Reviews: Safe Harbor Harbortown

These are observations from the boating community. Waterway Guide information is verified regularly and all efforts will be made to validate any new updates submitted here. Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your experience.

Waterway Guide reserves the option of editing reviews and comments for grammar, clarity and the removal of defamatory or potentially slanderous language. When appropriate, reviews are forwarded to businesses for response prior to being made public. We will make every effort to be objective and impartial when posting reviews, but do not publicize details of disputes between parties.

Thanks for your valuable feedback!

Safe Harbor Harbortown

1936 Harbortown Drive
Ft. Pierce, FL 34946
AIWW, Indian River/Taylor Creek MM 965.0 184

4.06(18)
4.06 out of 5 stars

  • Reviewed by: Capt Maria Langer , Do It Now, on Dec 20, 2023
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 32'
    Draft: 2.5'

    Rating: 5

    After an extremely unsatisfactory experience at Pelican Yacht Club where I found it closed on a Tuesday morning, I came to Safe Harbor Harbortown to fuel and get a pumpout. They have good fuel prices -- $4.39/gallon on my visit -- as well as a pair of long, well-staffed fuel docks. They answered the radio on the first call and told me exactly where to go. A dockhand was waiting to grab my line and stayed with me to provide assistance with fueling and pumpout. I never felt rushed, despite the boats coming and going. I even had a chance to take my pups for a quick pee break.

    I really learned the value of good service on this stop. I'll be back on my way north next month.

    A side note: I've been here before for fuel and lunch and can recommend the restaurant on the premises, too.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Lisa Vidor on Jun 18, 2023
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 3

    Docks were rough . Most people pumped out overboard instead of going to pumpout dock. Water dirty. Music loud depending on where you are. I'm sure the improved docks will be much nicer. Staff is nice.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Janet Gannon on Mar 28, 2023
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 3

    This marina is shallow. We were on H dock for 3 nights and teetered on our keel for 3 hours during each low tide. We couldn't pull the boat over to the finger dock at low tide so we had to launch the dinghy to go ashore. They are replacing H dock this May and it desperately needs it. The pilings are being eaten through by worms, in many places they are half gone. They would never hold a boat in a storm. The docks are quite weathered and full of splinters. The finger docks are rickety, narrow, and very short. Considering the price, the condition of the docks is disappointing.

    The amenities here are nice and the restaurant is good. You can walk to Publix. However, there's no other walkable destinations, it's industrial around the marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Janet Gannon on Mar 28, 2023
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 37'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 3

    This marina is shallow. We were on H dock for 3 nights and teetered on our keel for 3 hours during each low tide. We couldn't pull the boat over to the finger dock at low tide so we had to launch the dinghy to go ashore. They are replacing H dock this May and it desperately needs it. The pilings are being eaten through by worms, in many places they are half gone. They would never hold a boat in a storm. The docks are quite weathered and full of splinters. The finger docks are rickety, narrow, and very short. Considering the price, the condition of the docks is disappointing.

    The amenities here are nice and the restaurant is good. You can walk to Publix. However, there's no other walkable destinations, it's industrial around the marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Bret Butler , Lucy 2, on Mar 17, 2023
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Had to haul out here to repair damaged rudder. All the staff at shearwater marine were professional to work with. The project manager Tom kept us informed of any changes or issues. Dario the fiberglass guy was excellent and did fantastic work.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: David Rowe on Sep 7, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 38'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 4

    Spent a month here and enjoyed it immensely. Great facility and just a short bicycle ride from downtown Fort Pierce where there is a hardware store, a farmers market once a week, lots of restaurants, groceries. Loved it!

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Steve Meyers , Moku, on Mar 27, 2022
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 43'
    Draft: 5.5'

    Rating: 5

    Stopped to fuel up after an overnight run from Miami. Disco staff was attentive and ready to catch lines, and let us stay on the fuel dock for an hour to cook breakfast.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Anonymous on Jan 2, 2022
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 3.8'

    Rating: 4

    We spent 6 weeks on the hard dock here doing an engine transplant. Wade, Stephanie, and the rest of the staff are great. There is a pool and restaurant on site. The rates to be in the yard were a lot higher than they are in Port Canaveral. There is very little shade and the train goes by 30 times a day. The marina is nice and the people are friendly. We made lots of friends while we were here.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Tom Stano on Nov 23, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 53'
    Draft: 7.0'

    Rating: 4

    Fuel docks are under repairs and oos until Jan? We used our dinghy to get groceries and talked with the dockmaster for more information. Our dinghy fee didn't allow the use of amenities as we hoped. Too shallow for us to get in and totally full this time of year.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Captain Mitch on Jul 20, 2021
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 42'
    Draft: 7.0'

    Rating: 4

    Ft Pierce is an excellent location on Florida's East Coast, a deepwater entry and affordable dockage. Harbortown is the preferred marina in Ft Pierce - enjoyed over 24 months there.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: John Tyrell on Jan 11, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 39'
    Draft: 3.5'

    Rating: 3

    We like staying here because it is close to Fort Pierce inlet and does not have strong current when docking. The high fixed docks can make it difficult to get off your boat (depending on boat configuration)

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Howard on Jan 9, 2021
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 58'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 2

    This is primarily a storage marina with a wide range of yacht services. It is very old with fixed docks and short finger piers which are very narrow. The advertised depth is 8’ but it is closer to 4 with many spots at 3.5 at low tide. The tide is about 2’ and sailboats routinely bump the bottom in the fairways. The people are wonderful and the restaurant is terrific. They have no mobile pump-out so you need to move your boat to get that service. In our two weeks we saw none of the boats on our dock move for a pump out. Clearly, many are pumping overboard.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Kevin McPadden , Avalon, on May 7, 2020
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 40'
    Draft: 4.5'

    Rating: 5

    We were originally scheduled to go to Whiticar Boat Works South for a bow thruster replacement but due to a sudden loss of steering we elected to go to Whiticar Boat Works North, located at Harbortown. The marina was very good but the repairs by Nick Behan and his crew was nothing short of top notch. The replacement bow thruster motor and associated parts we're all on hand prior to our arrival and they pretty much nailed the estimate, the exception not the rule in this industry.

    The 'minor' steering repair turned out to be anything but. Knowing we were on a tight time line Nick was able to get custom hydraulic hoses and fittings the next day. Like wise when it was discovered that the Hynautic ram had to be rebuilt he was able to turn that work around in a day.

    Having run the service department for a large well known Annapolis facility, I was well aware of the delays and complications any boat related job would present. Nick and his crew did anything and everything to eliminate issues as they arose. I recommend without reservation Nick and his crew at Whiticar Boat Works North located at Harbortown Marina in Ft. Pierce

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Rogue Angel on Nov 1, 2018
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great stopover. Well protected. Nice facilities. Very friendly staff. Bar and restaurant were very good.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Jim P on Nov 28, 2017
    Vessel Type: Sail
    LOA: 36'
    Draft: 5.0'

    Rating: 4

    Great location, great staff, great facility. well protected from currents & wakes. Minus 1 star for the poor wifi service. The staff admits that since switching to Beacon wifi they have had lots of issues.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Jay Porterfield on Jan 10, 2017
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 50'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Excellent facilities right off the ICW. Friendly staff, all services available for boat needs. Deck bar and restaurant are great.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Michael Netka on Nov 11, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 58'
    Draft: 5.2'

    Rating: 5

    This marina has a friendly staff and good dockage with no worries for wakes from the ICW. Fuel is always competitively priced, There is a well operated Restaurant right on the marina dock entry, with entertainment and good food. Whiticar Boat Yard has excellent service and facilitiies, as we had a haulout and repairs to Props and Shafts
    peformed. Quality work done by very knowledgeable staff.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer


  • Reviewed by: Chris Caldwell , AskCaptainChris, on Jul 1, 2016
    Vessel Type: Power
    LOA: 44'
    Draft: 4.0'

    Rating: 5

    Great Old Florida setting. Located behind a rock jetty to protect from ICW wave action. Pool, open pavilion can be used workshop for minor projects. Long walk to grocery. West Marine moved south on US 1 so a healthy bike ride or Uber Taxi required from any Ft Pierce marina.

    View location on the Waterway Guide Explorer

View in Waterway Explorer