbortown

    Reviewed by: Kevin McPadden , Avalon, on May 7, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    We were originally scheduled to go to Whiticar Boat Works South for a bow thruster replacement but due to a sudden loss of steering we elected to go to Whiticar Boat Works North, located at Harbortown. The marina was very good but the repairs by Nick Behan and his crew was nothing short of top notch. The replacement bow thruster motor and associated parts we're all on hand prior to our arrival and they pretty much nailed the estimate, the exception not the rule in this industry.

    The 'minor' steering repair turned out to be anything but. Knowing we were on a tight time line Nick was able to get custom hydraulic hoses and fittings the next day. Like wise when it was discovered that the Hynautic ram had to be rebuilt he was able to turn that work around in a day.

    Having run the service department for a large well known Annapolis facility, I was well aware of the delays and complications any boat related job would present. Nick and his crew did anything and everything to eliminate issues as they arose. I recommend without reservation Nick and his crew at Whiticar Boat Works North located at Harbortown Marina in Ft. Pierce

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Harbortown

    Reviewed by: Rogue Angel on Nov 1, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great stopover. Well protected. Nice facilities. Very friendly staff. Bar and restaurant were very good.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Harbortown

    Reviewed by: Jim P on Nov 28, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great location, great staff, great facility. well protected from currents & wakes. Minus 1 star for the poor wifi service. The staff admits that since switching to Beacon wifi they have had lots of issues.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Harbortown

    Reviewed by: Jay Porterfield on Jan 10, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Excellent facilities right off the ICW. Friendly staff, all services available for boat needs. Deck bar and restaurant are great.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Harbortown

    Reviewed by: Michael Netka on Nov 11, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 58'
    Draft: 5.2'

    Rating: 5

    This marina has a friendly staff and good dockage with no worries for wakes from the ICW. Fuel is always competitively priced, There is a well operated Restaurant right on the marina dock entry, with entertainment and good food. Whiticar Boat Yard has excellent service and facilitiies, as we had a haulout and repairs to Props and Shafts
    peformed. Quality work done by very knowledgeable staff.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Review for Safe Harbor Harbortown

    Reviewed by: Alyse Caldwell , AskCaptainChris, on Jul 1, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great Old Florida setting. Located behind a rock jetty to protect from ICW wave action. Pool, open pavilion can be used workshop for minor projects. Long walk to grocery. West Marine moved south on US 1 so a healthy bike ride or Uber Taxi required from any Ft Pierce marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer